We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and accomodations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and accomodations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A group of four of us stayed during a busy conference weekend so we had trouble finding a room anywhere in the city. Luckily this place had room. It was expensive due to the conference but really that is just supply and demand. We were thrilled with our room which was in a different building and on the ground level. Yes there was noise as people moved around above us or on stairs but I would expect that. It also wasnt that bad or constant. The hotel employees were very friendly and even left us a bottle of Prosecco to enjoy. Location was perfect to walk anywhere. You can also take the free nearby boat shuttle to Heineken! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again if in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Amstelzicht at Tripadvisor, this is very important for us. We are happy to ready you had a good time at the hotel, and specially at the Quad room, the quad rooms are located in the annex building, and are very comfortable for 4 persons staying together and looking for a reasonable price to pay. I think the best thing about this rooms are that they are basically two double rooms connected with the bathroom between them, which gives a lot of privacy to all the guest, and makes it also comfortable for two couples, or a family with two kids.
September is always a busy months with many congresses, and indeed are we fully booked most of the time, next year to avoid this month, and visit us for example in august ore October.
Ones again thank you, and hope to welcome you again one day!

regards, Robert
Robert@rrhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
43
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were 4 people looking for a cheap option for one night in Amsterdam. Location was important for us and this hotel was right in the mix, being on the water right behind Rembrandts Square.
We took an apartment which comfortably fit all 4 of us and the space was clean, quirky and very reasonably priced.
The best thing about us was the extremely friendly and helpful staff who were able to pander to our every request.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Amsterdam, particularly young travelers...

Room Tip: Ask for Apartment 227 if you're a group of 4 friends wanting a cheap place to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor, very much appreciated.

See you next year.

regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is a good option when you are in Amsterdam. The hotel has a good quailty, just some minutes to og to centrum.
We were three friends who stayed there for one night, we are all students and do not have so much money, the price of the night was quite cheap compared to the hotelroom and service we got, we even got to have our dog with us.The crew was very nice and gave us great help with different information we needed.

From three girls and a very happy dog! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear karina,

Thank you so much for your lovely note here on tripadvisor, we all remember you, your friends and specialy your cute dog. I will forward this review to all the staff, a positive feedback is always rewarding for the staff. Hope to see all of you back in the near future,
Best regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very cheap hotel in a very central location right on the Amstel Canal. Walk to almost all central attractions in this City. Rijks Museum, just behind Rembrandts Square with lots of restaurants, bars etc....we walked to Central Station. It is a very historic Hotel built in 1659, but refurbished and still comfortable......but not 5 star. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Noise from disco behind and Irish pub next door but didn't affect us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. What a beautiful title ‘Great location for travellers’

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam. Thank you for uploading a beautiful picture from the front of Hotel Amstelzicht.

Hotel Amstelzicht is in a monumental house dating back from 1659. With more than 350 years of history and is totally renovated between January and March 2012. It is nice to read that you experienced the monumental house as comfortable.

As you write, the hotel is indeed located in the central of Amsterdam. Within walking distance of the well-known sightseeing’s and attractions. As Rembrand square, Leidse square, Kalvertoren, Rembrandt house, Hermitage.. The Reception can inform you about all the sightseeing’s and attractions in Amsterdam, and provide you of a city map, tour information and entrée tickets.
If you prefer not to walk (10-15 minutes) you can always consider to make use of the public transport.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We wanted a hotel with character and this was perfect. We were on the top floor facing the canal with a fantastic view. Yes, the stairs are steep but that was part of being in this lovely old building! Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped and the bed was great.

They don't do breakfast but we followed their recommendation and went to a friendly cafe just down the road which does a very tasty breakfast at a discount for the hotel's guests.

We loved the liveliness of the canal outside - a Polish film crew were filming on houseboats while we were there - but bear in mind this slightly leaning hotel and its equally crooked neighbours are on the boat tour itinerary so if you want 24 hr peace and quiet this may not be right for you. However, after dark things are quiet and we slept well with the windows open

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, we thank you for sharing your experience in hotel Amstelzicht on tripadvisor with other travelers.

