We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frisco Inn Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
hr
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Good location, in the middle of everything and only a few minutes walk from the central station, the neighbourhood is very lively on the weekends, staff were helpful, hotel rooms where fine could do with a coat of paint, but good compaired to other hotels i've stayed in and paid more money for, the prices are good for Amsterdam standards, alot of british, all in all its a good little place,

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — the steep stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — i heard they are going to redo it in January
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    52
    23
    19
See reviews for
1
161
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

absoloutley love it. if your there to get caned its the ideal place and location. as for as cleanliness goes it is not bad at all, but it could be cleaner i.e the carpet could be nicer and the walls could do with another lick of paint. but to be honest as soon as the mushrooms kick in you wouldnt notice. Staff are brilliant really look after you breakfast is fantastic. i would recommend this place to anyone who wants a cost effective accomodation solution. Cant wait to get back out there!!

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — rooms could be a bit cleaner
  • Tips/Secrets — try to get a room on the first floor!!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

perfect location, great bar open till late with decent pool table!! well worth it- ryt in the heart of the red light district

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

Great Price, Great Location, Great Pub! All in the heart of Amsterdam. Kelly & Steve are just two of the friendly and helpful bartenders who make sure you are comfortable during your stay. And most important, the Guinness is great! Why pay for an expensive room in the City Centre when you can stay at the Frisco and have more money for pints or whatever you fancy. The stairs are steep, but manageable, even with a pint of Guiness. The rooms are very basic, but have everything you need. For the money, this place is a real deal.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

we stay there every year and its simply spot on
its clean and tidy ensuit rooms
and the staff are very friendly n helpfull
give it a whirl you can"t go wrong
its bang in the centre...!
we"ll definatly be back.


tony.nick.nige.dave.craig.jock n trigger...!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

I chose this hotel based on the reviews I read here and on pictures on the hotel's website. The website makes the hotel look GREAT! It must be the lighting of the pictures...they have a hell of a marketing person working for them to make the place look that good online!!! We walked into a filthy bar (and kitchen) at 1 in the afternoon. We went up to our room and on the way up heard someone throwing up in the room next to ours. The entire room smelled like pee and smoke (I had asked for a non-smoking room, but those don't exist here). My boyfriend said it smelled like a cat had sprayed. I knew it was a bad sign when I was told that if I wanted to smoke hash in the room to make sure I opened the window. There was nothing "new", "redone", or "clean" about this hotel, as others had said. The walls didn't appear to have been painted in quite some time. The carpet was filthy, as well. I didn't even want to put my bag on it. I could not stay here, so we left for the Ibis, which always guarantees you a good, clean room even at the last minute. The people running the place were pleasant and nice, but there was no way I could stay in an unclean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

We ended up staying here as our usual Amsterdam hotel was fully booked.

The Frisco is a lovely clean hotel with super friendly and helpful staff. The cheap prices and central location (in red light district/ 5 mins walk from the train station) make it a sure fire winner. As stated in other reviews the stairs are ultrasteep and not for the faint hearted!! request a room on a lower floor if possible.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Inn Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.