We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good view and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good view and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights.

The hotel is conveniently located whereby all the major attractions are easily at reach particularly if you hire a bicycle which I would highly recommend.

The hotel is formed from a converted Dutch Town House that has suffered from significant settlement over the years. Don't let this put you off as it adds even more character to this ancient and otherwise well maintained building.

The hotel is accessible from the front entrance adjacent to the Amstel canal via a number of stone steps and thereafter to your hotel room on first and above floors via a very steep and sloping stair case with handrail to the left side only which is not ideal for a right handed person trying to lumber a case up the stairs! We did manage and for the abled bodied the stair is a bit of fun.

Our room was on the first floor overlooking the canal and comprised bathroom with shower only, lobby including wardrobe and large bedroom with two adjoining single beds. The beds are so soft if it like sleeping on a marshmallow. Be careful to keep to the middle otherwise you may roll off the bed or between the two as the mattresses move round like a lilo in a swimming pool.

The rooms were well furnished, presented well and were cleaned to a good standard every day.

The staff are excellent.

One thing, albeit small, that I did find annoying was that there was no tea, coffee or whitener in our room. We did have a coffee machine with two pods of coffee, however, but my wife does not drink black coffee so went coffeeless on the first morning till we went out for breakfast.

The coffee pods (if that is the correct name for them?) are, according to the hotel users book, to be replied each day. Ours weren't replaced every day!. You can purchase additional pods from reception for 0.5 Euro.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor.

Please know your feedback is appreciated, we regret not having the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay with us, we would have been happy to show you where to find the Coffee, Nespresso, Tea, Cream, Sugar and Minibar if the Reception was informed. From your description I understand you had a Twin bed (2 single beds) if requested the twin beds can be made up as a Double bed.

We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Best Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
44
51
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just came back from a 4 days trip to Amsterdam.
We went there for Awakenings festival, and as this is event is quite loud (to say the least), we wanted a quite location to relax and rest.

The hotel is reachable by foot from the central station in about 15-20 minutes. Location is really nice, just near Rembrandt square, and quite close from the red light district, but also not too near to avoid the little inconveniences that comes with this kind of night life

But what was for me a really good surprise was the staff. Both where really nice, helpful and never afraid to have an entertaining little chat. Always smiling and helpful, just perfect.

The only little "problem" was that I've found the beds a little bit to soft for my tastes, but I guess this is quite personal

As for the steepness of the stairs, it is part of the Amsterdam experience, but it is true that for elder people, or people with reduced mobility that might be a challenge

I'll come back there next year, for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel, like many others in Amsterdam, is essentially a converted private residence. My room (212?) was on the 3rd floor and access to it was very challenging - you essentially need to climb up stairs that are so vertical they are almost a ladder. OK for me but I can see this being a real problem for some people. I did some laundry at the hotel and was charged prices that were double the list price. They corrected it when I noticed, but still... Also, I still have some unidentified charges from them on my credit card that I'm sorting through. There is no A/C which can be a problem... all in all, this really isn't a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mr. Ben Ami,

Thank you for your comments here on tripadvisor, we take your comments very seriously and have investigated the situation you describe in your review, and we feel very sad you have wrote this in a review before contacting the hotel with your questions; why you have been charged more than you thought you should. Noticing you have travelled 85 cities in the world we would have expect the opposite! You have used the Laundry facilities by the hotel, this is an outside company who will pick up Guest laundry in the morning before 9AM and return it the next morning around 9 AM. There is a Special service (12 hours), Delivery return the same day after 6.00 p.m. Price for this are subject to 50% surcharge. You marked the special service (12 hours) which means that 50% of 31,01EUR is 15,52EUR. Which makes a total of 46,53EUR. This is stated on your invoice. As you checked out by the night security early morning he was not aware of this and correctly the amount directly after you told him it was not correct, however when the Receptionist arrived we noticed that the charges are correct and that is the reason why your credit card has been charged again for the services your had requested.

Assuming the Hotel is a private residence converted in a Hotel is a nice thought, we like to give this feeling to our guest, hoping the feel at home!, but Amstelzicht is a hotel since 1945, and before it used to be a warehouse build in the Golden Age, at that time owners needed to pay tax according to the front size of the building, and that’s why all the building are very narrow and with steep stairways. Which now a days is mostly the same as the Amstel and the rest of the 17th-century canal ring area were placed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2010.

We have also contacted you by private email to explain you the situation regarding the Laundry,

Warm regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Visited Amsterdam on a short break from work and excepting nothing but relaxation and when i arrive that was exactly what came through my mind about the hotel. The room with the canal view is spacious, comfortable and clean. Did i mention how beautiful the view of the canal is?
And also the location can't be better, worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great, very nice rooms, great location, staff really friendly. From this hotel you can reach the most beautiful places of the city so semplece and fast. The rooms are clean, the staff always helpful and very polite

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Together with my family we stayed in 1 of the Canal view apartments in Hotel Amstelzicht, June 2014. We expected the Apartment to be small, so we were surprised how spacious it actually is. We had a wonderfull welcome in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam by the Reception, and enjoyed a cup of coffee and tea before we started the registration. The check in time for the apartment is 5PM, we arrived around 2PM and the reception made sure the room was ready with in 1 hour. My 2 children liked the beds in an alcove, we passed our budget so the last 2 nights we made use of the kitchen and moved the table to the window overlooking the Amstel. We had a great time, thank you Hotel Amstelzicht for the good service. We will be back in the near future!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sascha,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Amstelzicht on Tripadvisor.

You arrived early at Hotel Amstelzicht after a long journey. I am pleased to read you had a nice welcome by the Reception and could enjoy a cup of coffee and tea before proceeding the check in. The check in for the Canalview Apartment is indeed 5PM, however if possible to have the room ready before 5PM the Reception will make sure this happens. If this is not the case there is a possibility to leave the luggage stored in the luggage room, while you go explore Amsterdam.

The self-catered apartment has a full kitchen, it is good to know you were able to make good use of it the last nights.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just behind Rembrandt Sq special mention Amer on the front desk for being so helpful and accommodating. The room was huge and everything was in good working order. Recommend this place when you want to be central to the city. Beds were so comfortable! Water hot !

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Muskoka,

We are so thankful for all the compliments regarding our staff, service and facilities. It is good to know that you spent a great time with us. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of Amer, we will send your gratitude to him.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Warm regards,

Robert

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.