We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Groenendael

Save Saved
You added Hotel Groenendael to your Saves list
Hotel Groenendael
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Groenendael
Nieuwendijk 15, 1012 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After reading several reviews about this hostel I was a little skeptical about staying here, however we booked it as it was cheap and we figured we'd only be there on a night to sleep. I stayed here with my partner, my brother, his fiance and my niece. Myself and my partner had room number 9 (would definitely recommend it!), it was spacious enough, clean enough, beds were comfy and we had massive bay windows which opened right up overlooking the main strip. We also had an en-suite shower in our room which we wasn't expecting, shower was a bit run down and not very powerful but hey, it served a purpose and saved us walking along the hallway to use the shared showers! Upon arrival my brother and his family were given a room on the top floor, it was a little run down and dingy and with having a 3 year old with them proved a bit difficult to climb the stars as the stars are very steep! They spoke to the owner and immediately he gave them a room on the bottom floor which was very spacious and clean. We forgot to buy shampoo etc and the cleaning lady overheard us talking about it and went downstairs and got us loads of shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, deodorant etc which was very nice of her and saved us a ton of money. Breakfast was the only thing that let this hostel down. Breakfast was a hard boiled egg, rubbery cheese, hard bread and butter and tea/coffee, I had breakfast everyday but only had the coffee as the food wasn't to my taste. After reading lots of reviews about rats/rat poison under the bed we did check under the bed and yes there was a box of rat poison but we had a scout around looking for rat scratches/droppings but found nothing, didn't hear or see a single thing and as the weather was rubbish whilst we were there we actually spent quite a lot of time in the hostel.
The staff were all extremely friendly and very welcoming, always answering any questions we had and making us feel at home. As for the location, well you couldn't get a better location for the price, we were about a 3 minute walk from Central Station and only a 5 minute walk from Dam Square. It did get a bit noisy on a night as our room was above the main strip but we were so knackered at the end of each day that we slept right through it!
Overall I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews about this hostel, in my eyes it was extremely good for the price and I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 9 is perfect, definitely ask for it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hostel has serious cleanliness issues! I moved my bed to find a rat box and poison scattered all over the room. The toilet literally was the worst thing I've ever smelt, we had to hold our nose to even get in our room! The location is good but that is everything good about this hostel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Like many other reviewers, we felt this hostel was wonderfully located which made staying here completely worth it. The staff was very friendly and spoke english, which was helpful. Breakfast was served every day, but we never stuck around for it. You are allowed to keep your luggage in the common room after you check out which is a nice feature. Very basic accommodations (small rooms) but everything you need.

There were, however, some cons to this hostel. It was extremely clean and there were rat traps under our bed. Thankfully, we never saw the rats, but it really creeped me out. The shared bathroom was fairly clean, but there was only one toilet for at least 3-6 rooms so it was pretty busy. Also, upon checking in, you must pay the balance of your reservation in cash, which was problematic as we were short on money. We had to find an ATM right away and pay our balance before checking in.

Overall, if you're looking for an inexpensive option in the heart of Amsterdam and don't mind sharing subpar bathrooms with the rest of your floor, this is a great option for you. This hostel was full of young travelers and was very lively. Definitely not for a romantic trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hotel: The hotel itself is well maintained. It has a few floors, with very steep stairs which is traditional for Amsterdam. It has a nice lounge area, where food is served and has a TV. There is also no curfew so for us coming in late was not a problem.

Rooms: The rooms are clean, a bit outdated but then again what is the point of modern rooms in a old traditional building. The room is a great size, has a sink, wardrobe, mirror, table and chairs. As there was four of us we split into two rooms, one had a view of the street below and a shower in the room which between us we shared. We also all agreed that the beds were extremely comfortable.

Staff: The staff can speak superb english and were very friendly. We paid our remaining balance on arrival in euros. There was always someone on duty during the night and day. The staff were always up and down the stairs with hoovers cleaning the rooms ready for the next people to use them.

Food: English breakfast was served, however we missed ours each day, so unfortunately I cant comment on the quality. We did see the kitchen where it was cooked, which was very clean indeed. As it was open plan the food would have been cooked in front of you.

Area: The area of Centraal Station is near the red light district and many shops including coffee shops, souvenir shops, banks, and food outlets. The B&B was only a five minute walk from the red light district and pubs. It was also only next door to a supermarket which was cosiderably cheaper than the majority of other shops for food. The pubs were cracking with a good atmosphere, yes it is 5 euro for a pint as the cheapest but remember you are in a capital city. There is a great selection of coffee shops to try, allowing you to find your favourite. If you are needing to use a card to withdraw money, there are lots of Rabobank cashpoints. It was only a short walk to Dam Square where you will find Madame Tussauds, the royal palace and lots of top designer shops such as Rolex, Louis Vuitton and many more. Food outlets serve a range of cakes, pastries, kebabs and pizza, although you pay 5 euro for a pizza slice after you have tried it you will probably think its worth it.

Other Tips: Remember your in a capital city, a one where prostitution and cannabis is legal. Avoid buying drugs off the black men that roam the streets they only pick out tourists, so just calmly say 'No, thanks' and walk away. Also hard drugs are illegal and could get you in trouble. If your visiting the red light district, dont act yourself as it will only lead to trouble. On the way to the red light district you will pass a 'Babes and Beer Bar', the atmosphere is amazing and you get service at your table, be aware that they give you a menu without prices and you will be caught out unless you ask before you buy the drinks.

Departing: You must leave your room by 11am but if you go to the reception your luggage can be left and a close eye kept on it.

Overall: A thoroughly enjoyable place to visit, the B&B was large and clean, with friendly staff. If you intend on visiting this B&B remember what you paid and remember for its location and the time you will spend in your room its a bargain.

Room Tip: Room 9 has the shower inside the room and has a veiw of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The only adventage of this hostel in my opinion is its location. Unfortunatelly, there are more cons than pros. First of all, there were mouses in our room - jumping into the table and on the chair where we kept our clothes!!!! As soon as we switched off the light, we could hear them walking in the walls and on the floor!!! Rooms and lobby are neglected and dirty!! Can you imagine eating breakfast in that building?!?! It should be inspected by some sanitary control. We left the next day and got a refund. Walls are awfull, full of dirt. Altough we were accommodated on the top floor, we could hear people on the street. I would not recommend to stay in that place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend. Perhaps rude staff is harsh, there was really only one guy who was rude, but he was VERY rude and he was the one we dealt with the most. Between screaming at us because we had 3 people sitting in a two person room at one point to banging on our door 15 minutes before check out to yell at us because we didn't look ready to check out yet when we were standing in the room with our bags packed... (I could go on but I won't for brevity). I couldn't stand the guy.

On top of that, one of us found a dead mouse under our bed and the showers had mold growing on the ceilings. It is definitely a cheap hostel, and maybe these things are worth the low price to some, but not to me.

They also will only take cash and give no receipt, so when we were thinking about changing hostels the second night, we didn't bother because we knew there was no way they'd give us our money back.

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep, so if that's a problem, try to get a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

We paid for 4 nights cost but they said that you are lying and you paid for 3 nights.They wanted us leave hotel or pay 1 more night cost

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Groenendael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Groenendael

Address: Nieuwendijk 15, 1012 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Groenendael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groenendael Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Groenendael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.