We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amstelzicht

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amstelzicht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amstelzicht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good value for Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Clean, neat and great location. Friendly staff with no complaints about service. Room quite small and cramped, but have paid much more for something only marginally bigger - so for a central Amsterdam location close to all the attractions Hotel Amstelzicht represents good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Amstelzicht. All our rooms have different sizes due to being an historical building, please contact us by email next time when you make a reservation and we make sure you will have a large room with a lot of space. The Canalview Suites are also larger than the standrad rooms. Thank you again and hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
43
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sunday 21 October 2012,
The Hotel Amstelzicht, Amsterdam, centeral area in the old town, opposite one of the main canals, nice reception, but then things turn south. Our room is not ready, it is 3pm. Despite our booking form stating that check in is from 2pm, the receptionist explains that 2pm is for the hotel rooms, not the apartments, which are adjacent to, but outside the hotel. We are made to wait to exactly 5pm. Not a great start. It gets worse.

The apartment was advertised as a 2 bedroom, is not. Up 2 flights of steep stairs to our apartment door - ok - we were expecting that. But to open our door to find another set of steep spiral stairs to the living room / slash kitchen - that also contains the toilet - with no hand wash basin (the tap was missing), the living room also contains 2 children's bunk beds. There is a small balcony with a table and chairs to the rear, with an ugly view of the back of other buildings, and a slippery, moss covered block rubber tiled floor. The view out the front windows to the canal is very nice.

The "bedroom" is up another steep set of stairs to a loft, 2 single beds named together , but made up as separate single beds, that are jammed into a small space. There is no room to walk on either side of the beds, you have to climb in from the base, and avoid hitting your head on the roof, as it slopes in over the top to a sharp apex. Even in late October it is hot and stuffy up here. The bathroom is also in the loft, shower over bath, no screen, so you have to shower sitting down to avoid water splashing all over the room. At least it is clean. Can't really say that for the apartment, it is a "dirty" clean, just a casual wipe over, the table, bench top and floors are grotto. We find that:
- you can't wash your hands directly after using the toilet, you have to go up to the loft
- the handrail on the stairs to the loft is broken
- there is a stain on the floor
- the rug has an upturned corner and is a trip hazard
- the lighting is very poor, switches in inconvenient positions
- there is no toilet in the upstairs bathroom, there is a space where one once may have been, given the plumbing pipes left in situ, with an opening covered by sticky tape
- you can not use the oven
I can't recall staying in worse accommodation. It is extremely expensive for what it is, paying over $A1150.00 for three nights is a total rip off. This is not as described on the website.It is one room with a loft, that has a dysfunctional floor plan, has been very poorly maintained, with various things broken, not working or missing, is dirty, stuffy and uncomfortable.

And just for good measure, the ground floor space of the building has a bar, hours of operation from 21.00 to 04.00. Great. But they did provide ear- plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

After reading your review regarding the Canal View Apartment, we would like to write our feedback on your comments:

Let me start with a copy of your confirmation by easytobook.com, as this explains that what you are writting is not accurate:

Easytobook.com
This Apartment + Canal View is spacious and refurbished, and includes one bedroom and a cupboard bed with 2 matresses, a dining table, a living room with a sofa and coffee table.

You will receive your own set of keys so you have your own place in the city of Amsterdam. The apartments are 'self catering'. There is no service during your stay, linen and towels are replaced on request. At check-out certain things need to be done (some basic cleaning).

The apartments are located next to the hotel in an annex building (not in the main hotel building). Check-in is possible from 17:00.

1- very clear written there is one bedroom and one cupboard with two beds
2- check in time is from 17.00 oclock ( why? Housekeeping need the time to clean the 100m2 apartments, and guest can check out untill 12 noon. In this case they have 5 hours to prepare the apartments for new arrivals, if the apartments are ready before, check in earlier is not a problem)
3- the apartment are located next to the hotel.
4- all our beds are singles, we dont advertise with double beds.

Continuing, the stairs are steep, everybody who read about our hotel is aware of that, we never confirm on which floor the rooms or apartments are, so going up to he 3th floor should not be a surprice. We do take special request very serious, by making a reservation guest can request a lower floor. Having a nice balcony on the back, is a extra feature of this apartment, and not mentioned anywhere on the internetsites, complaining about the view from this balcony towards other building, on which we have no control off there design, We know that most guest enjoyes the balcony .
Indeed the view from the front is very nice, specialy because you where on the top floor... honestly is one of the best views over a canal in amsterdam!
The bedroom is at the very top of the 2 floors apartment, which make this apartment an extra special by sleeping under the 17th century wooden beams, im sorry to read you could appreciate this.
The handrail, lighting, stain, rug and the oven we have inspected today, and the only thing we could find was that the oven was not working, which was quickly resolved by plugging in the electricity! The other points we coudnt find the problems. Regarding the rate you payed, what you mention are Austrailian Dollars, not euros. For a 4 persons apartment we charge a very reasonable price, on an excellent location. Knowing the centre locations there are bars, restaurant all around the hotel, this can cost some disturbence to guest who are not used to city noices, but also makes it easy acces to anything you would like to do in Amsterdam.
Last I would like to mention that during your stay you have had contact with the hotelreception and we never got the imprecion that you were totally not satisfied with the accomodation,we are 100 % dedicate to make sure that all our guest will have a positive experience with us and in Amsterdam and we do take very seriously all our guest concerns and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position for exploring Amsterdam. It is very near the tram stop and is also withing easy walking distance of many of the main sites. The staff are really friendly and helpful and we found the room to be really clean. The room was a little cramped if you wanted to sit in the chairs provided.

