We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Atlanta Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Choose it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Good location, great view over Rembrandt Plaza and reasonable price. Suitable or students, or youngsters. The breakfast is quite poor, but hou have several restaurants and terrasses near by, to choose from. Memorable modest open balcony at the top floor, great for a midnight snack while looking over the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    90
    83
    41
    41
See reviews for
16
112
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the location. It's in the center of everything and really convenient to get around from there. Another plus is the friendly staff. However, everything else is on the poor side. The first night we got there, it was so cold in the room we slept in our clothes! Thats also after using both of the blankets the room had, which were not very clean. The sheets could definitely use an extra wash or two, did not feel comfortable sleeping on those beds. Neither was the bathroom (we had a private one) We informed the staff about the cold and were told that the heating system in the room cannot handle the cold outside (it was about 30 degrees F so a little below C) So we suffered through with covering up with multiple blankets. The stairs are really uncomfortable to get into the hotel but from what we noticed this isn't uncommon in Amsterdam, so be prepared to climb a lot of steps while in that city. For the price the hotel charges it can definitely improve on a lot of things, they are more like a hostel not hotel. We still had a great time in Amsterdam but would stay somewhere else on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Atlanta Hotel with three friends for a weekend in two twin rooms. The hotel itself is situated right on Rembrandt Square surrounded by bars and restaurants. You can catch a tram from Centraal Station, although we walked which takes about 15mins. The rooms were very clean and warm and the staff helpful throughout. The only thing was the City Tax was not included in the overall price with the booking site I used, so an extra €55 was added on at check in. This is not the hotels fault as their reception prices include City Tax. I enjoyed my stay at The Atlanta Hotel and would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The best part of the hotel is its location, very central to everything. Nightlife at your doorstep, close to shops and cafes, central train station just a short stroll away etc. The staff are also friendly which was nice. The only down fall was the hot water which did not seem to be reliable. For the price of the hotel, I got what I expected.

Room Tip: If you dont like to share toilet/shower, having to wait for it to be free, I suggest you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

booked a triple room and a double room, the double was bigger than the triple.There was just enough room to fit the beds in!!!! Ensure you remember to check out by 11am or else you will be charged.On a positive it was very central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, 18th and 19th october 2012 finding that most of what has been said on tripadvisor to be true.
The Hotel is in a great location for all the places we wanted to visit, just a great shame that the owners of the Hotel have allowed the place to become so run down. OK we did get a good deal on the price from lastminute.com (£163 for two people for two nights) but even at that price there should be some profit left for re-investment,if we had paid more it would be a different story.
We booked a standard double and got a free upgrade for one night(with a bit of a struggle) to a de-luxe as they had no standard rooms available. this sounds ok but having to check out by 11am and then not able to check back in till 2pm was a pain.
First night we stayed in room 9(De-Luxe) overlooking the square which was ok, the music and noise not a bother for us, infact we liked it.The second night we stayed in room 25(standard) up another flight of stairs, which was alot smaller than room 9 and had no view at all.(think Anne Frank) Apart from the room size and TV sizes(20" flat to a 9" portable) we could'nt tell the difference in the grading,i mean who goes to Amsterdam to watch telly anyway. Both rooms reasonably clean but in need of a good makeover.Strip them back to basics (Traveloge style) so much easier to maintain and forget the dodgy jaccuzzi's.Maybe this level of standards are acceptable to the laid back Dutch but we English expect alot better.
The best asset this Hotel has is it's friendly and helpful staff, especially Helen. the morning receptionist.
All said, had a great time in Amsterdam and would consider this Hotel again if only for the location and feel sure that this Hotel will just carry on in the same way whilst there are so many visitors wanting to come to this great city.(succeeding by default)

Room Tip: rooms with best views all face onto the noisy square which for us was great, if you want quiet night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.