We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have just returned from our fourth visit to Amsterdam after a very enjoyable time. We had booked for the Vongel Hotel, ( basic double) but for some reason we were given the junior suit in the sister hotel the Roemer. We always stay in this area, away from the noise but handy for everything.
The hotel was very nice, clean, plenty of hot water, lots of choice for breakfast ( I suggest that a previous reviewer did not notice the card on the tables that gave a varied list of food that could be cooked to order) staff pleasant.
The hotels in this area are old Amsterdam houses, so therefore you will not get large, made to order rooms. You will get various sized, and odd shaped ones. Also, show me a hotel in Amsterdam that do not have mice! I think it is something that goes with the city. We have stayed in a modern, four star hotel that had mice.
If you are young and want to "party" the area is a bit out of your way and not suitable. But if like ourselves you stay away from the main drag, and want easy access to places to eat, have a drink, visit the museums, walk around the park, markets, and all the little side streets, this area and the hotels here are suitable.
Would stay at the Roemer again, and recommend it.
Must be my age, but I'm not bothered about the internet when I am on holiday!

Room Tip: Go for a junior suit, room 31. As always, the higher up you are, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    139
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
246
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, room was clean and modern and bathroom was reasonably spacious for Europe. Good location near canal cruises, shops and restaurants. Bit of a walk to the red light district if thats what you're after but Amsterdam is small, so not really a problem. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely short break in this delightful, casual city. Th e Museums are excellent and our hotel although nearby was quiet and peaceful with helpful friendly staff. Some first class restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist to take you round then you can choose one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a boutique hotel in a great location. Standard, small European style rooms, which doesn't bother us because we don't spend much time in the room while on vacation anyway. It is situated on a charming, quiet street, just a block or two away from all the action, which made it the perfect location for exploring the city. Our room was clean and the only reason I didn't give this hotel a better rating is the bathroom. As many people mentioned, the sink is awkward. I could live with that, but the shower never got warm. I'm not saying it didn't get steamy and hot. I'm saying I froze my butt off every time I showered. My husband thought maybe the water was being locally heated by an element in the shower itself. I'm not sure about that, but I really would have enjoyed a warm shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. It was small, but adequate for two people. I would not want to stay on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a Boutique Hotel "wannabe"! I understand that old buildings in Amsterdam have small rooms, but you don't have to cramp it up with furniture!!!! I've stayed in Amsterdam for 7 nights at this hotel and although it looks good, the room were too small for all the furniture in it. They had three Flat screen TV's (two were the size of iPads) and weirdly located. Besides that they were all old Phillips PLASMA TV not the new LRD ones, and the big one was so far away from the bed that one need binoculars. The hotel is very well located and almost all the staff friendly, but that is ok. I had breakfast at the hotel once, it was fair, but unfortunately on the last day I bumped into a mice crossing the main living room. The clerk that was on duty told me that rats are common in Amsterdam because of the canals, but I'm sure, and that they had recently had gotten ridden of Mr. Jenkings (apparently a friendly rat). Well as it probably turned out Mr. Jenkins was a Mrs Jenkings and next come her off springs! The bathroom was good but the sink was too small (ridiculously shallow) for the size of the bathroom and the shower doors were a joke. in a "Far-west saloon"style, they would never in a million years keep water from wetting the whole floor (hence the damaged door). This hotel is one of the VONDEL chain which by the way has another on the corner, called the VONDEL HOTEL! This one is a little more expensive, and a little fancier. tip: Avoid their restaurant the JOOST sucks! The pasta I ate was over cooked and the twirling waiter/maitre was a little bit too much. There are MUCH, MUCH better restaurants in Amsterdam, and I'm sure hotels for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Roemer for 3 nights during April 2013 and will definitely recommend it. The hotel advantages are many:

1. Location - The hotel is located just outside the horse shoe, very close to the leidseplein area which makes it very close to the most hip and happening place in Amsterdam. One can walk to Museumplein and there is direct access to both central train station (thru tram) as well as Schipol airport (197 bus).

2. Friendly staff - The staff at the Roemer are friendly and go the extra mile in helping guests.

3. Decor - The hotel decor exudes a warm, just the thing you need when you return to your hotel after a long day's walk.

4. Junior suite bathroom - Generally when you are on a holiday, bathroom is the last thing you would look for. The room we stayed in had really swanky jacuzzi bath and a large rain shower.

Will definitely recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: We were allotted room 31, a junior suite. Worth the extra we paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Roemer Hotel is very well located in Amsterdam, nearby excellent stores and restaurants, also very close to the most sightseeings in the city (The Van Gogh and Rijik Museums). It's a "boutique" hotel, with fancy furniture and very very cozy. However, I face few problems during my 4 days stays such as: (a) the shower is not well sealed, spilling water all over the bathroom; (b) although with a beautiful design, the bathroom sink is not very functional at all; (c) in a considered 4 star hotel it really sucks not having 24h of free internet - each day is necessary to request a new password. Therefore, I recommend this hotel, but be aware that few problems may occur...

Room Tip: Corner suites seems to be larger since the rooms are quite full of furnitures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.