We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lovely Stay , 1st timers- remember deposit and city tax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlanta Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 8-10, Amsterdam 1017 CV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #248 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lovely Stay , 1st timers- remember deposit and city tax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was an absolutely lovely hotel right in the middle of Rembrandt Square, the room was a good considering everything in Amsterdam is a bit smaller anyway. We stayed in room 7 which had a lovely look out onto the square, it felt a bit like a ship cabin at some points because it was a bit of a wonky room and we had twin beds which slid around the place but in all honesty after a long day that was not even noticeable it was just nice to sleep. What i will say is if you are going to Amsterdam and have any walking issues the narrow steps in the hotel might be an issue and definitely definitely take a tram because its quite a hefty walk into the centre with lots of chop and change paving which is absolutely fine when you are taking in the sights but might not be great for all if you aren't too fond of long walks. The staff were really helpful and the rooms were always in perfect condition when we came back and they opened the windows to let the breeze in because it was about 22c when we were there.

If you have never been before id like to point out that you have to pay city tax when you go to your hotel which is 5.5 % if i remember right and all hotels will take a 50 euro refundable deposit off you as insurance for the mini bar/ breakfast etc... was a bit of a shock when we got there because we were 50 euro down before we started, even though you get it back it would have been nice to know before hand . That is the only negative thing i can say really, noise was absolutely fine , if you fill your day enough you are too tired to even notice when you get back to the room and we had no problem sleeping at all.

Room Tip: First or 2nd Floor rooms advised as the stairs are tiny and steep however for the view definitely go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    103
    85
    44
    36
See reviews for
12
101
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very small room, felt a bit stuffy, good bed though. I want to praise the staff, I had an amergency & needed a doctor and the female receptionist Donna-Lee was very helpful and accomodating, and set up a doctor´s appointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I just got back from staying here for 4 nights. The location of the hotel was smack dab in Rembrandtplein, which was amazing! Our room faced the square and we kept our window open every night to hear the hum of the city sounds. If you can't sleep with noise, or hate drunk people, ask for a room not facing this way. Our friend who also stayed here had a room facing the opposite side and said it was much quieter. The room itself was pretty small, but had all the basic things we needed. Fridge, safe for locking up things, TV. The sink in the room was awesome to have. I wouldn't be scared about the shared toilet and shower at all. They were only a few steps away and were always clean. The walls are pretty thin, so again - if you are a light sleeper, you should be used to bringing earplugs. Bed wasn't too comfortable. There are a lot of staircases and no elevator, but that shouldn't be a complaint. It's Europe, get used to small buildings, walking and taking stairs. The front desk service was so-so. We saw a number of different people throughout the day/night. Most were pleasant enough, but I would go elsewhere if you're planning any tourist trips and need tickets. They were not very helpful in that manner. The WIFI didn't work in my room, but was strong in the lobby area. We did not eat the 10 euro breakfast, so I can't comment on that. Too many cafe's out front with yummy coffee. There's a convenient tram that stops directly outside the hotel and takes you to Centraal Station. The Australian bar Coco's next door has great late night happy hour drink specials - half off! The Indonesian place on the corner Pelargi was delicious. St James Gate had solid Irish pub meals, including breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location but not particularly good value for money. Breakfast is poor. Even the cereal tasted odd and that's usually a fail safe. Staff were friendly but didn't have good local knowledge. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for a week at the end of April 2013. When we arrived they let us check in early with no hassel. Our room was on the backside of the building and they upgraded us to a room over looking Rembrandtplein with no extra cost. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even let us use an electrical converter every night of our stay. The room was clean every day and a nice size with a flat screen TV and a safe in the closet. There is no elevator (as like almost every Amsterdam hotel in the city) but even on the third floor the stairs were not bad. My only complaint was that the jacuzzi tuse (as advertised) did not work and when asked about it at the front desk we were told "of course it does not work," so then why advertise it as a "jacuzzi" tube. Also it did leak and covered the bathroom with every bath and after telling them a few times, it was never fixed, was not a terrible thing considering all the other good things about this place. Also the location is GREAT! A tram stop within 100 feet and lots of restaurants, bars and coffee shops within a few steps from the front door.

Overall this was a great hotel and location for use. I would recommend it to anyone and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for #22, third floor overlooking Rembrantplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is dirty and noisy and not kept up. Ownership are quite obviously not putting money into maintenance. Carpets are filthy and caulking in showers is moldy and pealing away. The music from the bar next door is unbelievably loud until 4am. The room smelled of cigarette smoke because people smoke in the rooms and open the windows. When we opened the window, there was 50 cigarette butts on the window sill. Somehow, the staff remains helpful and friendly. This was a last resort option which turned out poorly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location, great view over Rembrandt Plaza and reasonable price. Suitable or students, or youngsters. The breakfast is quite poor, but hou have several restaurants and terrasses near by, to choose from. Memorable modest open balcony at the top floor, great for a midnight snack while looking over the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, Amsterdam 1017 CV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, HotelsNL and EasyToBook so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.