We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central, clean and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“central, clean and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just got back from Amsterdam this morning what a fantastic experience. Couldn't have picked a better hotel to stay in. Very CLEAN, big room and central to EVERYTHING. Only 2mins walk from central station where we was dropped off. The hotel is on one of the main streets in Amsterdam. Staff are so friendly and helpful to any questions you have. I forgot my hair dryer so asked at reception if I could hire one and was given one to lend for free. Felt really secure at night as its 24hr reception. Vending machines in hotel to grab a quick drink instead of walking to shops. We was allowed to leave our luggage in a locked room till it was time to be picked up for no extra cost. Would recommend this hotel 110% and will be going back next year when we go again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2101 next to reception couldn't have asked for a better room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    96
    75
    29
    24
See reviews for
17
81
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of the night life in Amsterdam. It is right on the border to the right light district and the street in front of the hotel is filled with people having a good time almost 24h a day. Plenty of bars, restaurants, coffee houses and cafes. It's also very close to the Central train station so the location is great.
The hotel is very basic but for this price it's great! Everything is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good: Bread, cereal, juices and tea/coffee.
If you want a relatively peaceful night's sleep ask for a room that faces away from the street but there will still be some noise and the walls are paper-thin. Light sleepers should pack ear-plugs! We definitely recommend this hotel for people who want to stay in the middle of the night life and be close to shopping areas as well. Amsterdam is such a convenient city though, you can walk to every place you want to see. Lovely and beautiful and diverse: That is Amsterdam.
A few tips: Buy the City Pass if you want to sight-see, it covers travel cost as well. If you want to see Anne Frank's museum (and it's a must!) buy a ticket on-line to avoid a long queue (2h sometimes!). Visit the Van Gogh on a Friday when there is live music :)
In fact check every museum you want to visit and see if you can buy tickets on-line.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing away from street if you want more quiet. If you want view as well: Try a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed in this amazing hotel for 3 days, was greeted by a lovely young man at reception, it had a lift, which was good as we had the best room 2143 on the 4th floor, lovely big window overlooking the town, shower was great and a tv (limited channels lol) I didn't mind as I'm a reader, breakfast is nice, bread for toast, boiled eggs, slices of meat, cheese ect, cereal and tea lol, room was great for smoking, because of the window, & cleaned every day, not 1nc did we smell a smokey smell, very well cleaned, staff lovely, very easy to find this hotel, out the train st, over the water, take a left, up a bit then a wee bit to right & down the left lane, that should make u see the old nickel, go by old nickel take first right & u there, big red canopy outside it, and the lane it's on it the best lane ever lol, high times nice big comfey couches, I love kebab does the best waffles lol, oh and last thing the cost of this hotel was fabulousness xxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for three days and would stay again.Very expensive but that is Amsterdam.Location was perfect as I wanted to be right in the Red light district.Walking distance from the Central train station and only twenty minutes from airport.Hotel could do with a spruce up but it was clean and the staff were great.Breakfast was really good and we felt very safe in this hotel.People in the next room banged doors a lot but that could happen in any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my fourth time staying in Amsterdam and my first time staying in this hotel. I went with some friends for a few days. Excellent location, friendly staff and good value for money. Located just beyond Dam square and a handy walk everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.