We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Expected better value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay in Amsterdam, but the value provided by the Amstelzicht did not quite contribute to this experience. The building itself is authentic and well-kept which gives a good impression. The room we got on the second floor was quit small for two people which suitcases, the staircase is horrendously steep.
The real downsides of this hotel were:
- lack of 24h reception (7am-10pm). We had problems entering the locked front door every time as the magnetic lock was faulty. Had to dial the security person, who was unhelpful and wouldn't let us in straight away.
- no radiator in the bathroom, it was absolutely freezing. We were told by the receptionist to open to the bedroom so it could get warm! After a long discussion we managed to get a heater.
Overall not what you expect for this sort of price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Amstelzicht. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectation.
We do take guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve upon guest experiences. I welcome the opportunity to discuss all the points you have highlighted in person or on a one to one basis in detail.
Please feel free to contact me via email Robert@rrhospitality.com at your convenience
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back again. Please let me know when you plan your next stay, as I would like to oversee your reservation personally. You can reach me directly via my email Robert@rrhospitality.com
Warm regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
27
38
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked two quad rooms for a girls weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel has great location which is 15 minute walk to the shops/ Central station and very close the restaurants and bars on Rembrandtplein square.

Our rooms were in a separate building from the main hotel but were a great size, modern and clean. We had our own entrance and each room had a TV, ipod dock and fridge. The stairs are VERY steep which can be challenging to get your bags to the room but we felt it added to the Dutch charm of the building. The staff were polite and helpful, and we were able to store our bags at the hotel before and after check-in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review posting. You have very well defined our excellent Quad rooms. We are equally glad that all aspects of your visit were very satisfactory. The characteristic Amsterdam stairway are indeed steep, but part of the monumental house. We are glad you enjoyed it as a Dutch charm.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have just returned from an amazing weekend with friends in Amsterdam.

We stayed at Hotel Amstelzicht in 2 quad rooms and a twin.

We arrived in Amsterdam early. First impressions of the hotel were really good. The reception area was clean and spacious. The receptionist was very friendly. Our quad room was not due to be ready until 5pm, but the staff were more than happy to allow us to leave our luggage with them whilst we explored the city. The staff were extremely helpful and were there to help us with our luggage down the characteristically steep stairs of Amsterdam!

When we returned to the hotel at 5pm, we were helped with our luggage to our rooms. Our quad rooms were in a separate building, which was brilliant for us. The quad rooms were up a couple of flights of steep stairs, which was superb for our thighs and working off all of the delicious foods available in the city! The rooms were clean, spacious and functional. There was a large living area which consisted of a t.v., a fridge, safe, sitting area and a set of bunk beds. The bathroom was clean and worked well for a group of 4 girls. There were twin beds in a separate room. The beds were very comfortable, we all slept well and had a nap each day too!

The hotel is in a fantastic position, directly on one of the canals. There were plenty of bars, clubs and food establishments within walking distance. The attractions were also close by foot, tram or bike.

Our flight on our last day was not until late, the hotel, again, were happy for us to leave our luggage with them. The manager/owner came to see us to make sure that we had an enjoyable stay, which we had.

The price was an absolute bargain for the quality and position of this hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all able bodied people wanting to stay close to the heart of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam.

I am looking forward to returning with my fiance for a romantic weekend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for you review on Trip advisor.

when I read your review I immediately forwarded to the whole team. Thank you for a wonderful description of your first impression during check-in, your experience in the quad room, service and of course Amsterdam itself.

Our goal is that all Guests experience Hotel Amstelzicht like you do.

Our Receptionists are available from 08:00 to 10:00 O’clock, after 10 O’clock the Night security present. They are available to meet all your needs, This may be general hotel information, information about Amsterdam, public transport, taxi / shuttle bus, flight information, etc.

At the reception there is an opportunity to enjoy great music, with a cup of coffee or tea. For early arrivals or late goers there is a possibility to store your luggage in the luggage room.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you in Hotel Amstelzicht. And we hope to welcome you again soon with your fiancé in one of the beautiful suites with Canal view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrera, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the Hotel Amstelzicht and we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very clean and the triple room we stayed in was very comfortable. It is in a fantastic location right in front of Rembrandtplein and within easy walking distance (max 15-20 minutes) to all the major attractions.

We were downstairs and while we did hear a bit of noise from construction next door and the clubs behind us but it wasn't terrible or impossible to sleep.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us, particularly when our daughter wasn't feeling well. Their thoughtfulness was very much appreciated and unexpected. We were all sorry to leave at the end of our stay!

Room Tip: The downstairs are very narrow and may be difficult to access. Also, I think the upstairs rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a Review on Trip advisor.

Woow what a nice title ‘Great hotel with an excellent staff’ We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam.

As you describe, the hotel is within walking distance of many sights and attractions in Amsterdam. The hotel is located on the Amstel. On a few seconds walking distance of the famous Rembrandt plein, for Dining and Night life.

We are happy to read that is was not impossible to sleep, we do our best to meet all the wishes of our Guests. That is why we recently placed shutters to prevent sound from outside.

On behalf of the whole team thank you for your sweet words, we hope to welcome you and your family again in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I needed to stay by Rembrandtplein for business, and was so happy to find this modest but refined spot- just a bit away from the bustle. The stairs were a bit daunting with luggage, but I was otherwise grateful to stay at the very top of the building. It was quaint and quiet up there, and the room was wonderfully appointed. I wish that I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Trip advisor.

It is nice to read that the location of Hotel Amstelzicht, was perfect for your business trip in Amsterdam. The ‘Rembrandtplein’ is indeed on a few seconds walking distance, also from multiple sites and attractions. A plus for our business guests; there is free use for the Wi-Fi in public areas and in the rooms. And an opportunity to order a taxi at the front desk. After a long day of meetings you can enjoy room service (Starter and Main courses) from 17:30 – 21:30 O’clock. The authentic Amsterdam stairs take you to the rooms and suites with period features combined with modern décor. Your room was on the third floor, as we learn you have enjoyed this because of the silence.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Amstelzicht for a few days during this autumn (early october). We are a familiy of four and we booked one of the quadruple rooms. Everything was great from the night we arrived. Eventhough we arrived quite late at night, a very nice man in the reception was waiting for us. The quadruple room had two seperate bedrooms, a small kitchen corner with a small fridge and a decent bathroom. The rooms were clean and the bedsheets were changed. We heard no noice from the bar downstairs from our quadrupleroom. The day we left Amsterdam, our plane departed quite late and eventhough the storageroom was full the manager made sure that our luggage was kept safe for the whole day. The best thing about this hotel is the great location at such a bargain price. To summarize: great place to stay with kids (11 and 15 yrs), cheap for Amsterdam, perfect location, nice room and great staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you describe the front desk is not available after 10 pm, but with late check ins the night security guard is present to welcome you. I love how you described the quad room. To meet all the wishes of our Guests is very important to us.Thank you again for your nice words,

we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list