We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY, GOOD BREAKFAST AND GREAT LOCATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Mallemoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Mallemoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Mallemoolen
Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY, GOOD BREAKFAST AND GREAT LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A small hotel with basic rooms accessed by steep Amsterdam stair. Recommended for the traveller on a budget as its location is excellent (5 mins from main station) and in the heart of busy area. A good buffet breakfast is provided and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    33
    10
    15
See reviews for
9
20
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

stayed here in june 2013 and going back in december ..had a good time at this hotel staff friendly breakfast is good lots ti choose ..rooms basic but its all we needed smoking allowed which is a good can come and go as u plz and leave room key at reception so need to worry about keys ...would recomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and 4 friends stayed here in the 5 bedroom dorm facing the weormstratt, the room was tidy, bit of a steep climb on the stairs but most old school amsterdam propertys are the same.

for a start the location was great right on a busy party strip full of clubs, bars and and a few of my favourite cofeeshops baba and hillstreet blues.


We had very few issues with this hotel the one issue we did have was the flies in the hallway but I could'nt complain as it was between 25-30 degrees and this is a common thing.

We had no problems what so ever with smoking in our room (weed) in which was allowed.

the breakfast - DOES THE JOB - not the best but gets you your essentials for a busy day ahead, meats toast cereal coffee juice yoghurts etc. Also our flight was later the next day and they allowed us to store our bags in the storage closet.

overall good stay and had a great time

ISSUES -

Quite loud but after being amsterdammed it doesnt really matter

Shared toilet and shower - can be a right pain racing to get to a shower everyday.

How early the breakfast finishes - having to get up before 10am after being severely baked in amsterdam is a bit harsh.

I lost my i-phpone at the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

For backpackers/tourists on a budget - this is a great hotel to stay whilst in AMsterdam.

The hotel is as central as you will probably get in Amsterdam - great location for exploring the whole city whether you are interested in touristy stuff or nightlife. The value is excellent, we stayed for a week with a large group of friends, perfect for late night partying in the city with an easy route home. I would have reservations of taking a wife or girlfriend there though as the rooms are very small and basic - no luxury but clean and well maintained nonetheless.

The receptiion staff were very friendly and helpful also - recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very well located, really a couple of steps from the central station and the res light district. Well served by any kind of shop, club, restaurant and whatever. The breakfast is pretty good, and the service is ok.

On the other hand, the rooms are among the worst I've ever seen, the beds and the pillows are not comfortable at all, and the toilet was a mess. Just the shower was good enough.

Would I come back? Just if would not have any other option.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location - everything you need is in short walking distance like the Central train station, restaurants, coffee shops, red light district, attractions etc.
The staff were friendly, approachable and helpful and they spoke really good English.
The breakfast was great and had a good selection or cereals, yoghurts, fruit, bread/ toast, eggs, cheese, ham, salami etc etc.
The only thing I can fault it on is for the space in the rooms and quality of the interior this hotel is on the pricey side!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Firstly this hotel in in a great location! 5 minutes’ walk from the train station and situated on "Green" Street and in a central location within walking distance from most tourist attractions.
The hotel itself is very outdated and the blankets with wolfs on them looked like they were from the 80's. The attic room was quite a trek to get too, the stairs were so steep it was like climbing a ladder. Overall if you just want a bed to sleep in and are not too fussed about a nice hotel then i would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Mallemoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mallemoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 7, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel De Mallemoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mallemoolen Hotel
De Mallemoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Mallemoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.