We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again.........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Weber to your Saves list
Hotel Weber
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 319 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would stay here again.........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Excellent spacious room, very clean and tidied every day we were there (stayed 3 nights). We had the room with the balcony (Room 4 - 2nd Floor front), and although balcony was not big, we did enjoy sitting out in the warm spring sun.
Breakfast more than adequate and with variety, with fresh bakery every morning awaiting us.
Bathroom and shower spacious and adequate, shower being warm every time used. Toiletries were also a nice touch, and were replenished daily.
Earplugs were left by the bedside, but we had no need to use them. Although in the morning the trams passing the window were noisy, the double glazing proved more than adequate, and seldom disturbed us.
Ideal location as was not too busy, but was only about a 20 minute walk to Dam Square.

The reason for our giving 4 stars for service was that we did have a problem with the TV and the hairdryer. The TV was promptly replaced the next day. However, the hairdryer was still not repaired/replaced by the time we had left. The hairdryer was a fixed fitting in the bathroom, and even being provided with one, to plug in the socket, would have been acceptable. Manager, needs to remember that there are women staying in the rooms, and a hairdryer is a must.

But all in all, an excellent all round hotel and was good value for money, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    72
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
116
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel Weber is situated just a short walk away from the bustling Lidsesplien area and within easy walking distance of most of Amsterdam's key attractions. The hotel is accessed by a single front door from the pavement which leads to a very steep flight of stairs (typical Amsterdam so quirky and part of the experience) taking you to the hotel office and then further up to the rooms.

We'd read the lower rooms can be a bit noisy - the hotel sits above a bar- so booked room 7 at the top of the building. It's a real climb to get up to the room, so you'll need to be steady on your feet, but the room was well proportioned with a large bed, small breakfast area with sink, fridge and coffee maker. The shower area and toilet - a kind of wet room combo - was ideal though it did get steamed up quite quickly.

The room was wonderfully quiet though even up here you get the odd rumble of the trams running by. It was to the rear of the hotel with a view over a patch of water and allowed plenty of light in. Every morning a basket of breads was left outside and the fridge was re-stocked with milk, meat, cheese, yoghurt and a selection of spreads during the day. Eating out can be pricey so we made the most of the opportunity to stock up before the days wanderings.

Amsterdam seems to be a pretty pricey place to stay and 550 euros for 4 nights in the Weber was perhaps a bit more than I'd expect to pay for a similar room back in the UK. That said, I wasn't disappointed with what it offers and it really did add to the whole Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Good place to stay 1 or 2 nights
Lot of students in this area but low noice
Good breakfast and caffee
Clean bathroom and clean room
Manager will be given good support
500 mtrs from leidseplein the place to be
Good restaurants in this area

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Have come to Amsterdam for a few nights from Uk. Hotel Weber is in a great location both to get to from Amsterdam Airport (Train / Tram / short 2 min walk from Lidsesplien) and to get to things once in Amsterdam everything within walking distance and trams from Lidseplein.
Hotel Room was spacious, clean, warm, nice decor and really liked the convenient fridge / sink area. Very steep stairs to rooms, but it's Amsterdam.
Nice views onto typical Amsterdam street and could just see edge of a canal. Busy street with regular trams passing, I guess it was fairly noisy but there's great sound proffing when the windows are closed. The noise didn't bother me and there are earplugs in room if needed.
Nice bar (Luxe) on street and Weber bar too.
Very happy with the hotel room and would come again.

Room Tip: Not suitable for someone with mobility problems. Stairs very steep!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Lovely large and stylish bedroom and bathroom, friendly and helpful staff, good location. Finding our way back on the Friday night we noticed the bars next door, but once in the very comfy bed we slept very well all three nights of our stay without needing the earplugs provided. We'll be looking to stay there again on any future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed there for a night and here is my observation;
Positive:
Great Location/ Nicely decorated rooms/ Very well equipped for a B&B/ Basket of fresh bread in the morning
Negative:
Steep and long staircase therefore not recommended for senior citizens or those with knee problem/ No A/C so can be warm during summer time/ Since located in a very busy part of the city it can be noisy but they provide earplugs for you

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Doing my research for my trip to Amsterdam, i wanted to stay around the Leidseplein area which was the main square with all the restaurants and nightlife are. I booked into Weber because of the reviews i had read and i can confirm how good it is. We requested a room with a balcony and on arrival we were told that we were given the only room in the entire hotel with a balcony. the room was spacious, warm, functional and very appealing. the breakfast concept was such a wow factor, even the smallest articles from the impressive outlay was restocked everyday. Nesspresso machine in every room. Room was cleaned well everyday. The stairs were an added charm to the hotel and we slept well and were oblivious of noise if any at all..
I agree with my fellow travelers who have reviewed this hotel.. i would come back and stay in this charming 6 room hotel any day

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Address: Marnixstraat 397, 1017 PJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Weber 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish furnished newly renovated hotel with large rooms. Rooms contains large twin or double beds, pantry with fridge, private bathroom with rituals amenities, breakfast in the fridge and fresh bread in front of the door each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Weber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.