We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Atlanta Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed with a friend and were looking for a hotel on budget. We were quite shocked when we first got there, omg the stairs. Not suitable for people with unstable walking skills. Can be quite interesting after a night out, balancing up and down. But we got used to it and didnt make it an issue.
The guys in the reception was great, very friendly and helpful. The room was ok, good view overlooking rembrandtplein. A little dated and oldish, but it did not really bother us. As long as it was clean, and it was. We did not spent a lot of time in the room anyway. The reason why a rate it "very good" has a lot to do with location. It is perfectly situated in the middle almost of everything you need and would want to see. Walking distance to everything and a good selection of restaurants on every corner. This hotel is overlooking a few nightclubs and smokin bars, so you would need to deal with some noise, especially in the summertime. We were a part of it ourself, so we did not mind.
Dont expect breakfast and food at this hotel, but dont worry - just walk outside and the choice is yours. They offer tea and coffee btw at all hours and you have a snack machine + minibar in room.

We got what we wanted, so we left happy. If your seeking relaxation and luxury, this is not the place for you. Would def recommend it, especially to younger people.

Room Tip: Stay on low floors if you want to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    90
    83
    41
    41
See reviews for
16
112
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

just stayed there for 4 nights. Room was really hot and hardely sleepable. Bed was too small for two people. Workers were average they for no reason packed our bags spilling a whole bottle of $200 aftershave in it and basically just threw everything in tooth brushes with dirty clothes and even rubish. Even the hostel had air con and two seperate beds

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights stay at The Atlanta. We stayed in room number 6 which wasnt huge but clean and tidy.......and clean towels every day. The weather was very hot and a fan was provided in the room thank goodness. The staff were always courtious and helpful. We arrived at the hotel 4 hours before we were due to check in... and also the staff took care of our cases so were were able to start our holiday. The hotel is right in the thick of everything... in a really good location. Thank you we will return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We came to Amsterdam to party and sightsee and stayed four nights as part of our trip to Sensation White. We stayed in Room 7 which opens up its big windows to the amazingness that is Rembrandtplein. The room is a nice size and the bathroom is big. Everything was in working order. The reception staff,
Javier in particular, were super friendly and helpful.

As with most oldy worldy dutch buildings, the stairs are steep which adds a certain charm but not suitable for the infirm, disabled as there isn't a lift.

Overall, this is an excellent budget hotel if you want the perfect base to explore what the city has to offer round the clock. We will be back again next summer for Sensation and stay at Hotel Atlanta once more ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let me start by saying that me and my friend didnt expect a whole lot from reading mixed reviews.

We flew in from Dallas to stay for 5 nights and landed early. We went to the hotel and couldnt check in, staff let us put our bags in the back for 4 or 5 hours to start exploring. We are far from "high maintenance" just needing a place to crash.

The only issue i had was one night we had to stand outside for about 7-8 minutes as you have to be buzzed in. Not that big of a deal

pros:
good location on the square
the bathrooms were clean
staff was super helpful, setting up our shuttle from the airport the day before we left.

cons:
Location is a con as well. We went for a week worth of drinking and walking around the red light district. The trams stop well before the bars close, and its a decent walk home from the red light district when you are drunk.

We had to ask for new linens and towels a few times.

i would recommend this hotel. ask for a room on a lower level, we were on the very top floor facing the square, hell of a view from the little window.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I'm surprised to see so many positive reviews on this hotel, they're completing misleading. The truth is the place is a disgrace, the way both me and my partner were treated at the hotel on our last day was appalling.
First of all, we stayed for 5 days and not on one of these days were we given clean towels OR bedding which is disgusting. Then we were kept awake constantly by a night club opposite us, and the sushi eatery below. We chose a deluxe room, lovely looking room you just can't get any sleep in it what so ever! Now noise outside of course is not the fault of the hotel, and I brought ear plugs which made it easier and for the first few nights the noise didnt bother us too much. However in the last day we were rudely awoken at 8am by the STAFF banging and crashing throwing things down a fire exit right next to our room inside the hotel ! Shouting, banging etc. this carried in for over an hour and when I complained at the front desk did the staff care? NO. A pig ignorant woman who wouldn't even end her own personal conversation on her mobile phone to address me at the front desk, said it wasn't her fault and did absolutely nothing. How this disgrace of a woman even got this job is beyond me, I felt like ripping her head off to be quite honest. Oh and also a personal note to the staff at the hotel, if you're going to make racist or negative comments about English people , don't do it in our presence and in OUR language in front of us when we are staying at your hotel you cranks. In England we have something called manners which your staff should all start learning when in hospitality. I will also be writing to the manager and owner of this 'hotel' and ask how it's common practice to disturb your guests and let them sleep in their own dirt for 5 days. What do your staff actually do? If you have booked this hell hole, cancel and find somewhere else. They don't deserve a single penny of your money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at here over the weekend and I was pleasantly surprised, it's not amazing but for the price it does what it says on the tin. It was clean and in a brilliant location really central, so it was a great position to explore from. There is a great cheap bike rental place around the corner called better bike which was a lot cheaper than the well known bike rentals and had the same quality bikes. If you aren't too fussy and don't mind pretty basic this hotel is fine and the staff are friendly and helpful. All in all pleasant experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.