We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hostel Uptown to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Tamworth, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Really good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

10 of us stayed at the Hotel Rookies (Hotel Uptown as it used to be called) for a stag weekend. The hotel was quite far out, probably about 30 minutes walk from Centraal Station but with easy access to Trams and Taxis its not a problem, in fact I'd rather stay here than closer to the Centre. Our rooms were a good size and pretty modern and most importantly very clean. The people running it were extremely friendly and helpful.
The price is very reasonable and includes a nice breakfast. Overall I'm really pleased we chose this hotel, its on a pretty lively street and close to the Museums. Very much recommended and I look forward to returning

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — A Touch far out
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    25
    13
    18
See reviews for
2
30
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antipodes
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
545 helpful votes 545 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

I was very taken with this small and well located hotel. Arriving around 11am after a 12 hour flight, I was met at reception by John.

Now John is a strangely engaging fellow, whose quick wit was always amusing.

I had requested a room at the "back" of the hotel which was a good move for me because it got me into double on the 3rd floor (room 3.4) for the first 2 of 3 days spent there. Nice view to the rear of the property, with the only real noise being from little kids playing on the swings in a property at the rear.

The room was larger than expected, very clean, had a room safe, comfy beds, TV with reasonable channel selection, and a practical bathroom including a tub. After a nice hot shower, with good water pressure, I was a new man, in need of a coffee, so I ventured downstairs (and next door) to the Rookies coffeeshop, which is worth a visit as well.

The stairs weren't quite the challenge I'd expected, and the hand rail offers good support.

The hotel is situated above the very roomy, "quite" friendly, and well equipped Rookies coffeeshop. Also just accross the lane is the Rookies Bar & Grill where a 10oz Heineken will set you back EU$2.10. Note that the bar (as well as the hotel) is "smoker" friendly. The little area at the rear of the bar, over-looks a canal and is ideal for sipping beers or even a meal.

Breakfast (now served in the small but quaint dining room in the hotel reception area) was well presented and DO remember that JOHN loves to cook eggs to your personal preference if asked. Toast, jam, cheese, cold meat, cereal, milk, coffee, tea and juice are all there on offer as well.

Trams 1, 2, and 5 will get you from Central to Leidseplain, then follow your nose down Korte Leidsedwarsstraat for a couple of hundred meters to the Hotel. Plenty of culinary options nearby, as well as several famous attractions all within easy walking distance. The small convenience store right beside the hotel is perfect for late night munchies.

I payed EU$65 per night for a single room, booking directly with the hotel, and left there feeling like I'd robbed them. A very fair price indeed.

On my third night I knew I had to change to a REAL "single" room as the hotel was filling up. John offered me one at the rear on the 4th floor. In the end I decided to take the room often critisised at the FRONT on the floor above the coffeeshop. I took it mostly out of fair play for having had such a nice room for the first 2 days at the single room rate.

I feared the noise would annoy me... It didn't, in fact it was kinda cool to kick back in the room and watch the world going by outside. That said, this room is very small, but still adequate for one person. The noise factor was minimal.

Reception closes about 6pm, after which you use the small electronic tag thingy on your room key-ring to access the hotel.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

Hotel Uptown is a darling little hotel with very friendly service, very clean rooms and a perfect location. If you're looking for lavish and spacious quarters, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, safe place to unload your luggage and sleep/shower, this is perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and offered to help carry bags up the tiny staircase. Breakfast was limited, but enough to start the day. It's a perfect little place to rest your head.

Stayed November 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

The stay at the Hotel Uptown/Rookies was typically great. I have staryed here no less than 5 times and have had excellent service every time. The staff remembers me by name and addresses me every time I arrive in a very cordial manner. Especially helpful is John, who always goes the extra mile for me. This is the best value for the money that I have found in Amsterdam. I have stayed in the Grand Krasnopolsky, and have stayed here. Stay here and save your money

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

This was our second visit to Hotel Uptown/Hotel Rookies.

We stay at this property specifically because of their liberal smoking policies. We will continue to return because of those policies, the rates, the value and the location.

This is an easy ride from Centraal Station to Leidseplein or back to Centraal Station on the 1, 4 or 5 trams. From the tram stop, it's no more than a 5 minute walk to the Hotel.

Check in/out was easy, and the desk staff helpful.

Breakfast is across the street in its restaurant, and is adequate.

Wi-Fi is free, but you will need to give the staff your computer ip(?) address for access to the signal.

We had the luxury double, and it was clean and comfortable and quiet (last time we faced the street during world cup - not so quiet in the summer).

The location is excellent if your goal is the museums and Vondel Park. The location is just fine for us for almost everything else - but we generally walk at least 5 miles a day, and usually more like 8 miles a day. But again, tram service is readily available if you aren't inclined to walk. Get a strippenkart for the tram and everything is within an easy distance.

The patio in the back is one of my favorite features - we like to sit out there and smoke and check e-mail, update our website or write out post cards.

  • Liked — Hotel policies, price, location, laid back atmosphere.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Very nice hotel situated in the Leidseplein area, with plenty of bars and restaurants. The location is perfect to visit the city, a walking distance from all major sites. We had a nice Luxury Twin room overlooking the beautiful hotel's terrace. The room was nice, larger than the Amsterdam standards,quiet and clean. There's a desk, a cupboard with a safe, and the beds are comfortable. Large bathroom with a tub, wich is rather unusual in hotels.
The owner was friendly and helpful, and being a small hotel, there's a "family atmosphere" that makes you feel at ease.
A great experience, we will definitely stay there next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

This hotel, now simply referred to as The Rookies Hotel(right off Leidseplein about 30 seconds walk to the square), has made some changes (adding the separate bar and restaurant) due to new local rules about serving alcohol in coffee shops. The hotel is above it's coffee shop, but the room we stayed in (23) was excellent, large, facing the back, and had a huge bathroom, with views to a small courtyard and The Rookie's private patio behind. Even the bathroom had a swinging door window that you could open up so that while you rested and painfully remove last night's Doner/Kebab (stay away from hot sauce), you could peacefully look at the trees out back and hear the birds sing. The bathroom was a major success, where you dont have to tuck your elbow's in just to dry yourself off! It's huge!! I will always ask for this room, it's quiet and fantastic (it's just roughly 5-10 euro each more per night). The only difference now is that you have to head across the very narrow street to the Rookies Restaurant to get your beer, as opposed to sitting at their coffee shop to smoke and sip your beer. But it didnt matter; we grabbed the smoke and did that with the beer at the restaurant seats out front of it!! No big deal!! I have been to Amsterdam 6-7 times, and this was by far the biggest room and bathroom yet. (and I usually will travel with one or two others and anything off or near Leidseplein will set you back 50euro or more each for two star and up...from my research anyway....). Staff is excellent and friendly too!! there is also a newer Smart Shop right next to it and a gift shop across. You have everything within 2 seconds, even a small little grociery store two doors down!!

  • Liked — excellent location and nearby amenities
  • Disliked — no alcohol served in the coffee shop
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hostel Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hostel Uptown

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 147, 1017 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel The Rookies)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hostel Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Hostel Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hostel Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.