We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Roomtel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Roomtel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. We opted for a room overlooking the river Amstel and it was large by city standards with a great view. Beds are very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep despite the noise from the street outside. Noise is a drawback of any city hotel, but it would have been nice if the hotel had invested in double or triple glazing instead of the badly fitting double windows used to reduce the noise. They have done a good job of renovating such an old building, and while some fittings are good, the room is a bit bland and more could have been spent on quality decor. Services are rather limited which is why I describe this as a roomtel. There are no restaurant or bar facilities. The reception staff are great, but when they are not there, it has a feel of a hostel until you get to your room when it starts to feel more like an hotel. The stairs are very steep and narrow and you will need to be fit to lug your cases up and down the stairs. I would recommend this hotel for able bodied people who can cope with the stairs and who like to enjoy exploring the local cuisine and cafes. This suited me which is why I would consider it again.

Room Tip: A good option for the city explorer who does not rely on hotel cosseting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay, however I’m surprised by some comments in your review, and I would like to take this opportunity to explain why. Regarding the double windows, we did make a great investment 1 year ago in extra front windows inside the room, what in our opinion (and from many guest) reduce most of the street noise. But I would like to make clear that better isolation, like double glass is not allowed by government reasons, it’s a monument building from 1659, and nothing can be changed on the outside and front of the Hotel, double glass is not allowed, to prevent the historical sides of Amsterdam. Remember Hotel Amstelzicht is on the most pictured location in Amsterdam! Good news is that the Bar next door will be closed starting June 1th 2014, which was producing most of the disturbance for the hotel guest.
Decor and style is very personal, and we think we have done a great job in making a combination between a classic hotel, and a small boutique Hotel.
Services, I’m not sure what you missed, I really would like to know so we can work on that, Services we provide are:
Breakfast at Brug34 for 9.50 euro PP
Room service between 17 and 22.00 o’clock
Diner restaurant Szmulewitz next to the hotel, including a free glass of Prosecco
Free WIFI everywhere
Bikes for 7,- per 24 Hours
Massage
Gym tickets for 15 euro (75 meters from hotel)
Minibar
Excursions desk for reservation off all excursions and museums etc.
Free coffee & Tea in the lobby at any time
Best Regards, and see you soon again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    73
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
47
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel was brilliant. Would highly recommend - when we arrived, the staff were, incredibly friendly and helpful - told us EVERYTHING we needed to know. We stayed in the room right at the top of the building and it was beautiful - Tea and coffee making facilities, gorgeous decor and very, very clean. Loved it - would recommend - great location, lovely staff (we got a friendly hello every morning and evening, as well as one of the staff teaching me some Dutch!!) beautiful layout and decor inside. Amazing!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, less noise, however, very steep stairs, so be careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Georgie,

Thank you for your wonderful review, specially regarding our staff who greeted you every day!, That’s why Amstelzicht is different than many other Hotels, we have passion for our Job & the Hotel, and we love to give our Guest the best experience they can get! More than you expect, all you deserve…….

One again thank you and see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My compliments to this hotel for its all-round service. I spent two nights there with a group pf friends. We stayed at a two-room suite 227. We were given a map of the city and we enjoyed warm tea with ginger biscuits whenever we passed through the reception area. We used the lobby twice as a comfortable meeting point. There was also a tea-coffee set in our room so we could prepare hot drinks whenever we felt like it. The suite was nice and warm, very cosy. My only regret is that the bathroom floor was ice-cold and I was always in a hurry to get out of there. Wireless internet was also provided, but the signal to our room was very faint. Apart from this, I am very pleased with the hotel staff, they were very kind and helpful. Amstelzicht's location is superb- it is only a few minutes walk from practically everywhere. Before we booked it we were considering another option- a lower-priced place with included breakfast, but it was a bit further away from the city center and now we have no regrets that we decided to pay a little extra to be in this hotel. I warmly recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: There was a construction site visible from our room- 227, but there was no noise at night. I would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Amstelzicht with other travellers here on Trip advisor.

