We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basement Room like a prison cell, Lied to over the Credit card exchange rate” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basement Room like a prison cell, Lied to over the Credit card exchange rate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just stayed here for 2 nights last minute for traveling to Amsterdam for work.
The basement room was dark and smelled damp - rather like A prison cell. At €300 per night it was an absolute joke. When I checked in I was asked to pay with my card, I was presented with a Credit card receipt to sign where the hotel had converted the €'s into £'s at a very poor rate. I questioned the member of staff and stated that I wished to pay in €'s not £'s and he got quiet angry at me and told me that it was in €'s and the the £'s was just for information. I read the small print on the receipt which confirmed to me that they were charging me £'s and not €'s and questioned him again at which point he got angrier stating that I was only being charged €'s and what happens with my card was my banks problem. THIS IS BARE FACED LYING - and I would hope fraudulent in the Netherlands. I checked with my card issuer today and I had indeed been charged £'s, the difference in the rate = £44 for the 2 nights...

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Son of Tron,

I am sorry your experience with us left you feeling underwhelmed. The issues you encountered with the room is easily rectifiable and I am certain our team could have effortlessly resolved this in it entirety given the opportunity. Never the less I apologize about what you had endured. We invest a lot of time and effort in our staff to ensure they deliver the spectacular friendly and welcoming service , Amstelzicht has become known for. Your comment about not feeling welcomed and service being rude is very concerning to me and I invite you to contact me directly regarding this. I would like to know the specifics as to why you felt this way; you can contact me at Robert@rrhospitality.com .
The room in the Souterain is not in the basement but on ground floor level, many of our guests enjoyed this room for been quite and very spacious, regarding the Payment, your own currency should always be less costly for you due to that there is not currency exchange involved.
I assure you that what you experienced is not typical of Amstelzicht or its service,we take it very serious. I would greatly appreciated it if you would let us know while you’re were here and we could have the chance personally to change your impression of Amstelzicht for the better.
Kind regards,
Robert
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    73
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
47
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great rooms, great location, valet parking ok. The stairs are very steep and have very small step area, not for those with bad feet/legs. Beds comftable but theare very soft around the edge causing the mattresses to move on bed.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Anthony C,

Thank you very much for sharing your review according your recent stay in Hotel Amstelzicht.
We agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient.

As you mention it is within walking distance to the Centre and close to many highlights Amsterdam has to offer.

As we are a historical building we do have typical Dutch stairs which are steep with small steps, but of course we do mention this on all booking websites as well on our own website.

For people with bad feet/legs; they may always inform us about it, so we would be able to offer them a room on a lower floor.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

For our special offers please contact us info@hotelamstelzicht.com or visit our website.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been working in Amsterdam a week we were looking to stay somewhere a bit more boutique style traditional in the city without paying extortionate prices. It was really difficult to find somewhere with good reviews for a decent price...and then we found this one! Fantastic sized rooms, facilities, awesome shower, great service with good explanations about the surrounding area. Just perfect for any stay and really close to the city sights!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear alisongiles,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write your review on tripadvisor.

We appriciate that you were satisfied with the service we offered.
Nice to hear that you liked our antique building as well the location of Hotel Amstelzicht, as you wrote we are located in the centre of Amsterdam.
It’s a pleasure for us to read the possitive comments written about us.
All city sights are on walking-distance from us. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next business trip or maybe on holiday in Hotel Amstelzicht.

For our special offers please do not hesitate to contact us; info@hotelamstelzicht.com or visit our website.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent price for location of the hotel! Enjoyed our three night stay in the Canal View apartment - definitely worth the few extra euro for this view. Plenty of space for our family of 4, functional kitchen, living room, bunk beds, and main bedroom. Appreciated that this is a non-smoking property.

Our friends were located in the annex - plenty of room for their family of 4 - and appreciated the two separate bedrooms. Only complaint would be lack of a view and the narrow pathway to their room.

As others have mentioned expect steep stairways and no offer of help to cart the luggage up.

Both rooms were provided with fans which were helpful - but air conditioning would have been better. Windows were not screened - otherwise we let in many canal bugs if left open.

The entrance door to the apartment stairs was nearly impossible to open. Could be a problem in an emergency. Management indicated that this was due to the heat and the fact that the building was leaning.

