We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel, just watch out for bikes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roemer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roemer to your Saves list
Hotel Roemer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel, just watch out for bikes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for a 4 night city break weekend in September 2011. The hotel is absolutely lovely, very modern and nicely laid out. Can't comment on breakfast as it was £20 per person per day for breakfast so we ate out, but if you're all inclusive breakfast is obviously included as are the complimentary spirits in the room, otherwise you pay around £3.50 per drink. Our room, number 27, was lovely and quiet and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Patio doors open onto a large balcony, however there is a fire escape that runs down through all the balconys so you couldn't leave the doors open if you left the room/at night for security. The bathroom is amazing, the shower is powerful and the spa bath works great. Even has a flat screen TV in the bathroom. There is a DVD player in the bedroom and coffee maker for expresso, no milk for regular coffee though. The staff were all lovely and were happy to help with any questions. They, like all the dutch, speak fantastic English. There's a lap top in reception you can use for free for internet access.
When we arrived we walked from the main station and it took around 30 minutes to get there, but it is a pleasant walk, all be it a bit crowded with a suitcase. I would suggest if you plan to walk it you get a good idea of roads to walk down so you aren't standing outside the station with a map, drawing attention to yourself as a tourist. We walked around the city late at night and never felt threatened or concerned for our safety, as long as you aren't making yourself a target, as in any city, you would be fine. We loved the whole break and if you like walking there is so much to see and the city is easy to navigate with a map which you can get from the hotel. There is a lift in the hotel, but it is painfully slow to arrive. The one problem with the city is it is so packed with bikes, cars, scooters, trams, and taxi bikes it is actually dangerous at times, and you have to constantly check what's around you at junctions. One particular junction I checked and stepped out only to take a girl off her bike completely. No one was injured, but it was a bit of a shock for all concerned, so beware. Apart from that Amsterdam is lovely, we would definately go back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    139
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
246
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Normal rates are about 150 to 200 EUR, we paid 85 EUR incl. breakfast. A good rate for a hotel in the center of Amsterdam. However the room was extremly small, it bearly had enough space for the bed, so our 3 suitcase did not fit and we had to put them in the Bathroom. Nevertheless the rooms were clean.
Staff were not very friendly and did not offer to help us with the luggage.
Location of the hotelis very good, near Leidscheplein, vondelpark and the big museums.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Beware- this is not a boutique hotel, its a mess. Although the front desk staff are very helpful - this is the only redeeming factor for this hotel. I came in after 24 hrs travel only to be told that the room I had booked and paid for was not available (booked, and paid!). SImply I refused to budge- they said they would move me to another hotel, but I asked to see the manager- no manager available, the duty manager not available either. Basically because I refused, I got my room. The room was spacious, but the floors were dirty, only large pillows, the carpets hadn't been cleaned for as long as they were in, the TV's only partially worked, when I moved the chair in the room, paper underneath, also behind the curtains. Zero qlty control.. the word shmeg comes to mind. At breakfast at 7am it was busy- but no-one was there to sort out coffee, and the spread was adequate but not good enough. At 270Euros, a night I expected more. .. read the other reviews on this hotel, and you will see that the pushing over to their other hotels is a regular feature of their warm embrace. Absolute rubbish.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here while attending a conference. Great location and very pleasing aesthetic and amenities made the hotel a terrific home base.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Amsterdam is definitely a city of cycles. Having almost been mown down twice by the aforesaid two-wheelers on a very wet day at the tail-end of summer, we arrived at the compact five-storey Hotel Roemer. In fact, we were two hours early, so we left our bags with the friendly lady at reception and went in search of a leisurely lunch. Returning after 15:00, we were pleased to discover that we'd been upgraded to a junior suite; not so good was the fact that the inclusive breakfast had disappeared from the booking, although this was quickly rectified.

The suite (room #14) was a reasonable size, with a king size bed, a two-persons en suite bathroom (i.e., double sink, double shower and jacuzzi bath), two comfortable leather armchairs, a table and chairs, and a separate dressing area with ample hanging space. This particular suite is on the lower ground floor, with doors onto a terrace with a table and chairs, and stairs up to the garden. If the weather had lived up to the expectations of late August, the extra outside space would have been perfect. Two minor drawbacks of the suite are the low ceiling and the lack of view that one would get (or would have got) with the executive rooms on the upper floors.

Other perks include free decanters of gin, vodka and whisky and three flatscreen TVs dotted around the place, including in the bathroom. The room was quiet apart from first thing in the morning when there's plenty of foot traffic from upstairs. Wifi is available in the rooms and works well, but there's an extra charge of six euros for 24 hrs of access.

Hotel Roemer's inclusive rate also includes soft drinks, spirits and wine in the comfortable lounge, with bottles open for consumption from 17:00 until bedtime. The 'bites' served afternoon and evening rarely appeared. The interior design of the lounge is commendably up to date, with excellent art work on the walls, chill-out music, and an intriguing, arachnoid ceiling light made from multiple anglepoise lamps.

Hotel Roemer has no restaurant as such but there is room service which offers the usual club sandwiches and so on. One restaurant not mentioned in TripAdvisor's 1,147 Amsterdam eateries is 'Joost, eat & drink' in its sister hotel, Hotel Vondel, just around the corner. This scores high with interior design and handsome waiters but the food is only average.

Breakfast is served from 7:00 - 11.00 and includes the usual continental options of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals, breads, mini croissants, pastries and jams. Bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages are included but they're on a burner. A la carte is also available. There's only a small number of tables so you may find yourself having to wait.

Checkout is usually 12:00, but is extendable without charge to 13:00, which fitted well with our flight back to Heathrow at 16:30.

Overall, an enjoyable stay and we'd recommend the Hotel Roemer to anyone looking for a gay-friendly, boutique hotel in this thoroughly cosmopolitan and very active city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

+ve:
- The location of the hotel is almost perfect being at walking distance from Leidseplein and Rambrandtplein.
- Very friendly staff...very helpful.. always smiling.
- The bathroom was amazing! very modern with a Jacuzzi and a shower..and a cool decorative chicken!!

-ve:
- The housekeeping service is not so good.
- The elevator is very slow it's faster to go up the stairs!
- Breakfast is not rich so it might be better to have breakfast at a nearby restaurant.

Overall, it was a good experience.. would definitely go back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Originally we were booked into the sister hotel - The Vondel, but were surprisingly told at check in that we were upgraded to the Roemer, which was a minute around the corner.

We were in room 17, which overlooked a small decking area. It was plush with a jacuzzi bath, tv in the bathroom, a nespresso machine and very very comfy pillows!

The location is great for exploring the museum district, it's near enough to Leidsplein, yet far enough away not to hear any noise. We walked everywhere, didn't use transport at all, apart from to and from Central Station at the start and end. Everything is within easy reach.

The staff were friendly and most accommodating.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roemer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roemer

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 8-10, 1054 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roemer 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roemer has 23 spacious new rooms, all of them equipped with air-conditioning, DVD Player, flat screen, i-pod loudspeakers and a espresso machine. Build in English and American adaptors assure a comfortable working environment for every guest. All rooms are individually designed with high standard design furniture combined with own designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Roemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roemer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roemer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.