We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprising!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, Amsterdam 1054 EX, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very surprising!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I were given an exceptionally nice room on the top floor. Spacious and very attractive. Fantastic bathroom, large shower and jacuzzi bathtub. Very comfortable bed. Courteous and professional staff. I would definitely stay here again, if they gave me the same room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    122
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
204
16
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

So a 4 Star Hotel - one would expect a warm welcome, well appointed rooms, great room facilities, attentive staff?

Well, it took 5 rings of the bell to get an answer on our arrival and our welcome was muted. The hotel and our room was stylishly appointed but was beginning to look tired with scuffed carpets, chipped woodwork etc.

We were given Room 16, on the ground floor facing the street. The street was v quiet but we discovered (at 6am) we were next door the kitchens - and what a racket of plates, utensils, shouting and chatting. A 4 Star hotel should NOT situate rooms by its kitchens. So avoid both Rooms 16 & 17 if you are offered them - unless you want a kitchen driven alarm call every morning. Also we discovered we were at the bottom of the stairs, so were treated to hearing much tramping up and down the stairs of a morning.

Remarkably, when we ran the bath one evening we discovered there was no hot water - a complete first in my experience. The vaguely disinterested receptionist seemed powerless to help us. Incredible!!

There were positives - the bed was v comfortable (though it was two mattresses pushed together, so not best intimate), the shower excellent (when there was hot water), and location pleasant and quiet (if it wasn't for the kitchen and stair noise.

So maybe if we had been allocated an upstairs room our experience might have been different - but after our experience we wouldn't stay at The Roemer again.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent three nights over easter . Second time of staying . Superb hotel . Had a junior suite , with large room for Amsterdam with superb jacuzzi bath and large shower. Staff were attentive and the breakfast better than the website suggests. Full cooked English etc . Location is just about as good as it gets. Roemer is better than its sister hotel , the vondel. Not cheap but worth every bit in my view.

Room Tip: go for the junior suites if your budget will allow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the Junior Suite and had a wonderful stay. Booked through hotels.com at a very good price for what we got. The front-of-house staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The room is a good size with an excellent bathroom - especially the Jacuzzi bath. It's also equipped with all the stuff you would expect like a hair dryer and a safe. Location-wise I couldn't fault it, it's really close to the museum area, and it's very easy to get to Amsterdam Central station via the #1,2,5 trams. We didn't have breakfast, so can't really comment on it, but I can say the breakfast and bar area looked cozy. All in all, a great experience, and would happily recommend and stay there again.

If anyone from the hotel reads this, pretty much the only negative comment is that, if you are going to provide a Jacuzzi, you should probably provide more than a single tiny bottle of bubble bath; I'd quite happily sacrifice the shoe shine and the sewing kit :-). I can confirm DJ1802's review - bring conditioner ;-)

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the extra money you pay over a normal double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from 2 nights at the Hotel Roemer. Booked an executive room as it was a special occasion and was not disappointed - the bed was huge and incredibly comfy, jacuzzi bath huge and wonderful after a day's walk and the shower was quite spectacular too. Great location, lovely quiet street but only 5 mins walk max to Leidesplein. Great service, especially when I realised I had left the key for my suitcase padlock at home, a man dutifully appeared with a hacksaw to save the day. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: executive room well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The reservations I made were actually with Hotel Vondel, Roemer's sister hotel. But when I arrived, I was switched to Roemer because they said it was nice. I reserved the junior suite and it was nicer then I had expected. Overall, my stay was enjoyable, and I would recommend this hotel to a friend or anyone looking for a place to stay. The only downside during my stay was construction. I did not see where was being renovated, but the halls and elevator were dirty with debris. The construction staff also occupied the guess areas in the lobby during their breaks, and that in my opinion was unacceptable since they created a mess in the seating areas with the building debris. Great location, nice hotel and great cost considering I upgraded from a regular standard double room.

Room Tip: Inquire the price of an upgrade, since it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Roemer for a few days. It's a small boutique hotel really close to everything and off the main roads a bit which is nice. The small rooms are really small so beware of that and would get really cramped after more than a few nights. If you like using conditioner then bring it because they only provide shampoo and soap - no conditioner. They always had coffee and tea in the lobby and were very friendly. We loved sitting by the fire and being able to escape the cold January air. I definitely recommend for a boutique hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road were a little bit loud with outside noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, Amsterdam 1054 EX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.