We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Boutique, warm friendly staffed small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Hotel Parklane to your Saves list
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, Boutique, warm friendly staffed small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Title says is all really. Not too far from the city centre, and upon arriving Sarah told us all the hot spots and how to travel around. The transport system in Amsterdam is very user friendly and easy to understand and the cheapest way to quickly get around.
Breakfast was filling and served well in the dining room and the wifi connection was excellent in our room. Our room was a quadruple room sharing with 4 lads aged 25-27, there was enough room to move around and the beds were comfy. Only problem was the en-suite bathroom upon arrival had a foul smell but this was cleaned and sorted within a couple of minutes of notifying the staff. It was just some drainage problem and not a big issue. May visit there again as its away from the noise of the city centre but wouldn't mind staying in the centre at the same price and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
18
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A small, non-chain hotel, with only about a dozen rooms, hosted in an old dutch house. The location is good: the city center is still within walking distance, but the place is a bit away from a the noise- Tram 9 gets you up to the train station if needed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included- the buffet can not compete with big hotels, but the breakfast room is very cosy, and the staff is always immediately replenishing the breakfast supplies, even after the official breakfast hour. The rooms themselves (including bathroom) seem to have undergone a major makeover recently. Everything looked new or was in very good shape. Beds are of good quality. The only thing that's not new are the windows: old wood frames with single glazing that keep neither the noise nor the cold out. Concerning the noise, I must say that I was still able to get some good sleep during the weekend nights, because not many cars pass by that neighborhood at night (this was my reason for choosing this particular hotel). On Monday morning, however, there was again enough traffic to wake me up at 7 am. Should I go there again, I would try to see if it's possible to get the room facing the nice green yard behind the hotel- perfectly quiet.

Some practical hints for the surroundings (I actually like this more quiet district): The botanical garden is literally across the street, and despite its rather small size, it has a rich collection to offer. There are some Bars and restaurants one block South, and during the night, they're frequented by the locals (during the day by the zoo visitors). If you don't want to keep up with all the touristy busyness downtown at dinner time, give these places a try.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, try get the room with south orientation. This will probably be the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The single room was really small, but it suited my purpose. The wi-fi had some little problem in my room, however it worked really fine in the dining room downstairs, which I was allowed to access freely.
For the rest: the hotel is in an optimal location. Close enough to the center (a 15 minutes walk or a couple of metro stops), but outside the fuzz of downtown. AND mostly a real great thank you to the whole staff. Exceptionally friendly and professional.They even anticipated on Sunday morning breakfast by an hour, to allow for us marathoners the early leave!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is located close to centar of Amsterdam (few minutes with tram, 15 minutes by walk), rich breakfest, beautifull prk cross of hotel, very close to ZOO, very nice restaurant next to hotel, god rooms with very comfortable beds, very quit area with lot of green...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is well situated, overlooking a park and near a tram stop. The zoo is two minutes walk away, with the Botanical Gardens even closer. It is on a quiet street, the hotel is clean and tidy. It looks like the rooms have been recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. The staff were polite and friendly. Be aware that it has the traditional Dutch steep stairs. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Six is at that back of the hotel, it is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this little hotel! We stayed in room 41 wich although small, was super cute and romantic complete with wood beams and a large window. Clean shower with lots of water pressure, delicious breakfast, a very cozy family like hotel with lots of soul, very far from the businessy atmosphere we found in most other hotels in Amsterdam. We had to flee from a hotel that was a total rip off and looked for an other one to stay at and were amazed at the amount of rip off there was. Do ask to see the room if possible in most Amsterdam hotel, before comitting. Staff was warm and welcoming, super helpful. The breafast was huge and very fresh, you can make your own eggs on a cooking stove with all the seasoning you like ( chives, peppers, onions etc...). The wifi quality was excelent, even at the top of the hotel wich was instrumental for me cause i had a project fo finish. The best part is its top location in the heart of Amsterdam, close to all cool areas. LOVED IT

Room Tip: We loved our little room 41 and generally i think staying on the fourth floor is cool because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good location a few minutes walk from the city center. Nice view from the hotel over
Wertheimpark. Friendly staff that helps you with all your tourist needs. The rooms are nice and clean, though a bit worn. Good selection of restaurants nearby.

N.B. If you are disabled or/and have the slightest problem with narrow and steep stairs you should avoid this place since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Parklane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Address: Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel Parklane 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Parklane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotel Parklane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.