We had no problems with noise, even though we stayed from Sunday through to Wednesday. The stairs are very steep with very narrow treads and anyone with anything less than 100% mobility might struggle, but this is pointed out on the website.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I should say that I have only written positive feedback on tripadvisor up until now but feel compelled to speak about a recent experience at this hotel. I am not a 'nit picker' !

I stayed here for three nights 19-21 October with some friends. The marketing photos clearly refer to the main hotel. We were placed in an annexe due to being a larger group. The rooms were dark with a phenomenal view of the wall on one side of the alleyway which led to the door of the apartment.

The bathroom was set up such that the shower went onto the bathroom floor which meant having to walk in someone's leftover shower effluent when using the loo.there was not as claimed a minibar ,rather an empty fridge. The provision of earplugs was ominous but unfortunately necessary as the building is very close to a booming noise ? A night club or generator of some sort.

The hotel is in a good location. Ten minutes from dam square. The staff are helpful but when we fed back our concerns ,were clearly well used to dealing with the kind if facts we were providing.

Overall based on other reviews it appears this is a hotel of two halves. The Annexe is the lesser by a long way.

What was most galling was that people walking in off the street got a 50 euro rate ( this was offered in our earshot) and we had paid nearly 80 when we booked months ago. On querying this we were told that rates vary on a daily basis.Idon't see however,how booking months in advance should disadvantage the organised.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying at Hotel Amstelzicht, you made a reservation for two Quad rooms on booking.com, in total you were with 8 persons, all or Quadrooms are located in the annex building as clearly written on our, and all other websites This is one of the oldest closed alley ways in Amsterdam just across the smallest shelter church in Holland , for roman catholic people, build in 1751 ,this is why the alley is remote and closed, all this makes it for history lovers a very interested experience to stay. Different than anywhere else in the world.
The quad rooms are decorated exclusively to accommodate larger groups or families, who like to stay together but without the need of paying a high amount per person, the rooms in the Hotel are averages 150,- euro per night for 2 persons, while the quad rooms are around 200,- euro per night, only 50 euro per person, 10 euro more than a bunk bed in a hostel. Still guest will enjoy all services and comfort that you may expect from a 3 star hotel. The quad rooms are made out of two bedrooms with bathroom in the middle, 1 room with a alcove bed and 1 with a double bed, TV, Minibar, telephone, Coffee & Tea, and of course Free WIFI. The decoration and used colours are slightly different as the other rooms, but if you look at the pictures on all the sides, by clicking on the Quadroom, that should not be a surprise. Decoration is a very personal taste.
The situation regarding the bathroom is a typical Dutch design and indeed we notice many guest don’t appreciated this, and sure we take this comments in consideration and planning to see what we can do about this. We are constantly updating and improving our Hotel and services as much as possible.
As for the noise, double glass windows are also not allowed by the Dutch Monumental Government inspections, this is why for the light sleepers we provide earplugs, as the super location of the Hotel you can have some city noises which some of our guest are not use to.
The Minibar is empty as from experience we noticed that many guest like to store their own food and drinks at the minibar, however drinks are available and as written in the Guestbook the minibar can be fully stocked on request.
The part about that rooms had been sold to walk in for 50 euro, is just not possible, this is just not the price we are selling rooms for.
We wish you had taken the time to speak with the Manager at the time you were staying with us, this would make it easier for us to help you with any questions and explanation regarding your room and stay, and maybe we could have change it in a positive way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found this centrally located hotel very convenient. Our window looked out onto the canal and the lights of the surrounding hotels and canal cruise boats going by were beautiful.

It was clean, roomy for the two of us.

We were a short walk to The Dam, Jordan District and The Hermitage. Lots of restaurants close by.

The staff on the front desk, were very knowledgeable about attractions and if we needed tickets they would certainly have got them for us.


Note;
My husband bought a week transit pass which helped getting to and from his convention.
I bought an IAMSTERDAM pass for three days, which meant I could also use on all public transport, excluding travel by train to airport. Admittance to many museums and discounts when paying for souveniers. (It was not accepted at Ann Frank House).

Janis - Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very basic room not worth the money they charge for it. Staff is helpful but the room facilities are vey poor. TV with just 4 channels, all in dutch (not very useful for foreigners). When checked in, internet was not working. I had to wait more than 2 hours until it worked (and then it was OK). The bathroom is very basic and the shower simply wets all the bathroom since there is nothing to stop the water. At night, there is a disco nearby playing very loud music.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Amstelzicht, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay on our property. Amstelzicht is dedicated to continually improving our customer service and the experience of each and every one of our guests. We are a chic property that is nestled in the city centre location of Amsterdam and conveniently located just steps away from the Rembrandtsquare – the ideal place to enjoy a live musical performance or indulge in a bit of the nightlife for which Amsterdam is famed. We very much value the input of our clientele and through this kind of dialogue believe we can continue to improve our guests experience on our property. We have checked all our TV’s and they all have more than 40 channels, in all languages, WIFI is mostly working very well, and is free of charge. Im really sorry al this errors has happen in your room during your stay, I wish during your stay we had know about it so we maybe could have fixed It directly. Ones again thank you for your comments and should your travels take you back to Amsterdam, I , and all the staff hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amstelzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amstelzicht

Address: Amstel 104, Amsterdam 1017 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amstelzicht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amstelzicht is located on the Amstel Canal, in a monumental house dating back from 1659, with more than 350 years of history, hospitality and adventure have gone into crafting today’s experience. Located in the heart of Amsterdam City Centre offers spacious and comfortable rooms. A home for the sophisticated traveller who knows where to experience affordable Amsterdam Comfort, Service and Hospitality. Hotel Amstelzicht is one of the so-called, "three dancing houses". A famous landmark.The characteristic Amsterdam stairway lead up to the rooms and suites which combine historic elements with modern furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amstelzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstelzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amstelzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.