We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad hotel enjoyed our time in the dam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not bad hotel enjoyed our time in the dam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

great location the hotel is good and good is the word for a few reasons, taking into consideration we were on a lads holiday, it was situated on the woermstratt great party strip full of bars and coffeshops and around the corner from the beautiful amsterdam central and also a 5 minute walk from the red light.

hotel wise it was ok the staff are friendly, the room we got papped in the room above the strip which was not too bad, a bit noisy but if you are highly baked and been mindlessly wandering around amsterdam all day it doesnt make a difference. The breakfast was surprisingly good and the room was a smoker friendly which was brill!. The bad points about the hotel was the fact you have to share a shower, you would be up and down those steep almost vertical stairs like yoyo to use it.

Overall it was not bad, but worth the money and the location booked it again for next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    90
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
16
77
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have actually stayed here twice, purely based on price and location. Amsterdam hotels are usually very expensive so this appears like a good option, but having stayed twice I really wouldn't again. The rooms are small and cramped, outdated and poor facilities. The only good aspect I can report is that the front desk staff are cheerful 24/7, however you can't help but feel this is more of a hostel than a hotel. The stairs are a nightmare to climb and are wooden so if you are placed anywhere near these you will hear people going up and down the stairs all night long. If you want very cheap and basic then this place is for you, if you want even a tiny bit of luxury then don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked the 6 bed apartment last minute for me and 4 mates beds and rooms fine basic accommodation would have booked something better if had booked earlier amsterdam was 90% full that weekend though so had to take what could for the money no tv remote so no tv no internet access no kettle? Was a microwave but not the modern-day looking kitchen and the steps up to apartment level 1 steepest I've ever seen no joke and same again up to bedrooms decent enough place to put your head down only staff in hotel next to apartment were good and helpful as I said before good for cheap head down in ideal location for usual amsterdam stuff dont take much luggage if staying here like

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the suite of Hotel de Koopermoolen and it was fantastic! The hotel is centrally located - walking distance to everything! The reception staff were so nice and helpful. The lift is very small though that it can fit 2 people with no luggage max! The suite is located on the 5th floor and once you go through the door, there was this narrow stairs inside the room to go up to the main room. The room has a cozy double bed, a Jacuzzi with shower (which is not a separate room but an open area near the bed), a toilet, two large windows, a desk, a cabinet for clothes and a TV with more or less 3 English channels (who cares? We're always out anyway). The breakfast is so simple but will do. We enjoyed our stay. One thing though, if you are a light sleeper then avoid this hotel because you can hear the people loudly talking til the wee hours of the morning. It is 5 mins walking distance to the Central Station and everything is so near. This is a must try hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having difficulty going up stairs, then this is not the hotel for you.. We stayed in an apartment (9)..I had to come down the steep stairs on my bottom!
Sleeping was difficult due to revellers shouting all night.. Then when it did go quiet (about 4a.m), then the utilities kicked in! (I.e--laundry/bin men etc etc)..so, if you need your beauty sleep-again this is not for you.
On the plus side.... Great location for central Amsterdam.
If I go back to Amsterdam, I think I'd pay a little more and stay not on the main drag of clubs/coffee shops/chafes etc etc

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a group of friends (5) and we had an apartment which consisted of two bedrooms with several beds in each room and a kitchen/lounge. To get to the apartment (kitchen/lounge) is a VERY steep staircase and also another very steep curved staircase to get to the bedrooms (we left out suitcases in the lounge as we were too knackered to take them up another flight of steep stairs) so if you don't like climbing steep stairs or heaving suitcases about then this is not the place to stay. Having said that the apartment is in a great location. The decor in the apartment is a bit outdated and needs a bit of cash spending on it but it was clean. We did have a bit of an incident whilst checking in - we were told by the person on reception that the debit card machine had broken and we needed to pay the full balance by cash but we could not do this as we had organised for one person to pay the full balance by debit card so we ended up giving him what extra cash we could spare as he insisted we must pay something (he wanted us to go to the cash machine and get the full balance in cash which we would not do) - luckily we only had 300 euros in cash and we would pay the full balance when the machine was fixed and get the euros back. We Went to pay the next day and guess what ? the bloke had disappeared with all the cash (4000 euros) taken the day before and the machine was never out of order. This was all sorted out by the manager when we produced a receipt for the cash and we didn't lose out but it's taught us a lesson - we were very shocked though!!!!

Sleeping was difficult - very noisy in either room. Very annoyingly the restaurants around the hotel would recycle their glass bottles at 4.30am in the morning - was not happy about that and also noisy workers chatting - grrrr!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.