We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Tiny rooms, smokey hallways. Dirty, grungy, noisy. Walls are paper thin. It's challenging to move in with luggage with no elevator thru tiny stairwells. It was a maze to find my room. Location is in the red light district. There are great choices in Amsterdam in the same price range. This choice was regrettable. Breakfast was good, but it didn't make up for my lack of sleep due to noise and lack of heat. I was afraid to take my shoes off. Dirty carpet and bathroom

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    88
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
16
76
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 2 others in a triple room in mid December. The rooms are basic and could do with a tidy up but were clean and good value as a 2 star hotel. The staff were all very friendly too. There is a breakfast which is continental but ok for a bite to eat before you head out for the day. The location is the best bit, two minute walk from central station and minutes from a great selection of coffee shops and the red light district. All in all for what we paid was spot on.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the suite for a couple nights just before Christmas and absolutely loved it! The hotel staff were really friendly, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The suite was very spacious and the jacuzzi was a great touch to the room! The rooms are smoking which is spot on if you fancy a smoke after the coffeshops, I was sceptical about booking as I thought the rooms might stink of stale smoke but the smell wasent bad at all. Ideal location only 4 mins walk from central station and close to the red light area and dam square, will definitely book again!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've stayed in both the koopermoolen and the mallenmoollen pretty much everytime I've visited Amsterdam, super friendly staff, more-than adequate rooms, and a descent price! Thankyou and see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were greeted with a warm and friendly smile, our room was on the 2nd floor 2121 facing the main path which was a little noisy with people drunk and high on cannabis when we were trying to sleep in the early hours, then the refuse men came along and emptied the bins. But this didn't spoil the weekend one bit.
I put my girlfriend in the windows for the day while I went out for the day shopping, which proved very profitable, then we spent the rest of the weekend sight seeing and trying the local muffins and mushrooms lol
Thanks for the stay
Peter and Sheryl

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;