We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frisco Inn Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Does the job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for one night. The Rooms are above the bar and we stayed on a Thursday so it no dramas from the bar.

The stairs up to the room are crazy, very steep but it weren't a problem, a very dutch experience.

The room was proper smokey from others smoking out there windows and it was proper stinking. It was a tiny room with a unserviceable safe, dodgy television. The bed was really comfortable and clean, the shower was good and the amenities in General we're not too bad.

Te staff were really friendly and you get a 'buy one get one free' in the bar (winner)

This hotel was very cheap, and directly in the centre so you can't really argue with that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    52
    23
    19
See reviews for
1
162
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Frisco Inn is virtually half way between Central Station and Dam Square (which is about 700 mtrs), and within 2-3 minutes walk of the red light district, 5-10 minutes walk of Anne Frank Museum and 20 minutes walk to the Flower Market. It is a surprisingly quiet location.
The hotel itself is comfortable, yes the stairs are steep, but it would seem the majority of stairs in Amsterdam properties are steep. But it only serves to add character. The bedrooms are not large but they have all the space you need, the en-suite is compact but clean.
The staff are helpful and informative, they told us where to buy from, where not to eat, etc.
There is a bar on the ground floor, which has a separate entrance to the hotel, which is well stocked and much cheaper than the bar next door.
Our flight home was 20.55, we were concerned about walking the streets with our cases, but the staff asked us if we wanted to leave our bags in their kitchen, free of charge. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we were up on the third floor at the back, which was quiet and looked towards Central Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amsterdam is probably the hardest city in Europe to find good accomodation with reasonable prices. As the city has this very unique architecture, the hotels are also very unique. And we are talking about one of the most visited - and most expensive - capital cities in Europe.

Said that, Frisco Inn is a good option for the price you pay. They are in the very heart of the city, just a stone throw away from the Centraal Station (and it does make a great difference in Amsterdam) and very close to the main attractions in the city (as the canal cruises, the Red Light District, lots of Coffee Shops etc).

However, you must have this in mind: you WILL climb some narrow holland-tipe steps to get to your room - even if you are lucky enough to get a room in the first floor.

Room Tip: The high you are, the must you climb. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

5 minutes away from station, central to EVERYTHING. includes a safe & nicely furnished rooms.
bar below has dj box half way up the wall and has its own live music on weekends.

room was clean and had towels replaced daily (even though bins were not emptied)
We stayed Tuesday - Friday and found the hotel to be very quiet despite being in the middle of the city.
Can't really fault the room other than the shower that wouldn't stop dripping, was only noticable whilst in the bathroom though.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

On the website we saw that each room has a safe. When we got the first time to the room, we didn't see any safe, so we go to talk with the receptionist, and she talked to us like we're stupid - she insisted that there is a safe in the room, and the problem is with us, because we couldn't find it. As an employee of 5 stars hotel in israel, I was deeply disappointed from the service I got. This is not what I've expected as a value for my money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great location, easy to find from the train station. Clean and modern rooms. There is a bit of noise from the street because it's soo central, backs right onto the red light district. Real value for money. Defo recommend to anyone. Stairs are a killer though!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January. The inn is in a superb location walking distance to everything. Our room was clean although it was small it was very cosy with comfortable beds and bed linen. The staff were helpful and did not hassle us at all we were free to come and go as we please and take food drinks up to our room
I would stay at this hotel again good value for price paid 170 Euros for three nights. Thank you Frisco inn

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Inn Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.