We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design hotel in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Design hotel in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely place to stay with high prices. Rooms are good full of modern art, magazines and perfect coffee. But don't try breakfast for 20 euro: it's really poor and nothing interesting to try. Location is really good: 7 minutes to Museum quarter and 12 minutes to Dam square. Very quiet and clean neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask about big rooms with new good windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear AmericaEuropa,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and taking some time to post your travel experiences on Tripadvisor.com; this is much appreciated. I am proud to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you particularly value our rooms and location.

I am sad to see though that our breakfast facilities were not completely up to your expectations, rest assured that your feedback will be used in the ongoing process of improving our products & services and therefor is really valuable.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in Amsterdam someday.

Warm regards,

Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    121
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
18
217
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We booked through Expedia and were pleased to be told we'd been upgraded on arrival to an "executive" room on the lower ground floor (basement level.) The room was large and the bathroom was the star - with a jacuzzi tub, double shower and a small bathroom television, which was a first for us! The room's location on the lower ground floor did mean that the windows opened into light wells covered by glass, such that if you leaned out the window you could see people walking by. We didn't feel that anyone could see into the room, however, so it was fine, but a little strange. The bed was comfortable and the staff were really helpful in providing directions, recommendations for nearby food and activities and calling us a taxi when we left. I would recommend it as very convenient to transport links and museums as well.

Room Tip: We found the windows on the lower ground floor/basement to be a bit odd, but others may not be bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear AJS_travell,

It is a pleasure to learn that we were able to be a part of your comfortable Amsterdam-trip last month; thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. Although at first it may seem a bit odd to stay in a room on the ground floor indeed, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the size of the room and the features of the bathrooms in our executives rooms.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in Amsterdam on your next trip, please be sure to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had one of the Executive rooms on the ground floor-bought on a Voyage Prive deal. Travelled at the end of Febuary-the location is ideal, because the street is realtivley quiet, a residentila area with some lovely large houses, larger than normal in Amsterdam!
Just a short 5min walk from the busy Lieden platz, and near the Canal, and all the best Museums, as well as Vondel Park. Very near all the trams, which we got about all over Amsterdam! Never had to wait for long
The Hotel was clean and comfortable with a good Breakfast we were welcome with a voucher for some drinks. The room was very comfortable and modern, the bathroom was the showcase, but I never got used to all the taps! Jacuzzi style bath, great light up shaving mirror-plenty of room for everything. Free Wi-Fi- and nice real fire in the intimate seating area near the bar-The staff were Friendly, helpful and informative. Would I stay there again? Ja!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, it was fine for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Harlow1954,

Thank you very much for your kind words & your stay with us in February. I really appreciate it that you spent some of your time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. Needless to say, I can only agree on the pros of the hotel you mentioned in your comments.

Thank you for specifically mentioning our staff and friendly, I will certainly share this with the team.

We definitely look forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam some day, please reach out to me in case I can assist when planning a future stay.

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything about this small hotel works from the very nice (if a bit small) rooms that are nicely furnished (admittedly a few nicks here and there) to the very accommodating staff to the great quiet location just a 5 minute walk to the canal ring area. The beds are comfortable and the baths (while small) include a large soaking tub and a walk-in shower with rain-head. The rooms are modern and updated. The staff was genuinely helpful about everything. The breakfast buffet was small (like the hotel) but certainly adequate and well-prepared.
We would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Kenbob,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and taking some time to share your experiences on this website. Needless to say I am really pleased to learn that you had an excellent stay, I will make sure to share your comment with the team since it serves as a great motivational tool to all of us.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future, please contact me directly on youp@hotelroemer.com if I can be of assistance when planning your next visit.

Warm regards,
Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hasselt
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

'welcomed' by a uninterested lady we were sent to our room, which hardly can be called a room: it was the size of of single room, and even for one very small; a bed where you were forced to change your sleeping habits, if not one of the two would fall out of bed at night; a 'bathroom' only accessible for one; 9 square meter is about the size; breakfast moderate; only plus: very well located; but our first and last time.

Room Tip: don't take 25 unless you are under 3 foot high
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Manager at Hotel Roemer, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear DrjHasselt,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. I also appreciate it that you took some of your valuable time to share your thoughts with fellow travellers, since it is with feedback like yours that we can improve our product and service standards. I truly regret the fact that we were not able to meet your expectations throughout your stay.

Hotel Roemer features several different room types, of which our ‘Double Small’ is indeed the smallest; please know that our other room types offer more space and king size beds instead of queen and therefor may have been more suitable for your stay.
Again, thank you very much for your comment, please contact me directly in case of any more questions or remarks.

Best regards,

Youp Bimbergen – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have just returned from a short trip of a lifetime in Amsterdam (on business). I booked this hotel online having researched it on Tablet Hotels (which is always very reliable). I can say that the experience lived up to the expectation and very much beyond. The staff were curteous, extremely helpful, the hotel was superbly chic and in a truly fab location. The room was excellent, cool, sophisticated, ideal, perfect! The hydro-bath was a welcome relief after a hard day's pavement bashing and sightseeing. The Wifi was easy to operate and the concierge supplied ore access codes even within a-social hours. The breakfast bar was superb, coffee excellent, i think you get the drift....in short XXX

Room Tip: My junior suite was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our first visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is located just outside of the main centre which for us was perfect - it was a quieter and cleaner neighbourhood yet a very easy walk in to sights and restaurants.
The hotel itself felt like a boutique hotel should - small, friendly, helpful staff and unique. We had a basic room on the ground floor. While I wouldn't call it spacious, we didn't feel particularly crammed either. The bed was comfortable and our stay was enjoyable.
(Breakfast was not included in our rate and we found the price to be high so we decided to forgo it and dine in town.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.