We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Max
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemonystraat 7 | near Stadhouderskade, Amsterdam 1074 BK, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Faro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hotel Max is well located with frequent trams passing in the neighbourhood. The room was equipped with nice flat LCD screen with a good choice of TV programs. WiFi worked very good. There was a chair with a desk, sufficient to work with a laptop. The breakfast was acceptable for the price paid.

I was reluctant in taking the room after an episode related to payment: the hotel staff sent an e-mail notifying that CC was declined. I asked if I could present another card at my arrival next day, which was neglected. I was unable to provide a new CC and booked another hotel. Meanwhile they charged the CC that had been declined without notice, and did not allow cancellation.
Regarding the hotel: there is clearly lack of maintenance (e.g. room doors close by shutting strongly). - the room was extremely small and uncomfortable in terms of space and temperature.
Private bath room was outside the room and very uncomfortable too; no toilet paper was available; cleaning was only reasonable.
Breakfast and check-in was in another hotel 300 m, at the other side of the canal. After 4 p.m. there is no one in the reception.

I can not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    33
    21
    29
See reviews for
5
55
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice hotel in nice place not far from the center of Amsterdam. I'd like to stay here next time. But if you arrive you should check in from another hotel(approximately 300 meters from Hotel Max), but this info in description to the hotel, so it was not a surprise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank u for your review. Our reception is in the winter closed. From the 15th of march it will be opened again. We are busy to upgrade rooms during the winter. Hotel Max is always one of the best priced hotels in AMSTERDAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Room was super small. There was no heater. I've called the reception, which is in another hotel, from my mobile then they brang me an electrical heater. Closet seat was broken. If you don't have any other choise you can sleep for a night. Doesn't kill you :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We directly took action for this room. W placed a new heating system. Our employee offered to change he told me but you refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Don't get near. We were in a lot of others hotels but this one was the crapiest. the service desk is 7 minutes walk, underground.
Really bad service. Really high priced. Wired demands. Simpy don't get byb

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Normaly I dont go in discussion with hotelguest. Now I make an exception. The hotels are 150 meters from each other. So 7 minutes could not be right.
Secondth if guest is not discuss issues with us we cannot react on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A bunk bed set in a basement which stank of dampness and a tiny room in which one could barely move did not auger well for a stay at Hotel Max. The fact that one had to check in elsewhere and with only one key for two people caused trouble getting in the front door. The decoration and upkeep were very poor and the place highly overpriced for what one got. We were not impressed at all and will not stay there again. The only redeeming factor was the pleasant staff to check you in at the other hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank u for your review. The room you booked is the lowest priced budget room. Proberly the expectation for the bump bed room were to high. This is a simpel room which reasonly have been build. We informed clearly that it is an small room. Everything is brand new. It has a flatscreen, Private bathroom next tot the room and a save box.

Please inform us at the hotel so we could help you with your complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The reception is not in the hotel, you arrive tired and you have do drag your bags across the bridge to check in in other hotel, than get back. The room look better in photo, they are too small and when you take a shower you wash the the hole bathroom.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We advertise with 13 m2 room space on the websites. The pictures are updated recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

When searching for hotels in Amsterdam, I had been there are hundreds of small locally owned hotels that do not advertise in the big US websites. So I found this on a not so big website that is actually Dutch owned (I think). I wanted a traditional Dutch looking hotel (tall skinny building, lots of steps) and I got it. You go up the front stairs then down to the basement to the front desk. The dining room is on that floor too. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, though an off duty staff person was always praying on his prayer rug in the dining room at breakfast which made it tough to move around him. The room was very Spartan, two beds, smaller than twin beds. The closet was a cabinet on a revolving pedestal with a mirror on one side (right out of the Ikea catalog). The sink was in the room separate from the toilet/shower combo. The stairs are steep and there is no elevator. There is a store across the street and you are close to the tram stop. Though it served our purpose, there are better hotels in Amsterdam that are more convenient and nicer throughout the older part of the city. Check them out.

Room Tip: Do a thorough search of Amsterdam hotels first before settling on this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
thanks for the review. We are still improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Hotel
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Hemonystraat 7 | near Stadhouderskade, Amsterdam 1074 BK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list