We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location just near the Vondelpark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location just near the Vondelpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a small elegant hotel with a great location, just near the Vondelpark. It is so comfortable to be at only 10 minute walk from the busiest area of the city but having near a beautiful park where you can just go and relax. The room which they gave us was large and comfortable and we didn't expect to have a Nespresso coffee machine. The bathroom is spacious and the double shower was really very comfortable. Suggested to people who love small hotels in city center but not too close to the busiest part of it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    117
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
205
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lesmahagow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is, at first glance, an excellent hotel. Expensive, very "boutique" very design-conscious. However, if you're going for the exclusive end of the market, the devil is in the detail.

The location is superb. Very quiet, minutes from Vondelpark with the Vertigo cafe (the film museum is moving). Minutes from Leidseplein with trams to all parts. Close to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum too. There are several REALLY good restaurants nearby, and a host of great walks (one reviewer mentioned this being out of the way; it took me twenty minutes to walk to Centraal - so it's not that bad!)

We didn't include breakfast (we went to Pancake Corner one day, and Vertigo another), as at 19 Euros, it seemed a little steep.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Our first room was tiny. Laughably so. It was [literally] impossible to walk other than sideways from the TV onwards. The TV itself was against a side wall, and had top be manoeuvred out to be watched, then getting it back in to avoid limbo-dancing past it required a degree in mechanical engineering. There was no welcome manual in the room, so the Nespresso machine was a mystery to me. There was only one remote, but two TVs. The bathroom mirror was badly cracked, and the crack had collected a fair bit of dirt, so it had been that way for some time. There was also mould between some shower tiles. We went for a walk just after 0900, and returned at 1530, to find the room had not yet been made up.

Conversely, a good read of any establishment is how they handle complaints; we made the cracked mirror and mould issues known to the staff, and were whisked off to another, larger room with profuse apologies, and a lovely bottle of wine and some canapes.

This room had all the remotes! And a welcome manual. Multiple TVs are a nice idea, but if you ARE going to put them in the room (and personally I have no need for them) - make it elegant, both in appearance and in use. All three TVs had different channel set-ups, so if you were watching something fascinating that you wanted to continue in the shower (?) - finding it was an exercise in frustration, as the channel numbers were not the same. Appearance: the idea of hidden DVD players is very nice, but a hotel of this style shouldn't have spaghetti nests of cable hanging below TVs on the wall.

Another small point (I did say these were small issues) is that there was a separate alcove at the far end of the room, which was a lovely idea; perhaps your partner wants to snooze, and you fancy reading a book? Unfortunately there is no separate lighting for these areas, so your partner can damn well try to sleep with the lights on!

It's a double room, but there is only one miniature shower gel and one shampoo bottle in the toilet. A small point, but it makes a difference.

A big problem is the noise: I know I said it's a quiet area (and it is), but the three big rooms on the ground floor are right next to the kitchen, which starts clattering a LOT around 0700. Then you have early-rising guests shouting conversations to the staff, from the dining room to the reception desk.

Good -

Great staff.
A nice "living room" feel to the lounge area.
A laptop for Internet access. On that note - I'm not overly keen on hotels charging for Wifi. We know how much it costs, and it's not a killer for a hotel, but it makes a huge difference to the stay if you need access. Paying daily or hourly rates seems cheap and tacky.
Very comfy beds - VERY comfy!

Like I said -these are all small points, but they did add up to let the hotel down. A few tweaks to the fine details would make this a highly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and liked the hotel. Originally I was booked in the sister hotel, Vondel around the corner and upon checkin when we asked for an upgrade to an executive room, they offered us the executive room in the Roemer hotel as they said it was nicer.

I have no complaints about my stay. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was very nice and spacious with a king bed, small sitting area, spa bath and a total of 3 tv's. We had breakfast included in our price which was ok. As it is a small hotel, I did not expect a huge variety if food but it was still good.

As for the location... It is on a quiet little street which is nice although I prefer to be more central (probably in the dam square area) but I guess it is a personal preference. I like the hotel and would recommend it although I probably wouldn't stay here again if i returned to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Executive room was very nice and spacious. Ask for a room with a walk in shower and separate spa bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in an executive room which was a good size and the all inclusive rate made use of the mini bar easy! One issue with the room was that the heater on the ceiling of the bathroom was permanently on when the light was on so if you spent any time in there it became uncomfortable.
The other down side was when we called a few days before to ask for restaurant suggestions we were told to try Google! Then when we asked about booking a restaurant on the Saturday evening we were told we stood no chance of getting a booking at the weekend if not booked in advance. The local Planet Hollywood and chain restaurants were suggested.
Overall a good hotel in good location for museums and designer shopping but needs to work on service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend trip to Amsterdam - well priced hotel - we bought a package with breakfast included. The room is small - the bed huge. The in room mini bar included is handy - they have 3 jugs of gin- vodka and rum which you can then mix with the cokes/tonics etc from the little fridge. There was a big TV at the end of the bed on the wall and also a smaller TV in the bathroom. The jacuzzi bath is huge and easily fits two people but the bathroom is tiny and the sink is very shallow. All in all - the location is fantastic and the room is ok if all you care about is the bed and the bath - which was my main focus. The breakfast you may want to skip - the service was very slow and no one was clearing away the table so we could sit down so I had to do it. The food on offer wasn't exactly the freshest either. You are much better off going to a cafe nearby. For 260 a night it is fine. The bed did not have a mattress cover which I found slightly odd for a hotel - just a sheet. If they spent some more money on better quality linen it would be better. It is not a 5 star boutique hotel but trying to be. I would rate the hotel - average

Room Tip: The executive room was small - so i definetly wouldn't get a room smaller than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We selected this hotel largely due to Tripadvisor reviews; I'm not sure we'd stay here again. There was nothing egregiously wrong with the hotel, but I'm not sure "boutique" hotels are for us. Our check-in experience was fine, and our initial impressions of the room and hotel were fine. We thought the shower and sink in the bathroom were stylish, but not very practical (in fact, our stay at this hotel has prompted us to jokingly define "boutique" as "the people who designed this stuff may not have ever actually used it themselves"). The DVD player in our room didn't work properly, which was no big deal in itself, but we were surprised when we called to report it that the hotel had to send out for someone from their "sister hotel" to come and fix it. It was indeed fixed, but the player is oddly located in the coat closet by the room door and in order to pause, ff, rewind, etc, you need to jump up from the bed and point the remote at the player in the closet. Very strange. On checkout, the elevator was not working and they again had to send out for someone from the "sister hotel" to come and fix it. Again, maybe not a huge deal but we were on a timeline to catch a train and had to tell the hotel ourselves that the elevator wasn't working - and then it took some time for the "sister hotel" person to arrive to fix it. We got the impression that there was really only one person in charge at this hotel, who for the vast majority of issues had to call the "sister hotel" for resolution.

It seemed to us that, compared to other hotels in Europe at which we stayed on this trip, the Hotel Roemer was skewed a bit low in terms of value for money. Were we to return to Amsterdam, we'd probably look to stay somewhere else (although we thought the location was fine). Don't get me wrong - there was nothing obviously bad or objectionable about the hotel, it's really just an accumulation of small things that make you go "hmm".

On the plus side, the hotel embraces an "all-inclusive" concept, which in part means that they provide you with carafes of liquor in your room that are complementary. Now if only they'd picked a decent Scotch...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was a small hotel in a side street in Amsterdam. Great location if you don't have a car but a nightmare to park near! The room was ok in size but the safe didn't work nor was it ever repaired to a working condition. Everything seemed to take an age to get right so couldn't recommend staying here

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.