We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hostel Uptown to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

As we traveled europe, we made a last minute reservation at this hostel . The only good thing i have to say abouy it , is that the location is great. Besides that when we walked in to our room the windows were left open and there was flies everywhere in the room ! The garbage wasnt cleaned out and felt disgusted having to sleep in those sheets. As we payed about 60-75 euros a night which was totally not worth it ! I wish we would have had more time to look at other places to stay ! Will never recommend this place to anyone . Please look somewhere else. use this place as a last ditch effort !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMajestic-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

booked the hostel for 1 night on the fourth of june and had a great day. i found the staff to be friendly and chilled, in particular one staff member conor (or cee) was fantastic, he recommended lots of places and bars to go, he even helped me get onto one of the bar crawls. the rooms were nothing special but found the beds to be far more comfy than other hostels i've stayed at in the dam. all in all i'd happilly go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseisamazng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

After a last minute booked trip we arrived to Uptown hostel on Friday evening to discover they did have x2 (4 bed dorms). After being charged £200 each for 2 nights. You could not even swing a cat in the room. The bathroom had no ventilation (no window/fan) the bathroom also came with a sewage smell that lurked into the dorm. In the corner of the room there was a bong that someone had left.
My friends duvet had bubblegum stuck on the cover.

I have never been in such a disgusting hostel. When we checked out I advised the lady at the counter of all the problems and that the room was not worth the value...she simply laughed and said 'it's June in Amsterdam'

Go else where, this place isn't even worth £1

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glamoore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Its not a hostel

A hostel has:
A common area to hang out, drink coffee or cheap beer
A kitchen/eating area
A smoking area

This has no common area, no kitchen

There is a breakfast offered, at a different hostel, we got there at 9:30, there were 3 slices of bread on offer.

Additionally, we had a four bed room, with an ensuite, and poor ventilation...

It felt like a cheap, but very expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Dont go here if you want to meet fellow travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anfionn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The manager was very rude with us, bad manners and lack of information. The breakfast is included in the price but you have to go to a neaby hotel in order to be served and when you arrive you see that it consists of only raw bread, peaut butter and coffer or tea. The rooms are ok, there is no towels for guests and the shower its in the same tile that the rest of the bathroom. The only thing I can recommend is the excellent service of the two irish guys that work there, otherwise like I was saying this hostel is a poor experience and should be avoided.

Room Tip: Don't talk with the manager, just talk with the Gareth or Connor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubenKyoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#69 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#32 of 207 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Amigo Budget Hostel
#133 of 207 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing