We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Hotel Max
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Disgraceful. The room was a matchbox, the bed was terrible. Not even a cleaning service, there was only one towel for two people, the non smoking room stunk of cigarets. And it wasn't a cheap price either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    51
    33
    42
See reviews for
11
96
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel. We had an awful stay: staff was very rude and unfriendly, rooms were ugly and super uncomfortable, bathrooms were so tiny that it was impossible to sit on the toilet... Moreover, it was over-priced. Location isn't the best for Amsterdam either.
I would never recommend this hotel for anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the uppermost floor, in a room for 4 people. The room was clean, the bed was good, there was a nice view outside the window.

The bathroom was also clean, but smelled badly of mold.

I did not had the chance to eat breakfast because it starts at 8 am and I always left before that. The hotel seems to have merged with hotel Iris nearby, where the reception is located and you are supposed to check in and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ok, this is a budget priced hotel but do not expect anything more than low budget accomodation. You have to check in at sister hotel Iris across the road which caused us a deal of confusion as this was very badly explained by a guy on an intercom. We didn't get any sleep in the Max as some very considerate fellow guests liked to have a loud party next door until about 6am each day! Room is very small, shabby & with paper thin walls!.

Best bit is the breakfast in basement of Iris, this was clean & comfortable which was a pleasant change.

If you are not on a very tight budget, avoid this place & stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

What an ugly and dirty place, it is old, tiny and it doesn't even have a reception, you have to go to another hotel in order to check in!!
The staff... totally rude and they don't speak english.
Initially we booked the hotel for 3 days but we left the first day at 3 am because there were mices in the room!!! They were all over the place even on the bed. Stay away from this hole really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious.

Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#186 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#235 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#221 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.