We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear Plugs Required!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ear Plugs Required!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked this place because of the central location and the cheap price. The hotel was full and we were offered a room in the annex. I stress I am writing about the annex here. The hotel was fine and the staff helpful. We were then led down the road and entered through a small door between two buildings and up a small alley. The first room was on the ground floor and was acceptable enough. However later on during the evening the nightclub behind started up and the whole place shook until 4.00am. The heavy thump of the bass rattled the crockery in the kitchen. In the morning we asked to be moved and we put up on the top floor supposedly above the noise. Not true we had another night of heavy bass thumping. Access to the top floor was up a very narrow and steep staircase that would not be suitable for older or infirm people.

This would be suitable for youngesters on a low budget that will be spending their evenings in the club behind and therefore the noise would not affect them. The rooms were clean and the beds sort of comfortable. We will not be returning but as I said it would suit the younger traveller as it really is close to the action, too close!



I would repeat this is a review of the annex rooms.

Room Tip: Don't book the annex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the hotel and the staff. Your comments are important for us and will be kept in mind for improving the service and quality in our hotel.

I want to apologize for the inconvenience you have had during your stay due the noise of the nightclub. As I read the reception did its utmost to give you a nice stay by moving you to a room on the top floor. Unfortunately we cannot do much about the noise caused by buildings next to us, this has a lot to do with the life in the city. Therefore we offer earplugs in the rooms for guests who are sensitive to noise. The annex building that you mention is indeed for the Quad rooms and Apartments. In a 10 second walk between the main entrance of the hotel there are a entrance for the Quad rooms and a entrance for the apartments. The spacious quad and apartment rooms suitable for 4 persons are ideal for guests traveling in large groups/ families. For guests that prefer a standard room or suites we recommend the rooms in the main building. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room and was able to enjoy Amsterdam, besides the inconvenience you have experienced with the noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
35
44
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is ok, but not more. Its more like a good hostel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is no parking at the hotel, but a parking service, which will take care about your car for 30 Euros/day (parking on the street is about 5 Euro/hour).
The rooms are clean and nice. But it is a little noisy during night (the room provides earplugs).

The location is excellent!

All in all the hotel is ok for a city trip, if you stay for one or two nights in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
We’re sorry that you experienced the hotel as a hostel, which is not the case. Hotel Amstelzicht is a beautiful 4- star hotel located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. Your beautiful words regarding the staff will be shared with the whole team.
We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights, from the 25th - 28th May this year. When we arrived we were a little surprised at how dim the lighting was in the hotel but as it is a traditional canal-side town house you have to expect that as there are very few windows (being terraced). However they seemed to work with this 'mood' and lit the place quite romantically. Check in was very straight forward and we were asked if we needed anything like a taxi/directions etc which was friendly. We went upstairs to the first floor, the stairs are very narrow but not particularly steep - I mention this because although it states it on the hotel website, this really was not a struggle even with suitcases. In fact, I dared my boyfriend to jump/hop up the stairs and he was able to do it very easily at 6'3" lol.
The room itself was gigantic, it felt like a huge space. The only niggle we had was that we were given two single beds pushed together and two single duvets, rather than a double/king duvet to share. No big deal though and we both slept very well the whole time we were there.
The bathroom was also a good size and had a nice power shower, it was very prettily presented with the rolled up towels under the sink on a spa like bench.
The water was drinkable and we used this for the tea and coffee making facilities. That was one thing that I think needed changing - powdered milk, ew. We popped out and bought a little carton of milk and more tea bags because we seemed to run out of them so quickly. They also give you teeny, tiny espresso mugs/cups which is no where near big enough for a cup of tea! We ended up taking it in turns to have two cups each, wash them out and then the other person could do the same lol.
The funniest thing about this hotel/our room specifically, was that it is pointed out as one of the five dancing houses along this strip of canal (I think that's what it's called anyway, not sure of the history behind it) but it meant that loads of tourists came by on foot or on a boat and took pictures of it. This isn't an issue as there's netted curtains over the windows but we wound them up by posing in the windows and making people feel awkward about taking the photos haha.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to stay again, it is right behind one of the main squares so transport is good or you can meander up the canal for even more transportation links. Loved it!

Room Tip: Room 203 has lovely views of the canal (but you do have the "Hotel" sign outside your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
What a beautiful title ‘Perfect location, lovely rooms and friendly staff! Winner!’

I will certainly share your review with the entire team. It is of great joy for us that you enjoyed your stay and what a wonderful description. It has made my day by reading that it was not a struggle to go on and off the stairs, and that your boyfriend could even jump/hop up the stairs and he was able to do it very easily. What a pity that you did not informed the reception about the bed. On request we can always make up de 2 separate beds as a double. We appreciate that you have informed us about the coffee / tea cups. We take this serious and will keep this in mind for changes in the future.
We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed several days in this small hotel, beautifully situated along the Amstel. I was lucky to have a room with a nice view on this river and surroundings. The room was spacious and clean, the bed, television and everything else was modern and worked well. The bath room was adequate and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful but forgot to clean my room on one occasion. I missed the possibility to regulate the temperature. Of course I was aware that no breakfast was served but this really is no problem as the hotel is very close to the well-known Rembrandtplein and streets with numerous restaurants, shops and terraces, offering anything and more you could wish for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The hotel, an old canal house converted into an hotel, is perfectly located for visiting Amsterdam. From the Amsterdam Central Railway Station it takes about 12 minutes to get to the Rembrandtplein by tram, from there it is a maximal two minutes walk to the hotel.
The cost-quality balance of this hotel is favorable and I would certainly not hesitate to book this hotel again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to read that the room satisfied to your expectations. In the hotel we serve a small breakfast on request. This consist out of coffee or tea, juice and a roll or croissant. For a full Breakfast we can recommend Restaurant Brug34, located 75 meters from the Hotel offers a special "Amstelzicht" Full Breakfast for 9.50 euro. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced regarding the cleaning of your room.
We are happy that you considered it the right decision to choose our monumental hotel for your visit amongst the wide choice available in Amsterdam. And that the hotel contributed to a pleasant stay in our country. We will be happy to welcome you once again in Hotel Amstelzicht.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Amsterdam at Hotel Amstelzicht. It is tough to find a resonably priced hotel in Amsterdam, but this was great. The location was perfect. It is close enough to the center of town, but far enough away from the noise. There is also a metro stop right behind the hotel. The room was small, but the bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny though. They don't have breakfast, but they partner with a restaurant for the guests. It seemed a bit of a rip off, so we didn't have it, but there are so many good places for breakfast in Amsterdam. All the reviews say the steps are very steep and it really is true. It is a canal house, so thats just how it is. Restaurant Szmulewicz is a 1 minute walk right behind the hotel. They have great food, great prices and great dessert.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

