We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Little Hotel in East Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hotel Parklane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Little Hotel in East Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Situated in east Centrum, the Hotel Parklane is around 5 minutes walk from the Amsterdam Zoo, Waterlooplein markets & station, the Hortus Botanicus, Rembrandt House, an Albert Heijin supermarket, restaurants and the Jewish Historical Museum. Ten or fifteen minutes will take you to the very centre of town. Its reasonably well serviced by public transport, both train & tram and opposite a small but picturesque park. As such, it is in a decent location, but there are hotels that are more central or more close to the most popular attractions, depending on what you are hoping to do while you are in Amsterdam. Being a bit further out does have its advantages though, with quieter evenings and cheaper restaurants.

We stayed for two nights at 110 euros per night, which was more than we'd like to pay, but we were having difficulties finding cheaper ensuite accomodation in a reasonably central location on the weekend (Amsterdam is a tourist town, often with more expensive accomodation on the weekends).

Its an old hotel, but they've refurbished and maintained the places that matter the most - the beautiful breakfast area and the rooms themselves. Our room (7) was up two sets of stairs, the first being quite reasonable, the second being quite steep as is common in Amsterdam. This is particularly difficult if you have bags and the person who checked us in didn't offer any help. Still, it was good exercise! The room was a decent size with high ceilings, though it was far longer than it was wide. The bathroom was recently refurbished with a great shower. Although we were notified in advance, we don't like the way many Amsterdam hotels (including this one) push two single beds together and sell the room as a double. The room was both well lit and well heated. There were stains on the two chairs facing the small television, which was a bit disconcerting, but that didn't bother us too much. The desk provided is too small for any work, should you be in Amsterdam for work, but its sufficient for keys, wallet, passport, cameras and so on. The room comes with a mini-fridge which is helpful to store drinks and what not, especially since the supermarket is so close by. Some of the corridors and hallways were a bit tired with peeling wallpaper but this doesn't matter as you're not in a hotel like this to admire the surroundings (though as I mentioned before, the breakfast area is beautiful).

The friendliness of staff depended on who you were dealing with, as is the case with most small hotels, but we usually found hotel staff helpful and friendly. The staff pointed us out to a nearby set of restaurants which, being a bit further out of the city, were much better value than eating in the centre of town. To get to these restaurants, leave the hotel and immediately turn left, at the intersection turn left again, and then at the next intersection you should see the restaurants to the right on both sides of the street. We had an Indonesian banquet that was supposedly for one person (with around 20 dishes!) for less than 20 euros which was more than enough for the two of us.

The hotel breakfast (included) was great as long as you didn't want anything hot to eat - there were different varieties of cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, different types of bread, crispbread, pate, jam (and other bread spreads), chocolate sprinkles, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, fresh orange juice, tea bags of many kinds (from cactus to raspberry to your more standard offerings), coffee and more. Breakfast was supposedly until 10am, but they didn't rush us away while we kept eating past then, which was great. A toaster wouldn't go astray, but we were still impressed by the breakfast nevertheless.

They also provided a number of useful free things and services that are sometimes the realm of more expensive hotels - a bookcase with books to read (including travel books), free Amsterdam postcards, free Hotel Parklane pens and a free Hotel Parklane alarm clock.

It was rated as a 2 star hotel, but I've been to 3 star hotels that were significantly worse. Overall, we had a great time at the Hotel Parklane and our most significant reservation is that if we'd booked earlier, we would perhaps have been able to find a comparable place at 10-20 euros a night cheaper.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
15
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Excellently located, friendly, family-run hotel that offers real value for money. You won't find anywhere else in Amsterdam so well situated for ease of access to Centraal Station (15 mins walk, less on tram), or the Centrum district (10 mins walk to Nieuwmarkt), or away from the noise of the hotels right smack in the middle of town. Good night's sleep, anyone?

A good, standard breakfast is served in a lovely old drawing-room type area. So much better than the "canteen" feel of other places I have stayed at.

All in all - and I mean this as a compliment - it's not really like staying at a hotel - more like guesting with a family. I will DEFINITELY make this place top of my list for staying at in future visits to the Dam.

  • Liked — Location & staff friendliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

This hotel offers a home, cozy enviroment. It's safe for lone lady traveller, very friendly staff and clean room.


I browsed for details from the internet and made a phone call for booking and confirmation.

Upon arriving the friendly staff, offered the GVB Tourist Guide book which was very helpfyl in navigating Amsterdam.

It's not located at the busy Damrak/Central Station area, so it gives you a local blend living environment. From the hotel, it's just walking distance to get to the Metro Station-Waterlooplien Stop or Tram 9 that goes to Central Station.

If one wants to exercise their legs, then a walk about 30-50 minutes will take them to Central Station.

