We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel -should be 4.5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Weber to your Saves list
Hotel Weber
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“excellent hotel -should be 4.5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

When researching this hotel, the reviews were mostly good and the photos looked very good, but we were worried about the 2 star rating, because it didn't tally up with what we were looking at. We took the plunge and booked in to stay and we are very glad that we did.

I don't know what rating system they are using, but by the standards of most places around the world we have stayed, this hotel would have easily earned 4 or 4.5 stars. The room we had was very large, a pleasant change to other recent hotel stays. The design of this hotel has been carefully considered to create a professional yet homely feel. There were earplugs by the bed for noisy nights, but we found that, when closed, the windows blocked out most of the noise.

The in room breakfast is light and delicious. The fresh bread delivered in the morning is lovely and the nespresso coffee a very welcome start to the day.

A note about the stairs, as others have said, they are very very steep. I have never seen stairs like these before in my life. The gentleman on reception offered to carry one of our bags up to the room and was very friendly in showing us around the room. However, anyone with vertigo, poor balance, poor lung capacity or at risk of an osteoporotic fracture should not stay here. The climb is worth it, our room had a lovely view over a canal towards the police station and was lovely light and airy.

Congratulations to the hotel for making our stay in Amsterdam a comfortable and relaxing one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    69
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
106
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have stayed at Hotel Weber twice and i will always stay at Hotel Weber. The owner was friendly and the room was awesome! The rooms are so fun, the decor is cool the kictenette spread includes your own espresso maker as well as a stocked fridge and fresh bread is delivered fresh everymorning! For picture's and more info on this hotel checkout http://karinevarga.com
<br>
I love this hotel!
The stairs are a little scary thats the only negative.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Comfy bed and bedding. Clean good size bathroom with big sink and counter. Nice little kitchenettes but could have used a small microwave oven when wanted to reheat left-overs from last night's restaurant. Requested meat-free breakfast and they accommodated.

The hotel manager, Wilem was friendly and professional. We requested a quiet room but apparently we didn't give enough days notice as those rooms were booked already.

We were in room 3 in back, on 3rd of 4 floors. View to a small canal end, buildings, and some trees. The hotel's nightclub/bar is on the (1st) street level but the rock and techno music and customers can still be heard/felt from upstairs requiring me to wear earplugs to sleep. It goes until 3-4 AM. (We live on a quiet residential city street so personally not used to that kind of noise at night, but other guests might be fine with it.) Would have rated 5 but for the late night noise level.

A side note about the free Wi-Fi Internet: Service was consistent but seems limited to web pages and iPhone/mobile wi-fi. It's not currently set up to adequately serve business customer needs--for some reason they have it configured to block the ability to connect via VPN to your office/company server.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

This place was FANTASTIC. We were on the top floor of this boutique apartment block. The room was large which was refreshing after being in tiny rooms in Paris. The bathroom modern, large and clean. Breakfast was provided every morning; fresh bread, yoghurt, cereal, nespresso pods, etc. Flat screen TV, wireless internet, terrific heating and great service. All this was so cheap too for European standards. It was also in the middle of everything. A real delight. Thanks Hotel Weber for making our stay the best.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed at hotel weber for two nights with my girlfriend at the end of March from a Saturday to a Monday. We found the hotel perfect, the rooms were stlyish and comfortable, the location was central to all of the bars, resturants, attractions and shopping and the breakfast provided was a great touch. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and had a small balcony with chairs which was nice to sit out. Although the hotel is situated beside two bars, we heard barely any noise (mainly locals and not as loud as tourist bars). The bed was really comfy and in the morning we had fresh bread, hams, orange juice, cereal, youghurts and milk provided. The room was really clean and the lights were a nice touch, the tv was also good with loads of different channels from sky. If you take a right out of the hotel entrance and folow the bridge over the canal there are some smaller quiet romantic resturants (mainly locals). To the left is the busier leidsplein, with lots to do - only a two min walk away. Overall we had a great a stay and will definetly stay here next time we return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Just stayed there for four nights with my wife. We were on the top floor. I believe it was 70 steps. I thought the stairs would each be higher, but they were quite comfortable for climbing. We're in decent shape so it was no problem.

The rooms was clean, quiet and spacious. Fantastic Espresso machine, a good safe and a fridge stocked with food made this a perfect hideaway after a long day of Amsterdamming.

We were attending three days of shows at the Melkweg. I knew it was close and when I asked Willem about it after he carried our luggage up the stairs, he opened the curtains and pointed down at its roof right behind us! Perfect location for all of Amsterdam and especially for the Melkweg.

The whole bread and food service idea is excellent and served us very well. We even made sandwiches for later from the surplus supplies.

Very comfortable bed and a good shower. Lighting is quite nice as well with dimmers for table and ceiling lights.

In summary...... for us on this trip there could not be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed at the Weber for 3 nights and now would not stay anywhere else. The location is perfect, right in the centre, everything on your doorstep.The room was on the top floor so bit of a climb on very steep stairs with suitcase but the lovely staff helped me carry it back down. Room was spotless and very spacious for Amsterdam, really lovely and the fresh bread delivered to the room every morning was a lovely touch, fridge stocked with cheese, meat etc, superb! If you like coffee, you'll love the coffee machine in your room too. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing a problem. Great bar in the hotel too!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Address: Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish furnished newly renovated hotel with large rooms. Rooms contains large twin or double beds, pantry with fridge, private bathroom with rituals amenities, breakfast in the fridge and fresh bread in front of the door each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.