We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Amstelzicht for a few days during this autumn (early october). We are a familiy of four and we booked one of the quadruple rooms. Everything was great from the night we arrived. Eventhough we arrived quite late at night, a very nice man in the reception was waiting for us. The quadruple room had two seperate bedrooms, a small kitchen corner with a small fridge and a decent bathroom. The rooms were clean and the bedsheets were changed. We heard no noice from the bar downstairs from our quadrupleroom. The day we left Amsterdam, our plane departed quite late and eventhough the storageroom was full the manager made sure that our luggage was kept safe for the whole day. The best thing about this hotel is the great location at such a bargain price. To summarize: great place to stay with kids (11 and 15 yrs), cheap for Amsterdam, perfect location, nice room and great staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Trip advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. As you describe the front desk is not available after 10 pm, but with late check ins the night security guard is present to welcome you. I love how you described the quad room. To meet all the wishes of our Guests is very important to us.Thank you again for your nice words,

we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    76
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
49
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My family and I (2 daughters) stayed here in October 2013 for 3 nights. The location is excellent, and everything is easily walkable. The hotel is situated just behind Rembrandtplein and is easy to get to on Tram 14 or Tram 9. Do not attempt to drive - parking is very difficult close to the hotel. We took one of the excellent park & ride options out of the city and caught the tram. The hotel staff are very helpful, the family room we had consisted of one double room, a bathroom and a family room with two bunk beds, a small kitchen area and a TV area. No view. The facililties were nice enough considering the cost, but we were awoken each night by the noise outside and the people going to bed in the rooms upstairs - to be expected in the centre of Amsterdam, but families with young children who are light sleepers should take this into account.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience in Hotel Amstelzicht on Tripadvisor.

As you describe is the location of Hotel Amstelzicht is indeed perfect for guests visiting Amsterdam. Within walking distance to several sights and attractions. With tickets available at the reception you can use the tram, the nearest line is the 9 and 14. Indeed it is not recommended to drive in the city, due to high parking rates. If you travel with the car you can decide to make use of the ‘Hotel parking service’ Hotel parking is valet parking for hotel guests and business drivers they pick up your car at the hotel, park it in its own secure grounds and bring him back at the appointed time at front of the Hotel. What a beautiful way to describe the Quad room, we can recommend for the next time to book a Apartment with canal view. This very spacious apartments are decorated simply but comfortable, one bedroom with a double bed, and the living room features 2 beds in an alcove, a full kitchen, bathroom, sitting area and on top of all an amazing view of the Canal. The apartments are reached by a steep characteristic Amsterdam stairway and are on the 1th till 3th floor.
We apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us. Therefore we try our very best to meet the expectations of our Guests. It must be taken into account that we are in the middle of the bustling city of Amsterdam.

We would like to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and in a charming old building. However I stayed for two nights in room 202 and was disappointed overall. Room 202 is immediately adjacent to reception and is subject to noise from guests in reception, and also the view from its window is the back of a hotel and there are people smoking directly outside your window. The views in the room are consequently poor and the room pretty dark. But the most irritating feature is as the room shares a wall with reception there is a 'binging' noise all night from the alarm system. It certainly kept me awake for most of the night.
Also the rates were relatively high for a hotel that doesn't provide breakfast and has no bar etc. Its not good enough to say 'there is a restaurant around the corner' when you have to leave at 7.30am in the morning.

Room Tip: Its hard to say as I only saw one room, my tip would be chose another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay on our property. Amstelzicht is dedicated to continually improving our customer service and the experience of each and every one of our guests. We are a chic property that is nestled in the city centre location of Amsterdam and conveniently located just steps away from the Rembrandtsquare. We very much value the input of our clientele and through this kind of dialogue believe we can continue to improve our guests experience on our property. We have checked on the “binging” noise, however at this time we have not found any noise , but will continuing searching for it. Room 202 is popular by many guest being on the ground floor, to avoid the steep stairway the Hotel has, Im sorry to hear you didn’t like the room, Of course having a room facing the canal is also our recommendation, but has to be reserved long time in advance ( its a special room type) as they are very popular due to its the best view in Amsterdam! Regarding the breakfast, before making a reservation at hotel Amstelzicht, or any hotel, please read all the information regarding the hotel, so while staying there is no surprise, and most important no negative review about something that is clearly written on every website. All our guest are welcoming to have breakfast around the corner, 75 meters from the Hotel at Brug34, for a low price of 9.50 euro a full Breakfast is served! I wish during your stay we had know about your comments so we maybe could have fixed It directly. Ones again thank you for your comments and should your travels take you back to Amsterdam, I , and all the staff hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel amstelzicht have very friendly staff for take car and good location you can walk dam sqare just few minutes and have a good resturant near hotel.
I stay in apartment for 4 persons very big room good canal view and have small kitchen .i recieve bottle of wine of waffle in last night very surprise! So i must come again with my family and will tell my friends stay here. Just hotel amstelzicht^^

