We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Frisco Inn Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pasadena
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was a bit tricky to find in the first place, but once we got there and figured out the lay of the city, we found it a very convenient place from which to explore. The staff at the front manages the bar, as well as the hotel, but they were always there ready to help. They were friendly, laid back, and attentive.

Most notable was of course the crazy flight of narrow winding stairs that you get to climb to get up to your rooms. This hallway was where most of the noise came from in the wee hours of the night as people stumbled up and down the staircase. But this was just all part of the adventure in Amsterdam.

We loved that you could walk out the door and be right in the heart of the winding alleys full of bars, coffee shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    111
    52
    23
    19
See reviews for
1
162
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Bottom floor stinks of weed, beware of this, my partner and i could not handle the smell as we woke up feeling sick the next day. Moved to a higher floor of which the staff were obliging where the room smelt better and much fresher. Overall the rooms are clean and modern and what you would expect for the price, however do not stay on the first floor and try and get a room that doesn't face the courtyard in which there is a coffee shop blowing marijuana smoke right into your room.

Room Tip: choose a high floor despite the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Makati, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We walked the cold winter streets of Amsterdam, and passed by the quaint little bar of the hotel, warm smiles, well stocked and priced reasonably. A billiard table can be seen beyond the bar, images flash of me and my friends holding glasses of warm beer and shooting pool.

We asked for the price for a night, 60Euros for a double, 50 for a smaller single, both with own toilet and bath. Not bad! The hotel manager/bar man proudly showed us room photos on their website which was pretty cool. Clean modern design and looks recently furbished with modern furture and fixtures.

I wouldnt mind spending my hard earned money and that's a good deal basing on my experience as a world traveller working for priceline (PCLN), the biggest travel company in the world.

We walked a flight of stairs to our rooms, it's a bit of a climb over the steep stairs, but nothing a group of young, reasonably mobile folks cant handle. The hotel has 6 rooms for a total of 12 rooms over 2 floors located above the bar, with an entry way on the street.

The doors opens to a room, reasonably sized, judging by eye to be 7x3 meters (21 sq.m). A double bed occupies the middle of the room, with a table for 2 in corner near the private bath, and an art deco inspired reading chair by the window, set against the efficient unit radiating heat all throughout the room.

The walls are painted light olive, with borders and electric fixtures rendered in white. The floors are faux wood planks which have become the standard for modern apartments, a large floor to ceiling window fully opens to a small balcony, the modern bathroom with an efficient radiator, modern fixtures and plumbing, completes the moden utilitarian look of the room. Unlike rooms in other hotels which have a stuffy claustrophobic feeling, this room feels surprisingly large for 2 people or a couple.

Sitting in the corner chair, i can see myself reading Anne Frank's diary. As i look out, i see tourists taking a stroll, restaurant shopkeepers stocking up their windows with fresh warm bread and quick meals and the police bikes parked at the station just a few meters down. The feeling of a safe and warm evening assures me of things to come.

A few steps north of the hotel lies the monument to freedom "The Grasshopper", one of the oldest cannabis coffee shops in the world. The Grasshopper lies on the street directly beside Dam Square and the canal boat terminus opposite the Christmas Market.

A few thoughts stand out from my visit.... a small modern hotel, reasonably priced, eclectic, and efficient. Managed by cool people who rake pride in what they do and know what the younger generations of travellers need. I hope they dont change their prices and business focus, they have got a good thing going now.

Great times in Amsterdam!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Frisco and again we were very happy. We had a top floor large room this time which gave us much more space even if we had to climb more stairs lol they were funny after a few drinks . Staff were helpful and made us very welcome , would not hesitate to recommend to our friends if they wanted a budget hotel for their visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Top floor for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my family and my friends use this hotel every time we visit Amsterdam!

Yes the stairs are steep and some of the rooms are small but who goes to Amsterdam to sit in the hotel room???

This little gem is ideally located for absolutely EVERYTHING! The staff are amazing and nothing is ever too much plus it is very clean!

If you want to stay in the heart of Amsterdam where it all happens then definitely give the Frisco Inn a try!

We wouldn't stay anywhere else and are looking forward to our nxt visit in Jan 2014!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Always had a good stay here, the people moaning on here should've stayed in '95 like I did, it was terrible then. It's been done up since then, it's five star now compared to what it was back then. Handy for the Hill St Blues.

Room Tip: Watch the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I really loved my stay at this hotel.
This hotel is only 5 min walk from Centraal Station and in the heart of Amsterdam.
the staff were friendly and helpful.
it was reasonably priced and its location was perfect.

My room was a little squashy, with no where to open you suitcase except for on the bed, but this didnt really bother me. There are larger rooms available.
Clean room and bathroom.

just a word of warning with those with mobility problems that the stairs are extremely steep, you literally have to crawl up on all fours.
i would definitely stay here again and have booked again for my return next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frisco Inn Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frisco Inn Bar Hotel

Address: Beursstraat 5, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Frisco Inn Bar Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard double room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Frisco Inn Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frisco Hotel Bar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frisco Inn Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.