We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Lovely city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Columbus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely hotel. Lovely city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found the Hotel Roemer on your site and thought the pictures looked right up my alley so I booked it. Off the beaten path but close to everything we wanted to do from Museums, Canals and Shopping. The hotel was clean and quiet and they offered us an upgrade upon arrival which was a nice surprise. I slept like a baby that night in the cool, dark room with a very comfortable bed! The staff was very helpful and easy to understand and so willing to get us anything we needed to make our stay in Amsterdam a success. I can't wait to go back and spend more time in this city!

Room Tip: We were in Room 14 and while we liked it, it is just below the breakfast area so you can hear foot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    123
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
205
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A friend found this via Bookings.com. A lovely experience from start to finish. Warmly welcomed, offered information about the city, pre-purchase discount tickets to the musee as well as a room upgrade. They staff provided assistance sorting out changes to our train tickets and ideas on which canal tour to take + a great lunch recommendation. They even catered to gluten free guests with gluten free bread for breakfast, as well as a selection of gluten laden treats! Highly recommend! The Bed was incredibly comfortable and they were prepared for guest from the US, UK and Europe with a three way wired desk in our room. Nicely done!

Room Tip: Our upgraded suite had a lovely terrace, however it was directly under the breakfast room, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

It may be a nice hotel, but we will never know because it overbooked us. So we arrived at 9pm in the night and found we do not have a room?????? You can say it happens ( just as the hotel front desk told us), but you can't deny that accepting a booking and making sure your guest have what they booked for are the fundamental rule got a hotel business. Who will trust themselves with you if they are worried that they may arrive in the night with no place to stay??? There are hundreds if not thousands of nice hotels in Amsterdam, my fellow friend, believe me, you don't deserve to be treated like this!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in a quiet neighbourhod and conveniently close to the Museum quarter and to Leidseplein. We were upgraded to a larger room which was great. Shower had one of those "tropical rain" showerheads which I personally abbhor (a personal pet peeve, not a criticism per se). We didn't eat at the restaurant but did enjoy a drink in the the cozy courtyard. I recommend this without any reserve.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were 3 nights long at this Hotel and we were delighted about food, service, room. The location was perfect, The Voendel Park is and Von Gogh Museum, Rijskmueseum are by walking distance. The room was wirh jakuzzi and the breakfast was deligthfull.
When we visit Amsterdam again, our choise for the hotel is clear.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent hotel just next to Vondelpark, Leidseplein & Museumplein down a quiet side street with a relaxed lounge & lovely outside space to enjoy a relaxing drink. The Executive room we had was great, very spacious with a fabulous bathroom, which included a jaquizzi bath & double walk-in shower. The room also comprised a walk-in wardrobe, fridge, hairdryer, iPod dock, and tea/coffe making facilities as well as air-conditioning (and an additional stand-alone fan). The staff were very helpful and knowledgable (as well as very attractive!), the hotel also provide storage of your luggage pre & post check-in if required. We also hired bikes for 19 Euro a day, which are available from the sister hotel The Vondel which is 2 minutes walk around the corner. I would suggest a room on the garden side, our room (12) had a door out to the garden, also don't use the mini bar as it's ridiculously expensive Euro 5.50 for a bottle of water, I would buy water/beer/wine etc in local shop if you require chilled drinks in the room. I couldn't comment on breakfast as didn't book that option, at 20 Euro you can easily get better value at the many eateries in the area. As with most online booking, don't forget to add the Amsterdam tourist tax onto the cost of your stay which is payable on check-out.

I would highly recommend Hotel Roemer

Room Tip: Recommend Rooms on the Garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is next to the Vondelpark and 2/3 minutes walk from the Fashion and Museum district and the Leidse Plein square. Jordaan is also only 10 minutes walk from the hotel too.
The rooms are well designed, the bed very comfortable and considering the available room within the hotel the rooms use the space well to provide a relaxing feel. My room had a small balcony looking on to the garden and the surrounding properties, but there isn't the feeling of being too overlooked. The hotel team are very helpful and provided great advice on places to eat.
The hotel does not have canal views or a restaurant of its own but it is worth the cost.
Note that even if young in advance you need to pay the city tax when checking out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.