We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel koopermoolen apartment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“hotel koopermoolen apartment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked the 6 bed apartment last minute for me and 4 mates beds and rooms fine basic accommodation would have booked something better if had booked earlier amsterdam was 90% full that weekend though so had to take what could for the money no tv remote so no tv no internet access no kettle? Was a microwave but not the modern-day looking kitchen and the steps up to apartment level 1 steepest I've ever seen no joke and same again up to bedrooms decent enough place to put your head down only staff in hotel next to apartment were good and helpful as I said before good for cheap head down in ideal location for usual amsterdam stuff dont take much luggage if staying here like

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    96
    75
    29
    24
See reviews for
17
81
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the suite of Hotel de Koopermoolen and it was fantastic! The hotel is centrally located - walking distance to everything! The reception staff were so nice and helpful. The lift is very small though that it can fit 2 people with no luggage max! The suite is located on the 5th floor and once you go through the door, there was this narrow stairs inside the room to go up to the main room. The room has a cozy double bed, a Jacuzzi with shower (which is not a separate room but an open area near the bed), a toilet, two large windows, a desk, a cabinet for clothes and a TV with more or less 3 English channels (who cares? We're always out anyway). The breakfast is so simple but will do. We enjoyed our stay. One thing though, if you are a light sleeper then avoid this hotel because you can hear the people loudly talking til the wee hours of the morning. It is 5 mins walking distance to the Central Station and everything is so near. This is a must try hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having difficulty going up stairs, then this is not the hotel for you.. We stayed in an apartment (9)..I had to come down the steep stairs on my bottom!
Sleeping was difficult due to revellers shouting all night.. Then when it did go quiet (about 4a.m), then the utilities kicked in! (I.e--laundry/bin men etc etc)..so, if you need your beauty sleep-again this is not for you.
On the plus side.... Great location for central Amsterdam.
If I go back to Amsterdam, I think I'd pay a little more and stay not on the main drag of clubs/coffee shops/chafes etc etc

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a group of friends (5) and we had an apartment which consisted of two bedrooms with several beds in each room and a kitchen/lounge. To get to the apartment (kitchen/lounge) is a VERY steep staircase and also another very steep curved staircase to get to the bedrooms (we left out suitcases in the lounge as we were too knackered to take them up another flight of steep stairs) so if you don't like climbing steep stairs or heaving suitcases about then this is not the place to stay. Having said that the apartment is in a great location. The decor in the apartment is a bit outdated and needs a bit of cash spending on it but it was clean. We did have a bit of an incident whilst checking in - we were told by the person on reception that the debit card machine had broken and we needed to pay the full balance by cash but we could not do this as we had organised for one person to pay the full balance by debit card so we ended up giving him what extra cash we could spare as he insisted we must pay something (he wanted us to go to the cash machine and get the full balance in cash which we would not do) - luckily we only had 300 euros in cash and we would pay the full balance when the machine was fixed and get the euros back. We Went to pay the next day and guess what ? the bloke had disappeared with all the cash (4000 euros) taken the day before and the machine was never out of order. This was all sorted out by the manager when we produced a receipt for the cash and we didn't lose out but it's taught us a lesson - we were very shocked though!!!!

Sleeping was difficult - very noisy in either room. Very annoyingly the restaurants around the hotel would recycle their glass bottles at 4.30am in the morning - was not happy about that and also noisy workers chatting - grrrr!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent location on the edge of the red light district and in walking distance of all main attractions. 5 of us stayed in the 6 bed apartment next to the main hotel, it was very basic and dated and could do with a lick of paint and update. No kettle but had microwave and cooker but no pans! However bedding was clean and towels replaced daily. Hotel receptionist ripped off the owner ! He told us and many other people that the card machine was broken, we refused to pay full amount by cash but did give him 300 euro's and said we would pay remainder of balance the following day - when we went to do this, the owner was called and told us he had done a runner with all the cash for the day - luckily we hadn't paid the full amount which was very good for the owner. Very noisy at night and around 4am the local businesses start putting out the rubbish and recycling all the bottles. Stairs to apartment were very steep and narrow - quite dangerous really and a nightmare to carry luggage up and down! Could do with room safe as the ones in reception area are on full view

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Close to everything, perfect location, it is my second visit to this hotel this year and I will definitely be back again :) staff are friendly and helpful!! I can safely say I recommend this hotel :).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.