We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Koopermoolen. I cannot find one single fault. our room was cleaned daily, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Prime location for all attractions. I have stayed in many hotels in this area and would happily return to Koopermoolen. Bargain price for the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    88
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
16
76
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed as a party of 3 for 3 nights in February 2014. Fantastic location, couldn't have asked for a better spot to be staying in, very close to red light district and damn square, 3 minute walk from central station so we still had time for breakfast with a 10am flight home! Our room was on the ground floor, plenty of room for the three of us, if was clean and did not smell of smoke as we expected. Lovely powerful hot shower (although it did slightly flood the bathroom). Breakfast was continental, you could have as many sandwiches or bowls of cereal you need to start your day as well as juice and got beverages available. All staff members we encountered were very helpful, the receptionist gave us the hotels map of Amsterdam on our first day and we found it much easier to use than other maps we had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking on a budget for a great location and something that covers all the basics you need for a stay in the city! Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is located in an Amsterdam hotspot. If you are looking for peace and quite go elsewhere. If you are here to go out and have a blast you are in a great location. My room was tiny even for Amsterdam standards. A bit run down and due for updating but clean. The breakfast was a nice bonus. A decent array of basics but fresh and tasty. I would stay here again depending on the price. Anything over $100 is to much IMHO unless it's the weekend and high season...

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Tiny rooms, smokey hallways. Dirty, grungy, noisy. Walls are paper thin. It's challenging to move in with luggage with no elevator thru tiny stairwells. It was a maze to find my room. Location is in the red light district. There are great choices in Amsterdam in the same price range. This choice was regrettable. Breakfast was good, but it didn't make up for my lack of sleep due to noise and lack of heat. I was afraid to take my shoes off. Dirty carpet and bathroom

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 2 others in a triple room in mid December. The rooms are basic and could do with a tidy up but were clean and good value as a 2 star hotel. The staff were all very friendly too. There is a breakfast which is continental but ok for a bite to eat before you head out for the day. The location is the best bit, two minute walk from central station and minutes from a great selection of coffee shops and the red light district. All in all for what we paid was spot on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the suite for a couple nights just before Christmas and absolutely loved it! The hotel staff were really friendly, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The suite was very spacious and the jacuzzi was a great touch to the room! The rooms are smoking which is spot on if you fancy a smoke after the coffeshops, I was sceptical about booking as I thought the rooms might stink of stale smoke but the smell wasent bad at all. Ideal location only 4 mins walk from central station and close to the red light area and dam square, will definitely book again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.