I want to thank you for your nice words, It's a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and Amsterdam. We are really happy you decided to book Hotel Amstelzicht and not a lower-priced hotel further from the city. As you yourself has experienced the sightseeings and attractions are within walking distance from the Hotel. On behalf of the whole team thank you for the compliments to the reception. We like to improve our service and will for sure take a look regarding the bathroom floor.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Amstelzicht we hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend returned on Sunday from staying 3 nights at this hotel. Brilliant location with shops, bars and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. We stayed in room 201 a really spacious room, which was very clean, and had a lovely view of the canal. The only downside would be the beds, as our bed was made up of two mattresses pushed together which came apart during the night. Brolly and dressing gowns provided which was a nice touch. Hotel reception staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay- and offered information about the city and maps if you have never visited before on arrival. Would definitely recommend this hotel and love to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star rating here on Trip advisor.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam. The beautiful Suite room 201 is personally my favorite, the 27 m2 suite room offering more ammenities, such as Nespresso Machine, Bathropes, and a TRX Suspension Trainer (on request)
It is a pity that during your stay, the reception is not informed about the twin beds. Because there is a possibility to make a Double bed on request.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a great stay here. Staff friendly and very helpful. Hotel in great spot location wise and is in immaculate condition. Was a real step up from our normal budget hotel in the UK. Room was good size and very clean/comfortable. We booked this on line via a hotel site, which we have never done before as we always book packages. However, all went very smoothly and although we arrived on an early flight, the hotel was happy to keep our luggage downstairs till we checked in later in the day and also after check out till it was time for us to leave for the airport. We bought a 24 hour travel ticket from reception which was great for getting round town, but many of the main attractions are all within walking distance. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was a great find and we hope to return sooner rather than later. Thank you for helping to make our break so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a canal view if possibly ..... was worth the little bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating.

It is a great pleasure to read your review, I will personally inform the staff about your nice words.

As you describe if you arrive early in the Hotel and the room is not available yet, the Reception will indeed store your luggage in the luggage room while you explore Amsterdam or take place in the lobby with nice coffee/ tea facility.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, we sure hope this is sooner then later for your next visit please contact me on info@hotelamstelzicht.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hossegor, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Amstelzicht. It was easy to find and we walked from Centraal Station to check out the city on the way and it's not too far to walk. Check in was a bit annoying as bigger rooms aren't ready until 4 or 5pm, but staff were very friendly and let us wait for the hour until our room was ready in the lobby.

The room was very nice and clean, as was the bathroom. There was comfortably enough space for the 4 of us in our room. Had some issues with loud neighbours partying all night then early construction work the first night, but this was sincerely apologised for by management the next day and we had no further problems. Overall good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.
I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay. As you describe it is easy to walk through the city because it is not far distance from the hotel. It is a pity that you experienced check in as annoying. The Quad rooms and Apartments are check in 5PM, ofcourse if the room is already available or you arrive early the Reception will do there very best to assist you to the room as soon as available. Again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have had with respect to the neighbors.

‘Overall good value for money and I would stay here again.’ ;do not hesitate to contact me on info@hotelamstelzicht.com, we would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Amstelzicht hotel is situated on the banks of the Amstel river, facing the Amsterdam city hall. Guests are residing in a typical, old canalside house that has been completely refurbished. The lower apartment is particularly comfortable and roomier; it also comes with a kitchenette and warm furniture. It is an ideal place to start strolling to the Rembrandt Plein (150 m) or visit the unique Museum Hermitage (at 400m - that building alone is worth a visit).

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in the beautifull Apartment with canal view and Amsterdam ofcourse. The spacious 75m2 Apartment is decorated simply but comfortable, one bedroom with a double bed, and the living room features 2 beds in an alcove, a full kitchen, bathroom, sitting area and on top of all a amazing view of the Canal. As you describe on walking distance from the well-known ‘Rembrandtplein’ and among other sight seeings and attractions.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.