We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug!!!!!Be Carefully!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Tulip Hotel

Save Saved
You added Orange Tulip Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange Tulip Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
“Bed bug!!!!!Be Carefully!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff is nice, hotel location is good, very close to the center railway station. HOWEVER It is a terrible experience, never ever want to think again. I am still suffering....

There are many BED BUGS, eat you alive, it is so horrible, never had before. I only stay in the room for 1 night, and take me more than 3 weeks to recover, and leave a lot scar on my skin, hate it so much! The worst part is, those bed bugs stays with you, and I accidentally brought home too, wanna cry.....have to buy a lot of stuffs to kill them, still in fight!!

BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU CHOOSE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    20
    35
    28
    77
See reviews for
10
43
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here on 15th May 2013 as myself & a group of friends were attending the europa league final. We originally booked this (hotel) for its
central location & ignored all previous reviews to our mistake ! Room was dirty, smelly & you would have needed oxygen to reach it via the narrowest steepest stairs I have ever witnessed.on booking we were promised on suite bathroom & shower what we received was a sink (dirty & cracked) & a shared shower & toilet 2 floors down without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in !!! Stay hear at your peril

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed here for the Europa League final and are glad we only had to stay one night....we stayed here because of its great location to the station as we were leaving early the next day.....
Upon arrival we were told that we would have to wait to check-in, which was grand because we had arrived early and had people to meet in the city centre. When we came back and checked in the room we got was not the room we had booked, apart from the hike to the top floor, and i do mean hike, we had no toilet (as promised) and no shower (as promised) we had to use the shared facilities, which wouldn't have mattered, if they had been on the same floor!! When we approached the receptionist about the obvious mix up he told us it was out of his hands and that this was up to the manager, so he called the manager who came onto the phone and promptly told us that if we weren't satisfied that all we had to do was leave, because we had already paid and brought all our stuff up to the room we decided to stay anyway, but i will strongly recommend staying somewhere else in Amsterdam......maybe the train station floor perhaps!

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 at all costs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I was glad to find a hotel that could accommodate 5 people. As we approached the hotel door- I felt nervous that this place might have been the wrong choice. The front door had smudges and just simply not very clean. The stairs were all very steep- typical of an older building, but when you have luggages it's horrible! Luckily, there's always a hotel guest that went out of their way to help (European men, of course!). The rooms were not the best, but surprisingly- the beds were comfortable. Overall, the place is good for young people who travels in groups. It's cheap- about $200 can sleep 6. The place is not totally horrible - if you are just there to sleep for a few hours. The location is within distance to a lot of places. Walking distance to the Train Station and the Red Light District. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews my boyfriend and I were slightly worried about what we should expect, however once we were up in the reception we were welcomed by friendly staff who let us check in early and later happily gave us directions and advice when we asked.
When we walked in the room we found that it was larger than expected and we had been given a triple room, rather than a double, complete with a balcony looking out onto the street and canal which was a lovely view. The room was very clean and bright and wasn't too hot or too cold. The beds were comfortable with clean sheets and no bed bugs which we were worried about after reading some of the recent reviews!
The hotel does not serve breakfast, however the restaurant underneath the hotel is open all day with a 10% discount for hotel guests and a variety of cheap breakfast choices.
Overall, there was nothing we could complain about as the hotel was just right for us and we were welcomed and not treated like the typical loud, young British tourists! As well as this the beds and bathroom were clean, the location was great (very noisy but what can you expect staying in the centre?!) and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here with one other person before, quite simply we had a tiny room which is what you expect from Amsterdam, but the bed sheets were dirty and the room and whole building smelled like cats urine, the window into our room didn't lock so we had to baracade it shut to stop the mice and rats comin in, far better places to stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a pit would never stay there again. Staff were great ,location spot on ,but the place itself is a mess ....you can't pollish a you know what...paid 60 odd quid a night for a twin with a bin and then the city tax on arrival No breakfast and a coffee machine in reception thank goodness the coffee shop 420 was 30 second walk after a smoke of haze I forgot all about the hotel and had a jolly good weekend

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Tulip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tulip Hotel

Address: Damrak 32, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tulip Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orange Tulip downtown hotel Amsterdam is a small sixteen room hotel located on Amsterdam's main street, the Damrak. The hotel has single, twin, triple, four and five person rooms. The location is ideal – a three minute walk from Amsterdam central station between the station and the Dam square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Orange Tulip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oranje Tulp Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Tulip Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.