We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is a good option when you are in Amsterdam. The hotel has a good quailty, just some minutes to og to centrum.
We were three friends who stayed there for one night, we are all students and do not have so much money, the price of the night was quite cheap compared to the hotelroom and service we got, we even got to have our dog with us.The crew was very nice and gave us great help with different information we needed.

From three girls and a very happy dog! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear karina,

Thank you so much for your lovely note here on tripadvisor, we all remember you, your friends and specialy your cute dog. I will forward this review to all the staff, a positive feedback is always rewarding for the staff. Hope to see all of you back in the near future,
Best regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very cheap hotel in a very central location right on the Amstel Canal. Walk to almost all central attractions in this City. Rijks Museum, just behind Rembrandts Square with lots of restaurants, bars etc....we walked to Central Station. It is a very historic Hotel built in 1659, but refurbished and still comfortable......but not 5 star. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Noise from disco behind and Irish pub next door but didn't affect us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. What a beautiful title ‘Great location for travellers’

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht and Amsterdam. Thank you for uploading a beautiful picture from the front of Hotel Amstelzicht.

Hotel Amstelzicht is in a monumental house dating back from 1659. With more than 350 years of history and is totally renovated between January and March 2012. It is nice to read that you experienced the monumental house as comfortable.

As you write, the hotel is indeed located in the central of Amsterdam. Within walking distance of the well-known sightseeing’s and attractions. As Rembrand square, Leidse square, Kalvertoren, Rembrandt house, Hermitage.. The Reception can inform you about all the sightseeing’s and attractions in Amsterdam, and provide you of a city map, tour information and entrée tickets.
If you prefer not to walk (10-15 minutes) you can always consider to make use of the public transport.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We wanted a hotel with character and this was perfect. We were on the top floor facing the canal with a fantastic view. Yes, the stairs are steep but that was part of being in this lovely old building! Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped and the bed was great.

They don't do breakfast but we followed their recommendation and went to a friendly cafe just down the road which does a very tasty breakfast at a discount for the hotel's guests.

We loved the liveliness of the canal outside - a Polish film crew were filming on houseboats while we were there - but bear in mind this slightly leaning hotel and its equally crooked neighbours are on the boat tour itinerary so if you want 24 hr peace and quiet this may not be right for you. However, after dark things are quiet and we slept well with the windows open

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, we thank you for sharing your experience in hotel Amstelzicht on tripadvisor with other travelers.

It is of great pleasure to read that hotel Amstelzicht met to your expectations. The hotel has indeed a character, being a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history! The suite room with canal view that you mention has the additional facilities; Nespresso Machine, Bathropes, TRX Suspension Trainer (on request), plus all the standard amenities as a Minibar, I Phone Docking System, two telephones, multi-level working area, fauteuil, coffee and tea facilities, flat TV, free WIFI and a private bathroom. And a romantic atmosphere with a breath taking 180 degree view of the Amsterdam canals and scenery.

A full breakfast special is offered for our guests at Brug 34, located 75 meters from the hotel in the ‘Utrechtsestraat’

Did you know that hotel Amstelzicht is located in one of the so-called "three dancing houses" That is the reason that tourists on a canal cruise usually take pictures and admire the building. Of course they cannot look inside the rooms. We are pleased that even though the crowds in the city you’ve had a good night sleep with the windows open.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at his warm hotel a weekend with my partner. The location is just amazing, right in the heart of buzzing Amsterdam. The rooms are well decorated and well-kept. Nice service is the valet-parking, so you can get your car get parked out of the trafficed center and retake it when you're leaving. We had a wonderful time at this cosy place. Just one remark: we were quite unlucky to encounter both at check-in and at check-out staffmembers that were not well-trained. Getting us in and out our pre-booked and -paid room was half-an-hour of hassle, which should not be the case. So a tip for the management: spend more time on training the staff and do not put younf unexperienced staff there on the spot, as the first and last impressions of your great place get disturbed by hese bad experiences.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

The location of Hotel Amstelzicht is indeed right in the heart of Amsterdam. Among others near the Rembrandt square, Flower Market, Konings square and Kalver street. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, decoration and maintenance. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive to provide our guests with the best choice of parking we recommend the Hotel parking. Hotel parking is a valet parking for hotel guests and business drivers for a long time. Their car parking is in the center of Amsterdam. They pick up your car at the hotel, park it in its own secure grounds and bring him back at the appointed time. We are sorry for the experience you have had regarding the reception staff, we take your complaint serious and we will pay attention to this for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location. Great layout of the rooms. We had a quadrupel room, for two kids and two adults. The kids hade their own room with bunk beds and we had a separate bedroom. Although it looked more like an apartment than a hotel room, I was surprised that they came and cleaned every day.

