We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location- but this B&B is not worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Weber to your Saves list
Hotel Weber
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Location- but this B&B is not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Take the train from Schipol to Centraal Station and from there 20 mins by tram to the hotel. It is just 100 metres from the main Leidesplein square- the hub of night life. Actually packed with restaurants and pubs. One surely needs to visit this area. The hotel is in a typical old building which has been converted to a well maintained hotel.
But you need to climb 58 steep steps to reach the room #5 I got on the 2nd floor. However, the room is fairly big with a big bathroom- though the dark walls, incandescent bulbs and the dark flooring gives it a depressing feel.
The manager was gracious in helping with the luggage- no lift. And they even gave me, on request, some fruits along with the breakfast since I am not a bread lover. Cheerful pepople to communicate with.......but
Once I did not get hot water in the shower and reported in the morning while going out. It did not get resolved. Could not speak with the manager since they do not man the reception full day (maybe hotel was full). So I tried contacting on phone...and on mobile..and then finally thru email !!. But no response. Next day I had to go down and report to have it resolved. The management is willing to please but you can see they are not professional in manning a hotel.
Also there is Milweg just 20 metres next door- some sort of a night club. The noise from the people visiting it so loud that you can surely not open the windows while sleeping. The hotel acknowledges this by putting ear plugs on your bedside. I could see the police station across the back of the hotel...but the noise is persistent and allowed.....imagine it goes on till 4- 5 am!!
maybe the front side rooms will have lesser noise despite the trams and traffic.
I stayed here during the IBC expo when room rates shoot us and I paid Euro 240.....
Why stay here unless you do not have an option. With Amsterdams excellent transport system you can stay anywhere and still visit Leidesplein and go back to a peaceful and professional hotel

Room Tip: Go to some other hotel.....and have a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    69
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
106
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I liked the room that was really lovely but we were directly opposite the managers office and found ourselves whispering at times as it felt like would be able to hear every word. As far as I know, there were 2 rooms in this hotel. It felt a little bit like a house

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. In November over the weekend. Lovely hotel. Nice breakfast. Clean room and toilet. Very close to shops and museums and vondell park. Aswell as starting points for canal cruises. Only be prepared it is noisy as it's above a club / pub. Music till 4 am. But I'm a heavy sleeper and walking round the city for 13 hours will send you to sleep right away. This place deserves 10/10. Will defo go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel was very nice, rooms were very clean and large. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. They bring a basket of fresh bread every morning on your door. The breakfast is ready in the refrigerator. The hotel's location is great. Very close to everwhere, 10 minutes walk to most of the attractions. A little bit noisy because of the bar downstairs, but it did not disturb me so much.
Right choice to stay at Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not really a hotel, more serviced rooms. The room was a good standard, clean, and a good size. The Breakfast arrangements were just right for us and the small kitchenette area, coffee machine, etc, gave some flexibility. As with lots of accommodation in Amsterdam the stairs were very steep but the staff dealt with the getting our case to the room which was a relief. Location is great, a 2 min walk from leidseplein square, with good tram connections - a great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotels in Amsterdam certainly aren't cheap, but this one felt like real value for money. Fantastic (small) building with the legendary stairs, the room was far larger than I was expecting with twin beds, a small dining table and chairs, a tiny kitchen area with a sink, cupboards and a fridge - and it didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was also quite spacious.

Breakfast was great (fresh bread, rolls, croissants, cold meats, cheese, spreads) and the Nespresso machine was MOST welcome after about 24 hours of travel from Sydney and a 6am arrival the day before.

We saw several other people stumbling around with luggage early in the morning so here's my recommendations if that's going to be you too: make prior arrangements to leave your luggage somewhere, you can't get into the hotel until 8.30am; most cafes seem to open at about 9am, but there are croissant shops that open earlier: if you are coming out of the hotel, turn left and at the end of the street turn left again to end up in a more up-market street that has plenty of places to get a coffee and a bite to eat. For a big breakfast your best bet is to use the restaurants/cafes in the large hotels, Hotel Amercain is not far from Weber.

This is also where you will find the shopping close by as well as pharmacies, etc.

A safety warning: after about 8.30am the traffic gets BUSY (and I used to live in the busiest part of Sydney's CBD) and you will need to look in every direction constantly to avoid being hit by trams, buses, trucks, cars, scooters and the silent bikes (1.2 million of them). Pedestrian crossings do not give pedestrians right of way, so don't expect anyone to stop for you (cars or bikes). There are bike paths alongside the footpaths and both bikes and scooters fly along them, so be careful not to stand or step out onto it without looking first.

Re the museums, go first thing in the morning or be prepared for long queues and flocks of people - and that was in the off season!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the building so that you are overlooking the canal and don't get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked Hotel Weber in order to be in a central location - so, when you book, you have to take seriously the warnings that it's a noisy area and that the stairs are steep! Those stairs are, in fact, awe inspiringly steep. We had no trouble with noise from the bar since we were on a higher floor. But in Amsterdam they really do party all night - and during the Gay Pride weekend the partying goes on until 5am! Oh well, it was fun and the city sure is dynamic. Our room was extremely spacious, modern decor, good bathroom. The concept of fridge stocked with the makings of breakfast, to have whenever you want it, is an excellent one. Very convenient, including the Nespresso coffee machine. The fresh bread and croissants delivered each morning is also a good idea, although it was not the excellent bread and pastry that we encountered everywhere else. All in all, a good stay - location is great for sights of Amsterdam, especially handy to the Museum Plein. Multiple tram lines made it very easy to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Address: Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish furnished newly renovated hotel with large rooms. Rooms contains large twin or double beds, pantry with fridge, private bathroom with rituals amenities, breakfast in the fridge and fresh bread in front of the door each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.