We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 Pleasant Days in the Atlanta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Atlanta Hotel to your Saves list
Atlanta Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“9 Pleasant Days in the Atlanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I have had a great time at the Atlanta! Nice boutique hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and great location. The stairs are Amsterdam-style (i.e. steep) with no elevator though, so not advisable for those who have a lot of difficulty with climbing stairs. The staff helped with carrying the luggage up so that was not a problem. As we booked our room last minute and the hotel was almost booked out, we had to stay in two different room types.

The first 3 nights we stayed in a double deluxe room (eventhough we had only booked a standard room) which was a very nice and newly refurbished. The room was spaceous and clean, but a bit noisy (but hey it's in the center of the center so that is to be expected.) Furthermore, it looked as though there was a jaccuzi bath in the room, so we got our hopes up by this pleasant surprise only to find that the hotel only turns them on when a guest has booked and paid for it. Fair enough, we didn't book it and I am sure its not cheap to maintain that if guests haven't paid for it.

The second room we stayed in was the double standard room, which was what we had originally booked. This room looked a little dated, but still clean, comfortable and with a bath. The room was in the back of the hotel though and as such not noisy at all, but we preferred the view of the square, so next time will request it again. (I suppose for the very light sleepers a room in the back is probably a better option though.)

Lastly, the receptionists have been great at advising us on cool (non touristy) places to go and good places to eat. Very helpful! (Best tip: the beer brewery in a windmill;))
Next visit to Amsterdam, we will stay here again and will recommend it to people we know!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    89
    79
    39
    38
See reviews for
16
106
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Spend Last weekend in amsterdam at this Hotel with my Husband!
Can i start by saying how much i loved amsterdam as a city! So much to see and do will defo return and would defo stay at this hotel. Dont be put off by the bad reveiws. yes its very basic but with a seriously great location. And im saying that and i can be quiet picky! We satyed in Room 19 Which is on the top fllor, Hike to get there but we re young couple so it really wasnt an issue. Room was very clean and airy! At Night it is very noisey so maybe buy some earplugs if ure a light sleep. To be honest it didnt reqlly bothar us but ca imagine it would bother others. The staff in hotel very nice and very helpful with info on where to go and what to do on your break.
Great irish bar below hotel. Nice food and lovely staff, its called james gat and its defo worth a visit!

Room Tip: Defo Go for a room with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Atlanta is a great hotel in a great location,i will be staying there again next time i am in Amsterdam,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed here for four nights from 19/09/11 to 22/09/11. It was my first time in Amsterdam, and hadnt a clue where to stay, I just went onto tripadvisor, and looked for affordable accomodation in the city. The Hotel was warm, comfortable, clean, secure rooms, excellently located and brilliant transport links beside it (Tram, Bus, Canal Bus nearby).

I was travelling on my own, and good as I am, I still appreciate a well informed staff, and the staff were very helpful, no matter how trivial the query. Rooms and linen were changed daily (nice touch, but not necessary!)The only downside to the Atlanta is accessability - The Atlanta is to coin a phrase, 'the land of stairs' but that is not to detract from the hotel - it is the norm in Amsterdam, and this is an old building, The locals are used to it, so it is normal. It is not suitable for people of reduced mobility. Just putting it out there, it is not a criticism, just being honest and open, in the Amsterdam way! I enjoyed my stay here, be under no illusions, and it will be fine. They serve a continental style breakfast (i.e. no english breakfasts) but that is no matter.

The clincher is location - Amsterdam is such an unpretentious, open minded and once you realise everything is located in a circular fashion (the curve of the canals) you will find your bearings, and a lot more besides!!!! fairly quickly. Good luck, and enjoy the trip! lol.

TIP: Get the Connexxion Hotel Shuttle Bus (Check their website for times, etc.) from Schipol Airport - it is a direct link to your hotel - and is cheaper than a taxi. The Metro is a bit removed from the Airport, and the Atlanta is a good walk from Centraal Station. You can, however, if you wish, get Tram 9 outside Centraal to Rembrantplein. Buy a 24 Hour ticket (€7.50) for unlimited use of the tram network. It is excellent.

Recommended for Solo, couples, back-packers and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a wide bed - I slept in a room with a 2' 6'' bed - a full size single is prefera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in October 2010. We were initially worried as we didn't book a transfer from the airport but after we arrived, it was plain to see that Amsterdam is so organised itself that even the most dipsy of travellers can find their way around. A train straight from ther airport to Amsterdam central station (the stops are called out in nice clear English). Then take tram number 9 to Rembrant square (make sure you leave the central station through the right exit - there are two at opposite ends of the station - if you take the wrong one you'll know soon enough) the tram driver was very kind and didn't charge us because he could see we were hopeless tourists. Each tram stop is lit up on the wall inside the tram and goes out once you've passed it...so get off when Rembrant square (rembranteplein) is the next one to go out.

The hotel is straight infront of you when you get off the tram - its big orange letters are very obvious. If you're in a wheelchair then you won't be able to stay here - there are extreemly steep steps going up to the reception area (however this is tghe bature of most buildings in Amsterdam).

The staff are very freindly and ask abut your trip whcih is always nice. They give you a big heavy kep which you must hand into them whenever you leave the hotel - the reception is manned all hours so it's not a problem. Always remember the city tax - its only a few euros but worth remembering so you don't get angry when they try to charge you for nothing.

Our room was long and thin but plenty of space. A nice comfy double bed with plenty of pillows, A television and a mini fridge with drinks already there that you have to pay for afterwards if you drink them. There is a warbdrobe with a safe - the safe should be free as you simply put your things insise, close it and type in a combination, you then type this combination the next time you want to open it.

The bathroom was small - we had a wet room-esque shower (no bath) but clean and with four fresh white towels.

Rembrant square is charming and a good base to explore the city. Literally EVERYTHING is just 25 minutes walk away....I walked to the main square and red light district in HEELS!

Club smokey (which you can see from the hotel) is a laugh....if you're a first timer in the pot stakes as we were, the nice man behind the counter enthusiastically explained which joints we should smoke and how much in scientific detail. The man enjoys his job.

You'll be safe here, a nice square and a nice hotel...lovely people everywhere we went.

Room Tip: WATCH OUT FOR THE BIKES!!!!! Everywhere is expensive...so budget yourself :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Atlanta hotel is a great no frills hotel in an excellent position. I stayed on my own and had a small room that was comfortable, safe and very clean. The shower was great and very clean as well. If your after an inexpensive room that is clean and a place to crash this is the place. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Expect small clean inexpensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Spent weekend in Amsterdam visiting friends and someone recommended Hotel Atlanta - its centrally located and having coffee in the morning while watching the bustle of the city was a treat. Friendly staff, nice rooms - was a great recommendation

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 8-10, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlanta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlanta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.