We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel De Koopermoolen for 4 nights and we had the room with the Jacuzzi it was great to relax in it after a day of walking around and the hotel was in a great spot right in the heart of the city, I will be going back again..

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    88
    71
    28
    24
See reviews for
16
76
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel De Koopermoolen - With the locale of the Hotel, you are literally on the door-step of the Redlight District, and 5 minute walk from the Station - Being in Centraale, do not expect the Ritz/Hitlon with the accommodation and size, and if your someone who wants to experience Amsterdam, you are probably going to be out most of the time anyway. What can you expect; a clean bed, breakfast between 7am-10am, hot water, rooms and towels cleaned on a regular basis (every1-2 days), TV and Wifi Access (€3 one day pass, €10 three day pass), and most important when in the 'Zone" friendly/helpful staff. The building itself, is old and historic, but maintained to a decent level (no rats or mold) but could do with a bit of sprucing up, and like most buildings in Amsterdam, the stairs are steep (2 man lift available) - Be mindful, that due to being on a busy street, the noise can get loud at times, but you are so close to the coffee-shops, restaurants you can't complain (Smoke..Drink..Whatever..and it's 5 mins back to bed to recover).

This is a non-smoking hotel, but assume, like I did, smoking does occur in the rooms - Just be respectful.

Being my fourth trip to Amsterdam, I'd definitely comeback to Koopermoolen be it on your own, couple or friends - Better to book via hostelbookers.com for a better rate.

Room Tip: Book via HostelBookers.com Be mindful you are on a busy street Excellent for a short 1-3 day s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

this hotel is idealy situated just 2min from train station in the middle of all tourist attractions room was very clean and bed very comfortable.excellent value for money.would recomend going to the superstore at dam square for coffee very good.ann frank house very good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were offered €100 bar tab before even seeing the apartment which perhaps should have indicated to us a problem with it.

This is the apartment to the side of the hotel.
As previously mentioned on other reviews the stairs are exceptionally steep, but no other reviews have mentioned that this apartment is held up by scaffolding and there was no front door or floor in parts. (Literally).

We didn't expect the Hilton, however, we did expect clean, safe and secure accommodation which genuinely was not the case. We have stayed in some pretty grim places in the past, but this was so bad it was funny.

They also provided us with only one key between 6 and got very irritated when we asked them at reception to let us in, which they said we could do.

Our stay in March was also very cold and very noisy due holes in walls and loose windows.

A great location in the heart of the red light district if you don't mind really basic, bordering on dangerous accomodation, roughing it and risking your life on the stairs and scaffolding!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for two nights, on arrival was allowed to check in 5 hours early and room was clean and decent sized. Bit of a unsettling vibe to the hotel but a nice place tbh!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.