We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical & tolerable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Mallemoolen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel De Mallemoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Practical & tolerable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the Red Light District, about 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station, is a cosy little 1 star hotel and this is the story of that hotel...

I'm not going to list issues, because that would be pointless. What I will say is this, while it did have odd smears of browny red on the wall, and the lights didn't quite work, and it was very noisy, and the ceiling was peeling, and the stairs were steep, and the bathroom wasn't the greatest... it did the job

We had our own bathroom. Not shared. It was fine. I was able to wash in it. We even blocked our own toilet within an inch of overflowing, and the cleaners unblocked it.

The noise level was not the best, BUT you're in one of the most active areas in Amsterdam, it will be noisy. Take earplugs.

The room had more than enough space for 4 of us, and we were hardly ever in it. You could smoke in it, which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Take earplugs. Free Karl. Don't go for longer than 2 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPlasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in hotel de koopermollen which is a sister hotel to this hotel but situated in the same building but higher quality rooms but still the room we stayed in was clean with en suite only down fall was the stairs but in Amsterdam you expect this anyway .
Hotel situated in middle of everything step out the door all coffee shops you need are their 2 min walk to dam square 3 min walk to red light district 3 min walk to central station , everything you need is there which I loved.
Man behind the reception was really nice and pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was really good for a 1 star hotel I will stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A small hotel with basic rooms accessed by steep Amsterdam stair. Recommended for the traveller on a budget as its location is excellent (5 mins from main station) and in the heart of busy area. A good buffet breakfast is provided and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

stayed here in june 2013 and going back in december ..had a good time at this hotel staff friendly breakfast is good lots ti choose ..rooms basic but its all we needed smoking allowed which is a good can come and go as u plz and leave room key at reception so need to worry about keys ...would recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracylvschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed here in the 5 bedroom dorm facing the weormstratt, the room was tidy, bit of a steep climb on the stairs but most old school amsterdam propertys are the same.

for a start the location was great right on a busy party strip full of clubs, bars and and a few of my favourite cofeeshops baba and hillstreet blues.


We had very few issues with this hotel the one issue we did have was the flies in the hallway but I could'nt complain as it was between 25-30 degrees and this is a common thing.

We had no problems what so ever with smoking in our room (weed) in which was allowed.

the breakfast - DOES THE JOB - not the best but gets you your essentials for a busy day ahead, meats toast cereal coffee juice yoghurts etc. Also our flight was later the next day and they allowed us to store our bags in the storage closet.

overall good stay and had a great time

ISSUES -

Quite loud but after being amsterdammed it doesnt really matter

Shared toilet and shower - can be a right pain racing to get to a shower everyday.

How early the breakfast finishes - having to get up before 10am after being severely baked in amsterdam is a bit harsh.

I lost my i-phpone at the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveysteve420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

For backpackers/tourists on a budget - this is a great hotel to stay whilst in AMsterdam.

The hotel is as central as you will probably get in Amsterdam - great location for exploring the whole city whether you are interested in touristy stuff or nightlife. The value is excellent, we stayed for a week with a large group of friends, perfect for late night partying in the city with an easy route home. I would have reservations of taking a wife or girlfriend there though as the rooms are very small and basic - no luxury but clean and well maintained nonetheless.

The receptiion staff were very friendly and helpful also - recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#208 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#170 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#218 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#57 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#247 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Mallemoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mallemoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel De Mallemoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mallemoolen Hotel
De Mallemoolen Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing