We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at his warm hotel a weekend with my partner. The location is just amazing, right in the heart of buzzing Amsterdam. The rooms are well decorated and well-kept. Nice service is the valet-parking, so you can get your car get parked out of the trafficed center and retake it when you're leaving. We had a wonderful time at this cosy place. Just one remark: we were quite unlucky to encounter both at check-in and at check-out staffmembers that were not well-trained. Getting us in and out our pre-booked and -paid room was half-an-hour of hassle, which should not be the case. So a tip for the management: spend more time on training the staff and do not put younf unexperienced staff there on the spot, as the first and last impressions of your great place get disturbed by hese bad experiences.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

The location of Hotel Amstelzicht is indeed right in the heart of Amsterdam. Among others near the Rembrandt square, Flower Market, Konings square and Kalver street. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the room, decoration and maintenance. Parking in Amsterdam is very expensive to provide our guests with the best choice of parking we recommend the Hotel parking. Hotel parking is a valet parking for hotel guests and business drivers for a long time. Their car parking is in the center of Amsterdam. They pick up your car at the hotel, park it in its own secure grounds and bring him back at the appointed time. We are sorry for the experience you have had regarding the reception staff, we take your complaint serious and we will pay attention to this for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
27
38
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location. Great layout of the rooms. We had a quadrupel room, for two kids and two adults. The kids hade their own room with bunk beds and we had a separate bedroom. Although it looked more like an apartment than a hotel room, I was surprised that they came and cleaned every day.

Now to the not so great. The shower doors were broken. When I complained, they came with a temporary solution, which I was OK with. When I opened the fridge to the minibar, the freezer door came falling out. I just seemed like the place was falling apart every here and there.

But it was a good deal and we were happy. No breakfast included.

I should say that the hotel has four seperate buildings and maybe the other rooms were different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

Hotel Amstelzicht a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history consists of the main building and two annex buildings. The Quad room is located in the annex building, the quad rooms are 40 m2 and are offering one bedroom with two single beds and one bedroom with 2 beds in an alcove, this rooms are perfect for those who want to stay at a great location for an affordable price, the rooms are decorated simple but nice. Room amenities are Minibar, I Phone Docking System, telephone, fauteuil, coffee and tea facilities, flat TV and Free WIFI and a private bathroom. The rooms is held clean daily by the housekeepers.

Breakfast is not included because we do not serve breakfast in the hotel. We do serve a small Breakfast on request, this consist out of coffee or tea, juice and a roll or croissant. For a full Breakfast we can recommend you some restaurants around the Hotel. A full breakfast special at restaurant Brug34, located 75 meters from the hotel for 9.50 euro.

I would like to apologize to for any inconvenience that you have had regarding the shower doors and fridge. This should not be the case but we’re happy you agreed with the temporary solution until the components have been replaced. These small accidents can occur, but it is certain that the room is not falling apart.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near feature. To still enjoy a bit of hotel Amstelzicht, like us on Facebook for daily posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, who had stayed her previously and were happy to return. It is more of a traditional Amsterdam hotel, in a tall house, so steep stairs up and down. We were on the 2nd floor so 2 flights to negotiate, a bit of care required when carrying bags or after a drink. Room was smallish but very comfy and had everything we needed. Location is very good, close to the centre and within easy walking distance of most of the sights. Not far from a tram stop either.
I would be very happy to return and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, General Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Liz, Thank you for staying with us for the second time, this means a lot to me as well to my staff, we are always very happy to welcome returning guest, and thank them for their loyalty and support,
I hope you will return many more times to Amstelzicht, please contact me next time by email so I can personally make sure you get the best rate as well the best room, Robert@rrhospitality.com

Warm regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 4 recently stayed here in the canal-view apartment for 2 nights. This room is not actually in the hotel but just to the side of the hotel entrance with it's own door on the street & then up 1 flight of super-steep stairs (as advertised).
The room itself was Quite large with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen area, living area & 2 bunk beds between the kitchen & living area. The room was clean but it had a bit of a smell to it (musty?) & the windows are not double-glazed so you could hear all street noises, including people talking outside.
The room had earplugs available ... because there is a Nightclub directly below the room! Not sure what time the music started but I can say it didn't stop until 3am and unfortunately, ear plugs do not block out the bass!

There is no dining facility here in the hotel but they do have a special at a nearby restaurant - we did not try it though. There is free WiFi available with their password which is nice.
Location is good - many restaurants nearby - and the flower market is very close. Everything is really within walking distance - or you can bike around. Canal cruises are also nearby.

This particular room would be good to stay in if you intend to also be out when the clubs are open. Otherwise, maybe look into a different room. We did enjoy the view and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Only stay in this room if you are out when clubs are open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding the Apartment, indeed the apartments are large, 70M2 , a large living room with open kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and some also have a roof terrace. Of course all fully furnished and are self-catering. Unfortunally double glass is not allowed due to City Government Regulations, otherwise we would have placed double glass a long time ago, however we also like to support the monumental feeling of the City Centre Canal Area to preserve it to his history, remember the building has been built in 1659, 354 years old.
Indeed the bar below can be sometimes loud, however we try very hard to communicate with our neighbours so they take their responsibility in making no more noise than officially allowed, unfortunally on hot summer days clients of the bar like to stand outside and consume there drinks on the street, which can cost some extra noise. Unfortunally as in every city a good central location mostly comes with some more city noises.
Wi-Fi is on a secured line and always free for all our guest.
Thank you, best regards, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's funny that almost every review of hotels in Amsterdam starts with "the stairs are narrow." Take a tour of the city via canal, bike, bus, etc and you'll find out why the houses are so skinny. If you don't like it then pay > $300/night for a modern hotel.

Initially we booked only one night last week because we wanted to check out the hotel first. I ended up staying 4 nights although in three different rooms. Moving rooms was a pain although the staff lugged our heavy bags downstairs to the locker room and back up for us. On the final move all of our luggage was already in our room when we returned to the hotel.

We found the staff very helpful and had interactions with the morning and night crew. They were there before 8 am and late enough into the evening, like 22 hrs.

If you book a canal view in the front be careful because it can get loud. The hotel is located conveniently around the corner from Rembrandtplein but not directly on the square. However, all it takes is a few loud drunks yelling @ 2 am. Then in the morning the seagulls squawk and there is traffic on Amstel Street. There is a double set of windows which blocks out most of the sound but then the room might get stuffy.

My only complaint that is within the hotels control is the door locks. When you shut the doors you have to insert the key in order to get the lock to retract so you can gently shut the door. Just turning the handle doesn't work. The other method is to slam the door, very hard. After 8 am on the upper floor is sounded like mini bombs were going off. Of course if you're an early riser this shouldn't bother you.