Now to the not so great. The shower doors were broken. When I complained, they came with a temporary solution, which I was OK with. When I opened the fridge to the minibar, the freezer door came falling out. I just seemed like the place was falling apart every here and there.

But it was a good deal and we were happy. No breakfast included.

I should say that the hotel has four seperate buildings and maybe the other rooms were different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Amstelzicht a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history consists of the main building and two annex buildings. The Quad room is located in the annex building, the quad rooms are 40 m2 and are offering one bedroom with two single beds and one bedroom with 2 beds in an alcove, this rooms are perfect for those who want to stay at a great location for an affordable price, the rooms are decorated simple but nice. Room amenities are Minibar, I Phone Docking System, telephone, fauteuil, coffee and tea facilities, flat TV and Free WIFI and a private bathroom. The rooms is held clean daily by the housekeepers.

Breakfast is not included because we do not serve breakfast in the hotel. We do serve a small Breakfast on request, this consist out of coffee or tea, juice and a roll or croissant. For a full Breakfast we can recommend you some restaurants around the Hotel. A full breakfast special at restaurant Brug34, located 75 meters from the hotel for 9.50 euro.

I would like to apologize to for any inconvenience that you have had regarding the shower doors and fridge. This should not be the case but we’re happy you agreed with the temporary solution until the components have been replaced. These small accidents can occur, but it is certain that the room is not falling apart.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, who had stayed her previously and were happy to return. It is more of a traditional Amsterdam hotel, in a tall house, so steep stairs up and down. We were on the 2nd floor so 2 flights to negotiate, a bit of care required when carrying bags or after a drink. Room was smallish but very comfy and had everything we needed. Location is very good, close to the centre and within easy walking distance of most of the sights. Not far from a tram stop either.
I would be very happy to return and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Liz, Thank you for staying with us for the second time, this means a lot to me as well to my staff, we are always very happy to welcome returning guest, and thank them for their loyalty and support,
I hope you will return many more times to Amstelzicht, please contact me next time by email so I can personally make sure you get the best rate as well the best room, Robert@rrhospitality.com

Warm regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 4 recently stayed here in the canal-view apartment for 2 nights. This room is not actually in the hotel but just to the side of the hotel entrance with it's own door on the street & then up 1 flight of super-steep stairs (as advertised).
The room itself was Quite large with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area, living area & 2 bunk beds between the kitchen & living area. The room was clean but it had a bit of a smell to it (musty?) & the windows are not double-glazed so you could hear all street noises, including people talking outside.
The room had earplugs available ... because there is a Nightclub directly below the room! Not sure what time the music started but I can say it didn't stop until 3am and unfortunately, ear plugs do not block out the bass!

There is no dining facility here in the hotel but they do have a special at a nearby restaurant - we did not try it though. There is free WiFi available with their password which is nice.
Location is good - many restaurants nearby - and the flower market is very close. Everything is really within walking distance - or you can bike around. Canal cruises are also nearby.

This particular room would be good to stay in if you intend to also be out when the clubs are open. Otherwise, maybe look into a different room. We did enjoy the view and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Only stay in this room if you are out when clubs are open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding the Apartment, indeed the apartments are large, 70M2 , a large living room with open kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and some also have a roof terrace. Of course all fully furnished and are self-catering. Unfortunally double glass is not allowed due to City Government Regulations, otherwise we would have placed double glass a long time ago, however we also like to support the monumental feeling of the City Centre Canal Area to preserve it to his history, remember the building has been built in 1659, 354 years old.
Indeed the bar below can be sometimes loud, however we try very hard to communicate with our neighbours so they take their responsibility in making no more noise than officially allowed, unfortunally on hot summer days clients of the bar like to stand outside and consume there drinks on the street, which can cost some extra noise. Unfortunally as in every city a good central location mostly comes with some more city noises.
Wi-Fi is on a secured line and always free for all our guest.
Thank you, best regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.