Some places can be done via walking....Jews Historical Museum, Rembrandt's House, Artis Zoo, a Waterlooplein Flea Market are within walking distance.

That makes the hotel quite a strategic place to stay....

Highly recommended place to stay.......

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Clean Room
  • Disliked — Same Breakfast every morning
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

Pluses: price, staff, location. Minuses: location, room condition. I give the location +/- for this reason -- quiet, safe, neighborhood. It is a bit of a hike to the major sites, although mass transit is close by. In retrospect, I would have preferred closer in. It is very
close to the zoo. The room was a bit run down - old red carpet. Also,
there were two bright yellow fabric chairs with huge stains. I would not sit on them. Bathroom was nice. Bed was comfy. TV was tiny.
Normal Euro breakfast is included. Had the typical Amsterdam narrow stairs which makes carrying your luggage fun :-)

  • Liked — Staff, price
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit run down
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed for four nights in room no. 5 on the first floor of this very pleasant 2* hotel in the Plantage neighbourhood of Amsterdam. The staff were all really friendly and we felt very welcome. We arrived earlier than check in time but they cleaned our room so it was ready for us after just a half hour wait. They also had no problem in us leaving our bags there most the day after we checked out as our flight was not til the evening. There was no problem them not having a hotel bar, as 30 seconds away on the corner of the same street is a great little pub, very reasonably priced, serving a wide range of meals, and open late (at least til 1am). The park across the road is small and has a fountain. It was nice to sunbathe on the canal bank there. The landing to the room was a bit scruffy with repair marks on the doors and a dent in the floor, but the room itself was great. It was spotlessly clean and was cleaned everyday for us with fresh towels, beds made, and tea/coffee sachets replenished. The carpet and curtains were new, the beds were comfortable. We would have preferred a double bed rather than the two singles pushed together, but it was OK. The fridge was a good idea, and I recommend getting yourself some fruit juice and milk, as they only provide powdered milk sachets. The bathroom was spacious, newly fitted, good quality and the shower was excellent. There was always hot water and a lovely water pressure. It was a walk-in shower so big enough for two but no separate base so the water did spread across the bathroom floor wetroom style, so don't put your bath mat down first!
One night we were cold and tried to turn on the radiator but the heating was obviously not turned on, however they provide an extra wooly blanket for such occasions.
Breakfast was plentiful, but a bit limited if you don't like what's on offer. On offer is two types of cereal, bread, hams and cheeses, jams, butters, pate, nutella, boiled eggs, mini wrapped fruit cakes. We had breakfast two of our four mornings because we didn't fancy what was on offer, I would've preferred a croissant or some toast and my partner was craving something hot. The quality of the food on offer was very very good, however, so we were just being fussy! The dining room was delightful and so homely.
If like us you choose to walk from the train station to the hotel, do follow a detailed map, and watch the road names closely, as it's easy to confuse one canal for another which I did a few times! If you have to explain to a local where the hotel is, say it's near the Hortus botanicus, rather than trying to describe the park it's next to. The Plantage area is really nice, and not too far out of the centre. We walked everywhere, and usually followed one of the three main canals til it reached the river Amstel then walked up the Amstel to one of two bridges you can take and then it's just a short walk from there. There are some cheap friendly restaurants if you explore the streets around the hotel, and you'll eat out cheaper here than in the centre.
Overall a great place to stay which we highly recommend.

  • Liked — cosy and clean
  • Disliked — double room having twin beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

Gavin & Olwen from Wyalm, England - My wife & I stayed at the Parklane in May 2007. The location is excellent, in a quite area. The Hotel is good value for money, only one drawback there is no licensed bar! The room was very clean, the bathroom just refurbished and the Hotel owner & staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we are going back in August

  • Liked — Very clean, good value for money
  • Disliked — No bar!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2006

Pleasant location in a quiet area about 15 mins walk from Nieuwmarkt. We stayed in a triple room which was not the usual third bed shoe-horned into a double room, instead it was a very large room with plenty of space.

Beds were adequate, decor appeared to be from the 1950s/60s but was sound, tv, tea / coffee making facilities in the room, along with a fridge. En-suite showerroom was of similar vintage to the rooms decor but was a decent size and clean. To get to the room was via the usual steep stairs of Amsterdam, key-card entry worked for the front-door and the room itself.

Breakfast buffet of breads, hams and cheeses was great. Really large choice of items (spreads, cereals, teas etc.).

This was more like a B&B than a hotel and the first place I've ever stayed in Amsterdam that I would willingly go back to.

  • Liked — It was what we were led to expect, no nasty surprises.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Parklane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Address: Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel Parklane 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Parklane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotel Parklane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.