We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for price you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Mallemoolen

Hotel De Mallemoolen
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel De Mallemoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Fair for price you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in hotel de koopermollen which is a sister hotel to this hotel but situated in the same building but higher quality rooms but still the room we stayed in was clean with en suite only down fall was the stairs but in Amsterdam you expect this anyway .
Hotel situated in middle of everything step out the door all coffee shops you need are their 2 min walk to dam square 3 min walk to red light district 3 min walk to central station , everything you need is there which I loved.
Man behind the reception was really nice and pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was really good for a 1 star hotel I will stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
8
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A small hotel with basic rooms accessed by steep Amsterdam stair. Recommended for the traveller on a budget as its location is excellent (5 mins from main station) and in the heart of busy area. A good buffet breakfast is provided and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

stayed here in june 2013 and going back in december ..had a good time at this hotel staff friendly breakfast is good lots ti choose ..rooms basic but its all we needed smoking allowed which is a good can come and go as u plz and leave room key at reception so need to worry about keys ...would recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed here in the 5 bedroom dorm facing the weormstratt, the room was tidy, bit of a steep climb on the stairs but most old school amsterdam propertys are the same.

for a start the location was great right on a busy party strip full of clubs, bars and and a few of my favourite cofeeshops baba and hillstreet blues.


We had very few issues with this hotel the one issue we did have was the flies in the hallway but I could'nt complain as it was between 25-30 degrees and this is a common thing.

We had no problems what so ever with smoking in our room (weed) in which was allowed.

the breakfast - DOES THE JOB - not the best but gets you your essentials for a busy day ahead, meats toast cereal coffee juice yoghurts etc. Also our flight was later the next day and they allowed us to store our bags in the storage closet.

overall good stay and had a great time

ISSUES -

Quite loud but after being amsterdammed it doesnt really matter

Shared toilet and shower - can be a right pain racing to get to a shower everyday.

How early the breakfast finishes - having to get up before 10am after being severely baked in amsterdam is a bit harsh.

I lost my i-phpone at the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

For backpackers/tourists on a budget - this is a great hotel to stay whilst in AMsterdam.

The hotel is as central as you will probably get in Amsterdam - great location for exploring the whole city whether you are interested in touristy stuff or nightlife. The value is excellent, we stayed for a week with a large group of friends, perfect for late night partying in the city with an easy route home. I would have reservations of taking a wife or girlfriend there though as the rooms are very small and basic - no luxury but clean and well maintained nonetheless.

The receptiion staff were very friendly and helpful also - recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hostel is very well located, really a couple of steps from the central station and the res light district. Well served by any kind of shop, club, restaurant and whatever. The breakfast is pretty good, and the service is ok.

On the other hand, the rooms are among the worst I've ever seen, the beds and the pillows are not comfortable at all, and the toilet was a mess. Just the shower was good enough.

Would I come back? Just if would not have any other option.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location - everything you need is in short walking distance like the Central train station, restaurants, coffee shops, red light district, attractions etc.
The staff were friendly, approachable and helpful and they spoke really good English.
The breakfast was great and had a good selection or cereals, yoghurts, fruit, bread/ toast, eggs, cheese, ham, salami etc etc.
The only thing I can fault it on is for the space in the rooms and quality of the interior this hotel is on the pricey side!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Mallemoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mallemoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel De Mallemoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mallemoolen Hotel
De Mallemoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Mallemoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.