Room Tip: If you're in a group get the two bedroom apt in the bldg next door, it sleeps four. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you so much for your review here on tripadvisor. We are very happy that after your reservation for 1 night you stayed another 3 extra nights. Amstelzicht is most of the time fully booked, which sometimes makes it necessary to move rooms if you are extending your stay. In your case every night, which gives you a good opportunity to make a trustful review, as you have seen 4 types of rooms, you are recommending the quad rooms in the alley, this rooms are indeed specious and for 4 persons and located in the annex building in a small alleyway.
Our staff is instructed to move guest luggage when moving a room, so when you come back tired from sightseeing you can rest comfortable in your new room with all luggage’s inside.
I have investigated your comments regarding the lock system and we have changed some locks around , which seems that they were connected he wrong way which made them impossible to close quietly. You were the first person making this comment so I’m happy about this and we could have resolved it now, ones again thank you, and hope to see you again. ( please make a reservation in advance for your whole stay, on our own website by using the promotioncode: ams104)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we arrived, we were told we selected the basement room, which we had not, with the window to the street at the foot of the stairs going to the hotel entrance and things went down hill from there. No AC was a big mistake on our part because we couldn't open the window to get a breeze without the bar, truck, yelling noises. The stairs to the basement are really bad because they are steep, without having drinks at dinner. The hotel staff is not there early in the morning or later in the evening and has little guidance on places to eat. The crowning blow was the sewage malfunction on our last night at 11:00Pm . After 90 minutes of plunging and banging, no correction was possible. The floor was flooded with sewage for a while until it was mopped up. We could not stay there as we were told the hotel was full. The manager tried to blame us for the problem by pointing out the sign on the wall about not putting foreign stuff in the toilet. Actually, the sewage lift pump failed and they didm;t have a replacement. They did put us in a close hotel for the next 5 hours when we happily left Amsterdam on out flight out. DO NOT STAY HERE under any circumstances.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a good room in the house and many rooms are in a adjacent building with bad interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Family Miller, I would like to take this opportunity to reply to your review, as our version of this inconvenience is a bit different. You write: “When we arrived, we were told we selected the basement room, which we had not, with the window to the street at the foot of the stairs going to the hotel entrance and things went down hill from there”.
This is a copy of your reservation, made on an external booking site for a Souterain Suite ( Souterain is always downstairs) , which makes clear you received the room you reserved:
Inchecken 30-06-2013
Uitchecken 04-07-2013
Kamertype Suite met 1 Slaapkamer - Souterrain
Aantal personen 2
Aantal nachten 4
Status ok
Which means you should have known that the room is downstairs, and I want to point out its a beautiful room, as you can see many positive reviews written earlier by happy guest in this fabulous suite. The suite is almost 50M2, has a separate bedroom, large bathroom and living room, as well amenities like docking system, Two TV’s and a Nespresso Coffee maker.
The stairs are indeed steep, WHICH IS ON EVERY WEBSITE WRITTEN IN CAPITAL LETTERS, but all our guest are getting quickly used to this and even after many drinks there never fell a guest down the stairs, most guest tell us they seems to get easier after a few drinks…..
Our staff is known for the high standard off service, this is one point we always score very high in reviews, and the reception is open from 8 AM till 10 PM, during this hours they always are there to give any advice you may need. ( After this hours guest can always call the reception for assistants)
Than the real problem, the “crowning blow” as you describe it was the sewage malfunction of the toilet, you almost describe it as we wanted this to happen to you! As the Souterain Suite is in the Souterain all the water need to be pumped up to the level of the main floor drains, all toilets, showers and taps in the Souterain ( and all over Amsterdam) are working on engines which pump up the water, ( clearly nothing else than what comes out of a human should be dropped in the toilets etc). I didn’t say that you had dropped anything in, I explained to you that probably a guest dropped something in what should not be in there) and during your last evening this pump broke and couldn’t be fixed (next day has been changed for a new one) Me the Manager came from home within 45 minutes to check on the situation and directly offered you to stay the night for free and take shower in your children’s room ( You had two rooms in the hotel during your stay) ( remember your taxi was ordered for 6 AM, within 6 hours from the problem) or to book you another room in our neighbour NH Hotel, 4 star and a Junior Suite, for a price way higher than you paid with us. You chose to move to the other hotel and we paid everything for you.
I of course do understand you wanted to write this situation in a review, however I want to make clear that this situation was also a big inconvenience for the hotel, and if this situation could have been avoided we would defiantly have done that, unfortunally some situations happens always on the wrong moments, and all we can do is to resolve it on the best possible way, and that’s what we did.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Amstelzicht in June for 3 nights. I was there with two friend and we booked a triple room.

The location was great, it is very close to a tram stop and there are lots of cafes and restaurants close by.

The hotel is what you would expect for a 4* hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds were very comfy! The staff were friendly and helpful.

Some of the other review complain about the noise, our room was on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel, we did not find the noise level an issue.

I thought this hotel was good value for money and would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Ruth,

Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor, We are happy you and your friends had a great stay with us. Telling us that you had no problems with any noice, is a nice comment you made, as most of our rooms are reasonable quite, however guest seems to point out the rooms wich sometimes can get a bit noisy due to the central location.

We hope to welcome you back soon, best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.