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for a long weekend in Amsterdam.

The first thing to say is that the hotel's location is great - just around the corner from Rembrantplein and within walking distance of all the major points of interest within the canal ring (including the 9 Little Streets, Arts & Antique district, Jordaan neighbourhood, Red Light District, Dam square etc).

The hotel itself is situated next to the Amstel canal, and the view from the canal suites is lovely. When we arrived, we went through the corridor to the reception at the back of the building. Very modern, if a little small. We were greeted by Rebecca on the front desk, who I have to say was very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay (as were all the staff, in fact). She showed us up to our room on the second floor. As a few other reviewers have pointed out, the stairs are very steep (a feature of much of the architecture in the area) so do bear this in mind before you book if you have mobility issues. The room itself was pleasantly large, nicely decorated and well stocked with amenities (a safe, minibar, coffee machine, bathrobes, ironing board, umbrella etc).

My only issue with the room we had was that we had two twin beds pushed together instead of the double bed I was expecting. They even had two single duvets instead of one double duvet, which for a couple is a bit awkward. That said, we stayed there three nights and never had trouble getting to sleep. We read the TripAdvisor reviews before we came, and noise was a common issue cited, but I have to say we didn't experience that - even on the canal side we weren't kept awake. Our room had double windows which helped. If you are a light sleeper though, it is worth noting that there is a nightclub under the hotel, so on busier weekends it may be an issue.

We did notice a small leak in the bathroom on the second day, but when we reported it to Rebecca on the front desk she was very apologetic and offered to move us to another room. It wasn't a major issue for us, so we didn't need to change rooms, but nice to have it offered. They also left a gift of Stroopwafels on our bed when we returned that afternoon, which I thought was a nice touch.

The only other thing to bear in mind is that, really, the hotel is more of a upmarket B&B than a hotel in the traditional sense. There is no cooked breakfast service for guests (you are directed to a nearby cafe), nor is there a pool or gym. This wasn't a problem for us at all - we used the hotel as a base to explore the city, and for that it was fantastic - but don't book and expect to be waited on hand and foot.

Value-wise, it is a bit expensive for what you get (compared to other cities) but probably the going rate in Amsterdam.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay, and I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207 which had nice views over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice and long review about Hotel Amstelzicht. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us, we have forwarded your review to Ribaqa, who was very happy to read your comments about here. Our staff really enjoys to meet guest from all over the world, and make sure they have a memorable time in Amsterdam.
I’m also very happy you mentioned the Canal view room was quiet and well isolation, as we recently have done a great job isolation all rooms with double glass ore isolation shutters.
We do have however many services, like any other large hotel, some of them located near the hotel instead of in the Hotel. Breakfast is served for 9.50 at brug34 ( 75 meters from the Hotel) , Gym is available for 15 euro at HeathCity ( 50 meters from the Hotel) , Room service is available during the evening for diner, as well dinner is served 20 meters from the Hotel at restaurant Szmulewitz, which include a free glass of Prosecco, extra services are umbrellas, Free Wi-Fi, Minibar, and many others. In a old city like Amsterdam is difficult to create all this areas in one old building, dating back from 1659.
Ones again thank you and hopefully see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the basement souterain rooms and were impressed by the space and cleanliness. Reception was friendly and the location was perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. As an added bonus the restaurant that was recommended (Szmulewicz) served excellent food and gave us a free glass of prosseco when we told them where we were staying.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Indeed the Souterain Rooms are very large and very comfortable, which is a surprise for many guest who stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation on this room. Cleanness of course is one of the most important things in any hotel, but your compliment are well deserved for our hard working housekeepers, who everyday again do a great and heavy job, making sure all areas and rooms are spotless clean.

Ones again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.