Indeed we do not serve breakfast in a breakfast room. But have the possibility of a small Breakfast on request, this consist out of coffee or tea, juice and a roll or croissant. For a full Breakfast we can recommend you some restaurants around the Hotel. Restaurant Brug34, located 75 meters from the Hotel offers a special "Amstelzicht" Full Breakfast for 9.50 euro.
We are happy that you enjoyed the great food/ desserts from Restaurant Szmulewicz.
We hope to welcome you once again in Hotel Amstelzicht. And recommend to book a Suite room, which has more space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a one day layover in Amsterdam between 2 lengthy international flights and discovered that it is actually pretty difficult to find reasonably priced accommodation for a family of two adults plus two young children in Amsterdam. Most Amsterdam hotels appear to allow for only one child to stay free, and force you to book a second room if you wish to accommodate two children. The Amstelzicht was the exception, with a "quad occupancy" room or suite offer at pretty much the same price as a regular room. We booked online with the direct hotel site which provides a small discount on the bookings.com pricing. The only catch is that the quad room check-in is at 5 pm, though our pleas for an earlier check-in (kids exhausted after a 12 hour flight) were answered by giving us access at 3 pm. The quad room had two singles pushed together in the bedroom and a double bunk in the separate kitchen / living area. This enabled us to get our kids to bed in the bedroom and then enjoy dinner in the separate living area - something we would not have been able to do in a regular hotel room. The room was clean enough and the bathroom was small but practical (note no tub, only a shower). The location is super simple to find from Schipol airport - take the train to Centraal Station and then 4 stops on the no.9 tram. The kids loved the adventure of finding the tram (right outside the station, but we made finding it part of the fun). It took a half hour all up to get there. The front desk was helpful though we received some very wayward directions to a local pancake joint, saved by the ever friendly locals on the street who are incredibly patient with what must be an endless stream of tourists. The location just off Rembrandtplein is perfect for exploring for a few hours and getting a small taste of the city, especially the beautiful views of the Amstel canal area. Lots of reasonable food options close by. Be warned that Amstelzicht is next to a bar / club and our room had dull doof doof music reverb coming through the walls for a few hours. Our kids slept through it without difficulty - we were exhausted and vaguely noticed it but did not really stop a good night's sleep, and seemed to taper off around midnight anyway. There are earplugs supplied though most parents would want to keep their ears open at night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It is pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Amstelzicht. What a beautiful way to describe the Quad room. The quadruple rooms are to be precise 40 m2 and offer a bedroom with two single beds and a bedroom with bunk beds. As you wrote this enabled you to get your kids to bed in the bedroom and then enjoy dinner in the separate living area. These rooms are perfect for those who like to stay at a top location for a good price, the rooms are simply but nicely furnished. Amenities include minibars, I phone docking system, telephone, desk, chair, coffee / tea making facilities, flat screen television, free WIFI and a private bathroom. All non-smoking quadruple rooms are accessible by stairs authentic Amsterdam. Check in is indeed at 5 pm but reception does its utmost to check in as soon as possible. as I read this was also the case with you. As mentioned the location just off Rembrandtplein is perfect for exploring for a few hours and getting a small taste of the city, especially the beautiful views of the Amstel canal area. Did you know that we have Apartment rooms with canal view? As you enjoyed the view of the Amstel imagine an apartment room with this beautiful view. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The first morning, pulling back the curtains, the view of the canal took by breath away.

The previous night we (drunkenly) managed to negotiate the steep stairs to our room - the staircase is a feature for sure, but not for those that are wobbly on their pins.

The next day was my birthday - the reception staff knocked on our door and gave me a birthday gift. I guess they noticed my DOB in my passport. I have stayed in many hotels around the world on my birthday, and this was a first. I was so touched by their kindness.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,
It is of great joy to read such a great review of Hotel Amstelzicht. It is wonderful how you describe that pulling back the curtains took your breath away. Did you know that Hotel Amstelzicht is located in a is monumental building from 1659. This is why the stairs are so steep! Guests describe this as a beautiful character of the hotel and often pictures has been taken of the beautiful stairs. We do have rooms on the ground floor, for guest who have difficulty walking stairs. I will share your comment to the whole team, it's nice to hear that you were touched by our kindness. Your birthday is an important day which should not be forgotten. Do stay in touch with us on www.facebook.com/HotelAmstelzicht and www.hotelamstelzicht.com and hopefully until your next birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, 1017 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.