We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for the price you pay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Frisco Inn Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“ideal for the price you pay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

5 minutes away from station, central to EVERYTHING. includes a safe & nicely furnished rooms.
bar below has dj box half way up the wall and has its own live music on weekends.

room was clean and had towels replaced daily (even though bins were not emptied)
We stayed Tuesday - Friday and found the hotel to be very quiet despite being in the middle of the city.
Can't really fault the room other than the shower that wouldn't stop dripping, was only noticable whilst in the bathroom though.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    51
    21
    19
See reviews for
1
158
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

On the website we saw that each room has a safe. When we got the first time to the room, we didn't see any safe, so we go to talk with the receptionist, and she talked to us like we're stupid - she insisted that there is a safe in the room, and the problem is with us, because we couldn't find it. As an employee of 5 stars hotel in israel, I was deeply disappointed from the service I got. This is not what I've expected as a value for my money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great location, easy to find from the train station. Clean and modern rooms. There is a bit of noise from the street because it's soo central, backs right onto the red light district. Real value for money. Defo recommend to anyone. Stairs are a killer though!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January. The inn is in a superb location walking distance to everything. Our room was clean although it was small it was very cosy with comfortable beds and bed linen. The staff were helpful and did not hassle us at all we were free to come and go as we please and take food drinks up to our room
I would stay at this hotel again good value for price paid 170 Euros for three nights. Thank you Frisco inn

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was a bit tricky to find in the first place, but once we got there and figured out the lay of the city, we found it a very convenient place from which to explore. The staff at the front manages the bar, as well as the hotel, but they were always there ready to help. They were friendly, laid back, and attentive.

Most notable was of course the crazy flight of narrow winding stairs that you get to climb to get up to your rooms. This hallway was where most of the noise came from in the wee hours of the night as people stumbled up and down the staircase. But this was just all part of the adventure in Amsterdam.

We loved that you could walk out the door and be right in the heart of the winding alleys full of bars, coffee shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Bottom floor stinks of weed, beware of this, my partner and i could not handle the smell as we woke up feeling sick the next day. Moved to a higher floor of which the staff were obliging where the room smelt better and much fresher. Overall the rooms are clean and modern and what you would expect for the price, however do not stay on the first floor and try and get a room that doesn't face the courtyard in which there is a coffee shop blowing marijuana smoke right into your room.

Room Tip: choose a high floor despite the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We walked the cold winter streets of Amsterdam, and passed by the quaint little bar of the hotel, warm smiles, well stocked and priced reasonably. A billiard table can be seen beyond the bar, images flash of me and my friends holding glasses of warm beer and shooting pool.

We asked for the price for a night, 60Euros for a double, 50 for a smaller single, both with own toilet and bath. Not bad! The hotel manager/bar man proudly showed us room photos on their website which was pretty cool. Clean modern design and looks recently furbished with modern furture and fixtures.

I wouldnt mind spending my hard earned money and that's a good deal basing on my experience as a world traveller working for priceline (PCLN), the biggest travel company in the world.

We walked a flight of stairs to our rooms, it's a bit of a climb over the steep stairs, but nothing a group of young, reasonably mobile folks cant handle. The hotel has 6 rooms for a total of 12 rooms over 2 floors located above the bar, with an entry way on the street.

The doors opens to a room, reasonably sized, judging by eye to be 7x3 meters (21 sq.m). A double bed occupies the middle of the room, with a table for 2 in corner near the private bath, and an art deco inspired reading chair by the window, set against the efficient unit radiating heat all throughout the room.

The walls are painted light olive, with borders and electric fixtures rendered in white. The floors are faux wood planks which have become the standard for modern apartments, a large floor to ceiling window fully opens to a small balcony, the modern bathroom with an efficient radiator, modern fixtures and plumbing, completes the moden utilitarian look of the room. Unlike rooms in other hotels which have a stuffy claustrophobic feeling, this room feels surprisingly large for 2 people or a couple.

Sitting in the corner chair, i can see myself reading Anne Frank's diary. As i look out, i see tourists taking a stroll, restaurant shopkeepers stocking up their windows with fresh warm bread and quick meals and the police bikes parked at the station just a few meters down. The feeling of a safe and warm evening assures me of things to come.

A few steps north of the hotel lies the monument to freedom "The Grasshopper", one of the oldest cannabis coffee shops in the world. The Grasshopper lies on the street directly beside Dam Square and the canal boat terminus opposite the Christmas Market.

A few thoughts stand out from my visit.... a small modern hotel, reasonably priced, eclectic, and efficient. Managed by cool people who rake pride in what they do and know what the younger generations of travellers need. I hope they dont change their prices and business focus, they have got a good thing going now.

Great times in Amsterdam!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Inn Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.