We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LeslieH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hotel Parklane to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LeslieH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is well situated, overlooking a park and near a tram stop. The zoo is two minutes walk away, with the Botanical Gardens even closer. It is on a quiet street, the hotel is clean and tidy. It looks like the rooms have been recently refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. The staff were polite and friendly. Be aware that it has the traditional Dutch steep stairs. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Six is at that back of the hotel, it is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
15
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dili, East Timor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this little hotel! We stayed in room 41 wich although small, was super cute and romantic complete with wood beams and a large window. Clean shower with lots of water pressure, delicious breakfast, a very cozy family like hotel with lots of soul, very far from the businessy atmosphere we found in most other hotels in Amsterdam. We had to flee from a hotel that was a total rip off and looked for an other one to stay at and were amazed at the amount of rip off there was. Do ask to see the room if possible in most Amsterdam hotel, before comitting. Staff was warm and welcoming, super helpful. The breafast was huge and very fresh, you can make your own eggs on a cooking stove with all the seasoning you like ( chives, peppers, onions etc...). The wifi quality was excelent, even at the top of the hotel wich was instrumental for me cause i had a project fo finish. The best part is its top location in the heart of Amsterdam, close to all cool areas. LOVED IT

Room Tip: We loved our little room 41 and generally i think staying on the fourth floor is cool because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good location a few minutes walk from the city center. Nice view from the hotel over
Wertheimpark. Friendly staff that helps you with all your tourist needs. The rooms are nice and clean, though a bit worn. Good selection of restaurants nearby.

N.B. If you are disabled or/and have the slightest problem with narrow and steep stairs you should avoid this place since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and gave a good introduction to Amsterdam.

The hotel is located about 10min from the main street Damrak and 15min from the central station, if you take the tram. Tram 9 and 14 stop right around the corner.

The room was, in my case, a nice single room with own balcony. It was small but enough when you are out all day anyway. Good bathroom.
My room was no. 10 - the NEW no. 10. The old no. 10 (now no. 14 I think) is now the budget single and only has a window in the ceiling... My room was on the 3rd floor and not handicap friendly because of the stairs.

Breakfast (included) was really good. Nice dining room and good selection of food.

It was a bit pricey, but as a student, what isn't?

All in all I was very happy with the hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a great single room! It has the only balcony and is very quiet. Good bed, nice bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Modest hotel on the edge of the Plantage district. Half and hour’s walk to the main sites, but with convenient tram connections. Free wifi and good water pressure in the shower. Clean and reasonably comfortable, adequate buffet breakfast in a room which seems to double as the hotel office. Stairs very steep, which might be difficult for some guests. Interior is not attractive and the entrance hall is uninviting.
The hotel is across the road from a small park which is the setting for Jan Wolkers’s great memorial to Dutch Jews who died in Auschwitz.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, not too far from the centre (around 20 minutes by foot) and has a close tram stop which takes you to most key city points. Our room was big (room for 3), the bathroom was pretty new and clean. The bad: the heating didn't work at all on our 5 nights stay and after complaining a couple of times, nothing changed. The beds are terribly uncomfortable, the mattress is extra soft with like broken springs, the worst bed I have ever slept on.
The breakfast is OK, it's what you expect from most European hotels. Concluding, OK value for the money taking into consideration that hotels in Amsterdam are incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Nice staff, nice room, nice breakfast. The Hotel is located in a typical Dutch building. There’s no elevator, our room (room 11) was a long walk upstairs… Busstop and tramstop nearby. Located in a beautiful area in Amsterdam, near Artis Zoo and the Tropenmuseum.

P.s. Please beware of room 10 (budget): Only 1 window (roof), and terribly hot in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Hotel Parklane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel Parklane

Address: Plantage Parklaan 16, 1018 ST Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel Parklane 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel Parklane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotel Parklane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.