We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Koopermoolen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Koopermoolen to your Saves list
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a weekend stay in amsterdam, was brilliant! Stayed in the apartment which is seprate to the hotel, like having your own place, stayed with 5 mates, it couldn't have been in a better spot, people on reception were very friendly and helpful, the apartment it's self was great, clean and tidy, maybe a little out dated but what are you expecting for a 2 star? Little bit noisy at night but if your coming back late yourself then it's fine! Will be returning in the future, wouldn't stay anywhere else

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    99
    75
    29
    24
See reviews for
17
82
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Could not have been better situated. Near to trams, Central station and touristy places. The smaller rooms don't have good ventilation but the bigger ones on he 4th floor are the best bang for your buck in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 2143, nuff said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

A great place to stay on a budget! In the heart of the action and close to it all! Clean rooms and amazing staff! Thomas was awesome!!! I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Partner of a different hotel (Hotel Prins Hendrik) whose owner helped carry our bags to De Koopermoolen since they didn't have room there. Very accommodating, and on short notice. We were already in the city, searching for a place to stay that night, for only one night-November 26, 2011.

It was fairly cheap, considering the awesome location. Right in the middle of the city, and about a two minute walk to Amsterdam Centraal Station.

I can't say we were happy with the cleanliness of our room, but it could've been worse.

No safe in the room, but there was a place downstairs where you could lock up valuables.

The room did also come with breakfast tickets, though we had to check out too early to be able to use them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Five friends and I stayed at the Koopermoolen in Nov 2011. Hotel is in an excellent location 1 minute walk from the station and in walking distance of all the main attractions. We stayed in the self contained apartment which is seperate from the main hotel this was perfect for us although its not exactly modern everything was clean and did the job! Only bad point is the steep stairs however this is Amsterdam and they arnt doing exactly doing you any harm!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Booked this hotel on a last-minute trip. Location was perfect and staff was nice - these are the only positive aspects of my stay in this hotel.
I've booked a single room, and got a terrible - extremely tiny, with dirty mattresses - attic room. I could not believe that such room was even allowed by Dutch health and safety regulations - it had a tiny window, if you opened the bathroom door you blocked the way out, it was terribly lit, had no ventilation at all, a very, very old TV, only one power outlet. The elevator would not go to my floor (fifth floor) - I had to climb a set of very narrow stairs with heavy luggage. That room should be used as a storage! And they do need one, as the spare beds were literally everywhere in the corridors.
Staying close to the train station is convenient, but a bit overrated - Amsterdam is a very compact city and there are better - and cheaper - options just outside of the old city centre. On a next visit will look for alternatives elsewhere in the city.

Room Tip: Avoid AT ALL COSTS the single room on the fifth floor. Weekends are very busy in Amsterdam, try to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I chose Koopermoolen because of its location. Its near the Amsterdam central station and near to all the things in Amsterdam. I was expecting it to be a little noisy as it was near the red light district and a very touristy area but it was fine.I stayed there for 3 nights. I could walk to almost all the places from the hotel and since my trip also involved travelling to other places in Netherlands and Belgium by train I could not have asked for more. I could simply walk to and back from the station.The room was small but clean. It was ok as I only wanted to sleep for the night. The bathroom was similar but very clean.They served buffet breakfast which was good considering the price.The staff was friendly and give tips on how to make the best out of Amsterdam. I would recommend it for the budget traveller and also for those who have to make trips in and out of Amsterdam by train. The only disadvantage is that the staircases are small and steep but that is true for all houses in Amsterdam.Decent price, fantastic location, neat & tidy with helpful staff, that is all what is needed. Also, there was free wi fi which was surprise to me but it worked pretty well for me.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not face the main street. I heard it gets very noisy at night especially du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Koopermoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koopermoolen

Address: Warmoesstraat 5, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel De Koopermoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koopermoolen Hotel
De Koopermoolen Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Koopermoolen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.