We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    118
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
212
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in hotel Roemer for 3 nights. Great location, walking distance to most of the main attractions yet tucked away in a quiet street. Rooms were very tastefully decorated as was the common area. Nice little lounge area for a quiet drink. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip to Amsterdam.

Converted from two 18th-century mansions, I was pleasantly surprised how intimate it was. The reception area doesn't have a check-in counter that one would normally expect from a hotel. Instead it's a desk with a computer manned by a helpful service staff, like the ones you'd have in your home study. The desk and computer that is, not the staff!

The lounge area has a fireplace, coffee table and sofa; nothing that would look out of place in a typical living room. And the restaurant, with a view of the private garden, has a few tables and chairs next to a bar counter. It feels almost like...home, really.

I stayed in the Small Double Room. Truth be told, the emphasis is on the word, Small. A mere 16-18 m2 of space, it might prove a challenge for bigger Europeans. Especially when you pull out the retractable flat screen TV. So watch your head when navigating around the room, especially in the dark. You have been warned.

Apart from that, everything else was pretty comfortable - clean firm bed, iPod dock at the bedside, Nespresso machine, bar fridge, good Wifi connection, (another) TV in the bathroom, and rain shower. Though the shower stall is rather on the tiny side; quite a squeeze to get through, to be honest.

Location-wise, it can't get any any better. The tram line is just a 2-min walk away. The famous and busy Leidseplein is just across that. Lots of restaurants, pubs, bars, clubs, and cafes there that open till late, so great for after-work dinner and drinks. There's also a handful of canal cruise operators along the canal for those hankering for a bit of sightseeing on a boat.

Speaking of sightseeing, nearby attractions include Vondelpark, Concert Hall, Museumplein with Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk museum.

Methinks I will be back. But perhaps the next trip, I'll opt for the bigger room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my boyfriend for a couple of nights and we loved it. the rooms were very quiet, good size, great bath tub with jacuzzi! location is perfect as well, walking distance to the main attractions. Reception staff was friendly. Just one small drawback is the door that opens outwards, can be dangerous especially with rains on slippery steps that lead to the entrance. All in all was a great stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a lovely long weekend except that it rained all weekend but the hotel made up for it. Great location and lovely decor but just a few niggljng issues. No chest of draws in our junior suite, blocked drain, faulty DVD player but overall lovely place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here the last week of September and were pleased. The room was upgraded as per previous recommendations and everything was great. The location was better than anticipated. Staff were very helpful.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 27 if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found the Hotel Roemer on your site and thought the pictures looked right up my alley so I booked it. Off the beaten path but close to everything we wanted to do from Museums, Canals and Shopping. The hotel was clean and quiet and they offered us an upgrade upon arrival which was a nice surprise. I slept like a baby that night in the cool, dark room with a very comfortable bed! The staff was very helpful and easy to understand and so willing to get us anything we needed to make our stay in Amsterdam a success. I can't wait to go back and spend more time in this city!

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 and while we liked it, it is just below the breakfast area so you can hear foot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.