We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good position, good service & good prizes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    240
    183
    47
    18
See reviews for
44
186
95
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I arrived early in the morning from Canada before check-in hour
After leaving my lagguage in locker I was told to come by 1 PM
Due to time change I was lacking sleep so I came to hotel at noon hoping for getting my room earlier
I was kept waiting up to the 1 PM sharp to get the key only to discover that room was NOT cleaned !!!
Cleaners were working on other rooms even no one was waiting for them at the moment
Obviously there was no coordination and no good will to help

Otherwise, I've got what was expected
Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Located right around the corner from the 'Dom' the location is perfect for walking anywhere in downtown Amsterdam. Close proximity to a full spectrum of shops and restaurants. Barrel organs play nearby and bus and boat tour access is within a couple of blocks. Rooms are basic, but have a desk and wireless internet. Bed is comfortable and staff are very helpful. Upgraded windows, when closed, made the room comfortably quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location if you only have a short stay in Amsterdam - short walk from Centraal station (10 mins, but you do have to fight the crowds a bit), right on the edge of the Dam, walking distance to lots of Amsterdam attractions, lots of food & drink options on your doorstep.

Rooms - I had a single which was small & basic, but contained everything I needed. Fixtures are old but spotless. Comfy mattress!

Staff are very friendly at check - in. Free wifi provided in rooms/throughout hotel. Continental breakfast is a serve yourself buffet - quite a good selection (by Amsterdam standards).

Lift only goes to 4th floor - if you have a fifth floor room at least one set of stairs is unavoidable..

Given the location in party central - it can be noisy. the windows are double glazed, so the hotel has done what it can to reduce noise. May be quite hot in summer.

Only real negative - there is a surcharge for paying by credit card. I am generally against this as a practice (surely most hotel rooms are paid for by credit? By all means offer a discount for cash but the STANDARD price should assume/include credit card purchase). Also, the surcharge is quite high at 5%.

On balance, given the free, unlimited, reliable wifi - I was prepared to overlook the surcharge.

Note: This hotel is right on the edge of the red light district. Whilst the area is pretty tame these days, guests should be aware that taking a stroll from the hotel may include some unusual sights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great place with great location really on Dam squer.
The room had a double windows so no noise at night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.