It is of great pleasure to read that hotel Amstelzicht met to your expectations. The hotel has indeed a character, being a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history! The suite room with canal view that you mention has the additional facilities; Nespresso Machine, Bathropes, TRX Suspension Trainer (on request), plus all the standard amenities as a Minibar, I Phone Docking System, two telephones, multi-level working area, fauteuil, coffee and tea facilities, flat TV, free WIFI and a private bathroom. And a romantic atmosphere with a breath taking 180 degree view of the Amsterdam canals and scenery.

A full breakfast special is offered for our guests at Brug 34, located 75 meters from the hotel in the ‘Utrechtsestraat’

Did you know that hotel Amstelzicht is located in one of the so-called "three dancing houses" That is the reason that tourists on a canal cruise usually take pictures and admire the building. Of course they cannot look inside the rooms. We are pleased that even though the crowds in the city you’ve had a good night sleep with the windows open.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at his warm hotel a weekend with my partner. The location is just amazing, right in the heart of buzzing Amsterdam. The rooms are well decorated and well-kept. Nice service is the valet-parking, so you can get your car get parked out of the trafficed center and retake it when you're leaving. We had a wonderful time at this cosy place. Just one remark: we were quite unlucky to encounter both at check-in and at check-out staffmembers that were not well-trained. Getting us in and out our pre-booked and -paid room was half-an-hour of hassle, which should not be the case. So a tip for the management: spend more time on training the staff and do not put younf unexperienced staff there on the spot, as the first and last impressions of your great place get disturbed by hese bad experiences.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

The location of Hotel Amstelzicht is indeed right in the heart of Amsterdam. Among others near the Rembrandt square, Flower Market, Konings square and Kalver street. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, decoration and maintenance. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive to provide our guests with the best choice of parking we recommend the Hotel parking. Hotel parking is a valet parking for hotel guests and business drivers for a long time. Their car parking is in the center of Amsterdam. They pick up your car at the hotel, park it in its own secure grounds and bring him back at the appointed time. We are sorry for the experience you have had regarding the reception staff, we take your complaint serious and we will pay attention to this for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location. Great layout of the rooms. We had a quadrupel room, for two kids and two adults. The kids hade their own room with bunk beds and we had a separate bedroom. Although it looked more like an apartment than a hotel room, I was surprised that they came and cleaned every day.

Now to the not so great. The shower doors were broken. When I complained, they came with a temporary solution, which I was OK with. When I opened the fridge to the minibar, the freezer door came falling out. I just seemed like the place was falling apart every here and there.

But it was a good deal and we were happy. No breakfast included.

I should say that the hotel has four seperate buildings and maybe the other rooms were different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Amstelzicht a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history consists of the main building and two annex buildings. The Quad room is located in the annex building, the quad rooms are 40 m2 and are offering one bedroom with two single beds and one bedroom with 2 beds in an alcove, this rooms are perfect for those who want to stay at a great location for an affordable price, the rooms are decorated simple but nice. Room amenities are Minibar, I Phone Docking System, telephone, fauteuil, coffee and tea facilities, flat TV and Free WIFI and a private bathroom. The rooms is held clean daily by the housekeepers.

Breakfast is not included because we do not serve breakfast in the hotel. We do serve a small Breakfast on request, this consist out of coffee or tea, juice and a roll or croissant. For a full Breakfast we can recommend you some restaurants around the Hotel. A full breakfast special at restaurant Brug34, located 75 meters from the hotel for 9.50 euro.

I would like to apologize to for any inconvenience that you have had regarding the shower doors and fridge. This should not be the case but we’re happy you agreed with the temporary solution until the components have been replaced. These small accidents can occur, but it is certain that the room is not falling apart.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.