We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rookie's Rocked!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hostel Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
East London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rookie's Rocked!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Hotel Uptown, or Rookies as it is now more effectionatlly known was ideal for our needs as a crash pad for somewhere to stay during our short break to the Dam in April 2008. The phrase you get what you pay for very much rings true here - which was fine as I assume most people visiting Amsterdam are not planning on spending much time in their rooms anyway! The hotel was well equipped & clean, and the rooms a fair size for your money. Only negative would be the steep steps to get to the rooms (especially with my heavy case!) which were situated above the Rookies coffee shop (a very nice cafe, with a lot of selection - just to add!).

John on reception was very welcoming, if a bit eccentric but that all added to our Amsterdam experience! He was more than happy to give us advice on where to go and what to do... Breakie in the hotel was typical continential which was quite nice.

Located in the centre of town, everything was very accessable. I have read the hotel would be noisy where it is located in a lively area but I didn't hear a thing once our room door was closed. The main rail station was a short tram ride away, and getting around Amsterdam from the Rookies was a doddle!

I'd highly recommend The Rookies for your short break to the Dam... just watch those stairs if you come in from a night on the Grolsch!!

  • Liked — The location, and being ideally situated above a coffee shop!
  • Disliked — The steep steps, but if your careful this is a minor hinderence...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
2
30
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Niceville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Came to visit Amsterdam and wanted to stay close to the Leidseplein. Our room was a double. It was quite small but had a wonderful view and was clean (except for a bad water stain by the bathroom door). The breakfast was included and very good. The front desk guy was very nice and helpful with directions and things to do. Our room was on the third floor, to the back. The stairs are a killer (very steep) but kept us in shape. Did I mention location? We walked everywhere. The flower shops, restaurants, bars all are within walking distance. And then there is the Rookie’s coffee shop just downstairs. The best coffee and super nice staff

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Just finished a 6 day visit to Amsterdam and stayed at the Rookies Hotel. We found the hotel to be clean and fine for the price paid. We have stayed in Amsterdam twice before, once at one of the big hotels on Damrak and the other time in a canal house at the seven bridges. The Rookies Hotel was nothing like the either of these two places, but then we didn't expect it to be. For the price paid it exactly what you would expect. The rooms are small, but it is Amsterdam. The room was always clean, sheets were changed regularly and the managers at the hotel were very kind and helpful.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. Be aware that this part of town can be noisy late at night. We were there in early October, so the noise wasn't as bad as other times of the year. If you are looking for a good budget hotel to stay in, we would recommend the Rookies Hotel. If you want upscale lodging, you probably want to keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Then if you would like to experience it, book a room at hotel the Rookies.
The worst place where I have ever stayed, rooms are very tiny, breathless and the receptionists are completely mad...

I would not even recommend it to my worst enemy!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff behaviour
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Rookies in July of this year for six nights. We visited this hotel in August of last year. This time we had requested a room at the back of the property as we had found on our previous visit rooms at the front were very noisy. We were delighted when they had met our request.

Our room was cleaned each day and fresh towels provided, there was also a TV which had an assortment of channels including BBC1. The breakfast provided was typically continental, but sufficient enough and we were able to enjoy breakfast outside most mornings.

On our previous visit, the hotel owned the restaurant over the street, however, this has now been sold on. Their coffee shop has made some adjustments to accommodate tobacco smokers, there are now few establishments that offer this facility.

The location of the hotel is superb, it is in a nice area of Amsterdam, there are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops around and within walking distance to Amsterdam Central. There is also a small shop next to the hotel which is open to 10.3/11.00pm each night, which is handy when you have a hunger attack.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay again and will definitely be returning to Hotel Rookies on our next visit to Amsterdam. The staff (especially Rob) are extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Staircase
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the weekend. First impressions where the very steep stairs up to the reception on the first floor. Easy check in with John very friendly. Then we where informed of the bad news our room was on the fourth Floor...yes again that meant walking up them dreadful stairs.
The room looked clean and well presented on the first look...but look deeper...
The room was very small...enough room to walk around the bed though. The sheets looked clean, as they where white..
Bathroom was very very small, but we managed to cope for the 4 days.
On the 2nd day, I started get these red lumps (very itchy) turns out there was bed bugs!!! Yuck. I am covered and so is my boyfriend. That put me off immediately.
Plus one evening we where walking about in our bare feet and my fella screamed, and there was a rusty nail sticking up out of the floor.
The location of the hotel is excellent. It took less than a minute to walk to the main square of Leidesplein and about 15minutes walk to Dam Sqaure.
The hotel would be fine for those wishing to make alot of use of the local coffeeshops, but for those wishing to have a nice weekend away, stay in a nicer hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed Bugs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Tired, small, dirty over priced rooms !!! Beware travellers the owner Billy is a thief he stole cash and a mobile phone out of our room.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel Uptown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.