It was fun to watch the canal boats - many of the tours stopped in front to snap shots of our very historic tilted building.

There was noise into the late evening due to pub below - not overwhelming and to be expected for the location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Hpfans,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share a nice review on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht, in our Apartments with Canal view.
As you wrote the apartments do have a great view over the canal, functional kitchen, living room, bunk beds and main bedroom so plenty of space for a family of 4.

Our quad-rooms are also nice with enough place for 4 person, with also a separate bedroom and 2 bunk beds in the second room but they do not have the nice canal view as the apartments.

Due to the fact we are a very historic tilted building we are unfortunately not allowed to place elevators in our Hotel. As mentioned on all bookings site as well our own website we do have steep stairways, which is really typical Dutch. This is also the reason why we do offer fans instead of airconditioning.

If you would prefer a room on another floor for your next stay, you may always inform us in advance and we’ll do our best to offer you a room located lower.

Our building is called ‘three dancing houses’ , so really famous and that’s the reason the canal-boats are stopping in front to get pictures of Hotel Amstelzicht.

According to the noise from the pub, we can inform you that the pub is closed.

We would be very happy to welcome you and your family again at Hotel Amstelzicht.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights with two girlfriends in a triple room. We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am and the people at reception were so helpful in trying to prepare our room as soon as possible so we could have a rest. They guys at reception were so lovely throughout our entire stay and we were always offered tea and coffee in the morning and we had some great convos with them and really found out the best places to go in Amsterdam. Always ready to help and find out things if they don't know themselves. The room was great...large stylish and clean had all the things we needed or just ask. Even the housekeeping staff were friendly and welcoming. I really can't fault this hotel I would always stay here if I go to the Dam again because of its location and hospitality. We had everything literally on our doorstep and the red light is a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear MansyJ,

We really appriciate that you took your time to write a review on tripadvisor according your recent stay at Hotel Amstelzicht.
It’s a pleasure for us to read that you were satisfied with the offered services by our staff.
We have shared your nice words with all our team.

As you mention in your review everything is very near to Hotel Amstelzicht.

For any special offers for your next stay, please do not hesitate to visit our website or contact us info@hotelamstelzicht.com . We’ll be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Amstelzicht for 2 nights with my mother. The staff in reception were very friendly and spoke good english. The staircase is steep but a gentleman carried our cases upstairs.
The lobby is beautifully furnished and access is very secure at night behind 2 locked doors.
We had a canal view room. Was lovely, large and clean.
Location was great, a 100m walk to the square and everything is pretty much at your doorstop.
Absolutely nothing to complain about. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for the compliments regarding the reception staff, we are happy they could offer you and your Mother good service during your stay. The characteristic Amsterdam stairway are indeed steep and lead up to the rooms and suites, all Guests admire this detail of the monumental house dating back from 1659.
In the lobby it is possible to enjoy a cup of coffee/ thea and water while planning your day, using the WiFi, reading the Amsterdam magazines our taking information by the Reception always with a background of smooth jazz music.
From 8AM to 10PM the Reception is available, after this time the Reception is not available and the front door is closed. With your keys you are able to always walk in and out and for any emergencies the Night security is available.
The Canal View Suite is 27 m2 large, 7 m2 bigger then the standard room. We are happy the Suite was to your expectations.
I agree with you the location of Hotel Amstelzicht is great, we are in the heart of Amsterdam on walking distance of ‘Rembrandtplein’ and a lot of attractions and sights.

Thank you for recommending hotel Amstelzicht, we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Bahamas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel was the most amazing experience. Hospitality really his everything to them and they truly mean it. The canal suite was fantastic and truly luxurious. There is room service, on-call masseuse and valet parking. I felt like a queen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

It is of great pleasure to read that you felt like a Queen while staying with us in Hotel Amstelzicht. Our priority is indeed to be able to meet all needs of the Guests, we are happy you experienced this. The Canal View Suite is as well one of my favorite rooms, the room offers a breathtaking 180 degree view of the Amsterdam canals and scenery and more ammenities such as Nespresso Machine, Bathropes, and a TRX Suspension Trainer (on request) , plus all the standard amenities.

On behalf of our entire Team thank you for your kind words we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.