We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only between friends” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sphinx Hotel to your Saves list
Sphinx Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“only between friends”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

DO NOT GO THERE IN COUPLE ! The hotel is well placed but ery poor, the service is bad, the cleanliness is worse, the wall were full of spot of i d'ont know what, there were hles in wall, the tv hanging on a cupboard, no signal. the breakfast is just bread. A trip of 2-3 days is long enoug.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    19
    32
    158
See reviews for
10
43
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel was disgustingly dirty, the lock on our door didn't work forcing us to put our things in an unsecure cupboard downstairs. The staff were unhelpful to the point of being aggressive. I asked to see the manager and they lied and said he would be available the next day. The next day he was not there. Then I got an email address to send my complaints to and have emailed them three times and got no response. They did not provide the level of service that is required from any hotel (Namely security), and I have no way of getting a discount or my money back.

Really, avoid this place. Its not even worth going for the low price, because it is worse than a hostel, just more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutier, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm not a maniac cleaning person at all, but this hotel is really disgusting.
This hotel is very dirty and the bedroom are small.
Our bedroom smell horrible too.
The toilette were not private.
The breakfast is poor (cheese under plastic and ham).
if I had know I would have pay more just to have another hotel. Never go there! The price isn't worth it at all.
The only pros is the location.
Sorry for my english.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Well, I understand that for this price I can be glad for the night in Amsterdam, but even here the price is not reasonable to conditions of the hotel.
Room for 8 people, where we stayed two nights in two, has only one main wall light, dirty carpet, yellow soaked bed linen, broken shelves, torn wallpapers and the window can´t close completely.
Shower was fairly clean, but it can´t tell about the beds...terribly uncomfortable to sleep in them.
On top of all, after 2nd and fortunately last night there, I have arms, back, neck and belly full of bites! I really dont know what the hell is it!
Never more, definitely!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 82, 1017 XR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sphinx Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sphinx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.